We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better late than never.”
Review of Soe' Cafe - CLOSED

Soe' Cafe
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Better late than never.”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This could be a spectacular favorite. The concept and food are great. Locally sourced,farm to table, food and beverages.
Don't be a snob and enjoy some MIchigan wine , beer and distilled spirits.
The produce and protein are local as well. The menu is varied, interesting and everything we tried was wonderful. Duck, chicken, vegetarian dishes all prepared with ingredients from Michigan and NW Indiana.
The only problem was since they do not take reservations, it could be quite a wait. After a long day in Harbor Country, it can be a trying experience. It was a 45 minute wait that turned in an hour. We noticed that there were many empty tables, but I think seating is dictated by what the kitchen can turn out.
We were starving and exhausted by the time we had a table.
Started with soup because we thought it was the quickest way to take the edge off. After 30 minutes we asked where it was. We were told it (and everything else) was made from scratch.
When it finally arrived , it was perfect...as was everything else that arrived in what felt like a snails pace. The desserts looked great, but we were afraid that we would have to pull out the sleeping bags.
The quality of the food offset the untimeliness of its arrival from the kitchen.
I have to admit, we were cranky, tired and hungry.
Has lots of promise. Just wish they took reservations.
A few of the top choices in Harbor Country do not take reservations. They say it is because visitors from Chicago get confused with the switch in time zones. That could be remedied with an explanation and a required credit card.
Nevertheless, we are going to give it another try.
Maybe earlier ...or a weekday.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MBNissan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    30
    11
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Farm to table”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Excellent service, farm to table menue. Local beers and wine. Reasonable prices. Must try when in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ilse1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palatine, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Interesting place - unique menu - staff iffy”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We tried this place based on the reviews and that is uses local items!

The menu was definitely varied. My husband had pork belly and I had the duck. Both were good but my husband was never offered a steak knife which is what you really need for a port belly. Actually with our waitress she never really offered anything. We had to remind her when we needed refills and when we were done with the meal she did not even ask if we wanted to try desert. We asked and then we had the a brownie. My husband liked it but I thought it was undercooked.

The biggest challenge was the waitress - if you are going to spend this type of money you want someone personable and we did see that with other waitstaff - so we would say give it a try.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deborah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious but not consistent”
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

We spotted this little jewel on the Blue Star highway and after reading a few review, decide to give it a true. Following othe reviews, we ordered a cocktail (went with the Soe75 at the suggestion of our server... It was refreshing and fabulous!).
The Yukon potato soup was wonderful as was the heirloom tomato sandwich. My seared lake trout was mediocre and the risotto with leeks was a huge disappointment. Great house made sweet potato chops and lovely green salads. Meatloaf with cheddar mash was also good. Would go back, but would order with care...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MommyOragami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nicely Suprised...”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by this little place, tucked off the main road. Our meal was very nice and the prices are very good as well. We had the corn bread appetizers which were just lovely. The duck was excellent with a peach chow chow (salsa like) side, very nicely cooked and done. My husband had the pork belly which he also declared to be excellent. The staff was very attentive – a large party with multiple children came and were seated next to us because that was their biggest table – and the wait staff came and asked us if we wanted to be moved in case the children were too noisy. I appreciated the thought. It’s not a very extensive menu but nice sized portions. They do not advertise a children’s menu but they have one, I overheard. A nice place for a couple or a family for dinner. And they don't take reservations for parties smaller than 8.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tinleyparktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Soe' Cafe also viewed

Sawyer, Berrien County
 
Sawyer, Berrien County
 
Sawyer, Berrien County
Sawyer, Berrien County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing