We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, not much different than Soe”
Review of Mesa Luna

Mesa Luna
Ranked #4 of 17 Restaurants in Sawyer
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level Contributor
180 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very good, not much different than Soe”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Went on a Friday night. Space has remained very similar - modern and classy. Main dining was 3/4 full, patio and outdoor seating seemed full. Service was good, nothing spectacular. Moscow mule was tasty. Apps were decent - asparagus and spring rolls. My wife had the salmon which she like and I had the white fish sandwich which was also very good. Other couple had chicken schwarma sandwich and flank steak - both really enjoyed it. Desserts were also great. Overall it is good to have a place to go with a slightly different menu that is modern and classy without the pretentious/stuffy environment. We will definitely return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    22
    14
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Watch your credit card charge”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

I charged my dinner and tip on my credit card. They put through the charge twice. Once stating it was their Perch reataurant in New Buffalo and a week later as Mesa Luna. I am still trying to get a refund of the duplicate charge.

Helpful?
1 Thank Howard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Joe, MI
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Mesa Luna rebirth”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

They still offer the garlic custard. That alone is worth a visit. Unlike the first iteration of MesaLuna which was very high end, this is more modestly designed, and less pricey. Very nice menu variety from sandwiches to full plates. They make it easy offering small and full plates. The small are not small, but generous. We had the garlic custard, asparagus soup and a variety of entries. Both the garlic dish and soup were outstanding. People next to us asked about the food. They too ordered the garlic miracle, and thanked us over and over saying we like this too much. Wide variety of wines and beers. Sophisticated, but laid back, a real gem.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank J F M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, great food, resort ambiance!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

As other reviewers have stated, Mesa Luna is in the same location of the former Soe's Café. Easy to access off of I-94 (exit 12) or the Red Arrow Highway. This new restaurant opened on April 25, 2014 and we visited on May 17, a sunny but cool evening, so the outside dining area was not available. There is a large porch area (I think climate controlled when necessary) and bustling bar. I look forward to visiting them during the summer busy season; it should be hopping! The interior of the main dining room is bright and upscale, but kid friendly. A couple families arrived during our visit. We were presented with a nice wine list and perused the craft beer menu. We started with the highly recommended garlic custard with mushrooms and walnuts appetizer. Spread on crostini, it was unique and fabulous. I tried the fish sandwich and freedom fries. The fish was hot and crispy and the fries are almost as good as my dad's homemade fries, which is saying a lot! My husband ordered the green curry shrimp. A nice portion size with lots of shrimp and presented well. It had good flavor and little heat from the curry. Our total bill was just under $75 which included our bottle of white wine and plenty of good food. We will be going back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
468 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Great New Dining Spot”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Had a lovely dinner experience here last Saturday with my wife. Extraordinarily reasonably price, vibrant atmosphere. Delicious food. Would return here at a moment's notice!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AaronFWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mesa Luna also viewed

New Buffalo, Berrien County
 
Sawyer, Berrien County
Harbert, Berrien County
 
Sawyer, Berrien County
 

Been to Mesa Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing