We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This hotel presents the lobby as a new modern up to date...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    183
    174
    114
    58
See reviews for
174
227
25
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

You can walk the beautiful park across the street to the locks. The restaurants, brewery, gift stores, etc are all walking distrance right there! Views the rooms are pretty either street view or river view. This was my second time visting here as an adult and so glad I remembered this place to stay this time. It is perfect. Love how the historic style matches the city. Wonderful place to get away. Free breakfast was nice in the gorgeous dining room. The only thing I would like to mention that is negative is that the beds need to be moved and carpet needs vacumming more often. A little yucky.

Room Tip: HIgher floors offer prettiest views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizacz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tori G, Front Desk Lead at Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and comment on our hotel. We strive to make each stay for each guest as wonderful as possible.
We can't wait to see you again the next time you are in Sault Ste Marie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morehead City
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Staff was great, location great, food very good, room was very disappointing-average at best-worn furniture, dark, dirty carpeting and only twin beds if you don't have a king room. I would like to recommend this hotel but would not stay unless updating was gone.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tori G, Front Desk Lead at Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding out hotel.
We are in the process of making many changes to both the hotel and the restaurant. I would only like to correct your description of our beds. All of our rooms contain either two doubles or one king. Not twins as stated in your review.
I hope you will come back to see us when you are back in Sault Ste Marie and see all the changes we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Really neat hotel with an excellent location right by the Locks. Yes, an older place and it feels like it a bit, but everything was still clean and up to a good standard of quality. Nice pool/spa are on the basement, and good free breakfast included (eggs, bacon, toast). Can walk to most of the Soo attractions, and even walk across the street to see the 1000 footers as they traverse the Locks.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tori G, Front Desk Lead at Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review about our hotel. Our location just can't be beat! We all hope to see you again soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed two nights. Comfy room, clean, nice decor, comfy bed. Breakfast was included but very limited, poor service, very slow. I don't want to cry racism (We are Black) but our waitress would not, and did not wait on us. The hostess brought our menus, beverages, and stated that she would be taking our orders and bringing our food. Our assigned waitress "Brittany" avoided eye contact and serviced other customers, while the hostess handled our table only. I've never experienced anything like it! (Of course we complained)

Front desk staff was very pleasant. Housekeeping very nice.
Outstanding pool area! Clean, quiet, private, get a pool key from the front desk.
Ample convenient parking, great location! Plenty of unique shops, restaurants, bars, and close to the locks. Couldn't see much of the Locks Park, the windows in the rooms are very small. The building has "old charm", very well maintained.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna26011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sault Ste. Marie
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sault Ste. Marie
BEST WESTERN Sault Ste. Marie
#3 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
#2 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
2.5 mi away
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
#12 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault S...
#5 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
2.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#13 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste....
#4 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway

Property: Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway
Address: 240 W Portage Ave, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783-1922
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Historical Hotel site on a site overlooking the Famous Internation Soo Locks. We are the Home of the Famous Freighters Restaurant and the Captains Pub and Grill. We will celebrate our 75th Anniversary on New Years Eve. Since 1927 this hotel has hosted Presidents and diplomats from all over the world. The senior president Bush hosted us with his presence in 1982. This property exhuberates with nostalgia from eras gone by. Take a trip through time as you enjoy our history and artifact display. Our staff is one of few who pay attention to the details of your comfort. Enjoy the luxurious lobby and historic lighting. Shop at all the gift shops. Whether you are snowmobiling or checking in to read your favorite book call and book with our staff. You deserve to savor the moment in one of our hot tub suites. Call now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Ojibway Hotel Sault Sainte Marie
Ramada Sault Sainte Marie
Ramada Hotel Plaza Ojibway
Sault Sainte Marie Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing