We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shelby Township
Certificate of Excellence
Stow, OH, United States
1 review
“Nice place to Stay”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel since it was reasonably close to Rochester College, where my daughter goes. Everything was clean, and did not have the used hotel smell. The breakfast was good, and there were no issues whatsoever with staff, with the bill, or any problems.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Craig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
All of us at the Hampton Inn of Utica/Shelby Township would like to thank you for giving us the chance to accommodate you during your recent stay with us.

We appreciate you staying with us while visiting your daughter! We look forward to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    65
    18
    6
    3
See reviews for
157
62
16
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, United States
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I stay in this hotel every time I visit my family and have never been disappointed. I find the staff extremely friendly and helpful and aim to please. The facilities are always extremely well maintained. My room is always fresh and clean.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
All of us at the Hampton Inn of Utica/Shelby Township would like to thank you for giving us the chance to accommodate you during your recent stay with us.

We are so happy that you enjoy staying with us and we appreciate your loyalty!

We can't wait to see you the next time you are in the Utica/Shelby Township area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

There were four families (including mine) that came from Toronto, Canada and stayed in Shelby Town at the Hampton Inn during the Easter long weekend. We were very surprised as to how nice the hotel suites were. The prices for the rooms were reasonable, and there were added bonuses-for example, there was a sofa bed, a kitchenette, and free complimentary breakfast (which was actually good!). They had a waffle maker, fresh omelettes, muffins, etc. It saved us time instead of going out to a restaurant. They had unlimited tea and coffee. The service was great! If we come back to Shelby Town, we will definitely be staying at the Hampton Inn again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank arundeetk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
All of us at the Hampton Inn of Utica/Shelby Township would like to thank you for giving us the chance to accommodate you during your recent stay with us.

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the amenities that we have to offer.

We hope that you will choose our hotel next time you are in the Utica/Shelby Township area, whether it be for leisure or business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimes, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I stayed there this past weekend at the advice of some nice friends in Detroit. This is in a great neighborhood, with a Wal-Mart right around the corner. Absolutely the right part of Detroit to stay in when visiting! Pooja Sharma and the other staff took care of me fantastic!

Room Tip: Stayed on the 2nd floor and is was great, but I doubt there is a bad room anywhere in the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
All of us at the Hampton Inn of Utica/Shelby Township would like to thank you for giving us the chance to accommodate you during your recent stay with us.

We hope that you will choose our hotel next time you are in the Utica/Shelby Township area, whether it be for leisure or business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waynesboro, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I got in a bit late but the room was there and the staff was nice. It only took less than 5 minutes to get the room. The room was nice as well. The temperature was good and smelled neutral. The bathroom was clean. The coffee maker was a bit dirty but who eats that anyways. I wish I took swimming wear but I didn't.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Edward K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
All of us at the Hampton Inn of Utica/Shelby Township would like to thank you for giving us the chance to accommodate you during your recent stay with us.

I am happy to hear that check in was a breeze for you! I do want to apologize, however, for the dirty coffee pot. We take pride in our room cleanliness and the coffee pot being dirty is our of the ordinary. We have taken the necessary steps to make sure this does not happen again.

We hope that you will choose our hotel next time you are in the Utica/Shelby Township area, whether it be for leisure or business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling Heights, United States
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This was a nice hotel. Although I did have a problem with the first room I was given (smelled like cigarette smoke), they quickly apologized and moved me to another room. The staff was very friendly and eager to help. The breakfast was just an average hotel breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Melissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
All of us at the Hampton Inn of Utica/Shelby Township would like to thank you for giving us the chance to accommodate you during your recent stay with us.

I do want to apologize about the first room smelling like smoke. We are a 100% Non-Smoking hotel and I am very sorry that someone smoked in the room before you. I am very glad that our staff took care of you and moved you rooms!

We hope that you will choose our hotel next time you are in the Utica/Shelby Township area, whether it be for leisure or business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chula Vista, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Came here as a group of four people for business meetings in the area. Has complementary breakfast in the morning and evening dinner. The exercise room is pretty good with wet machines and free weights. The rooms are clean and spacious.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
All of us at the Hampton Inn of Utica/Shelby Township would like to thank you for giving us the chance to accommodate you during your recent stay with us.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to accommodate your meetings here as well.

We hope that you will choose our hotel next time you are in the Utica/Shelby Township area, whether it be for leisure or business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelby Township
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Detroit / Utica
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Utica
Comfort Inn Utica
#3 of 7 in Utica
211 reviews
3.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Utica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Detroit-Utica
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica
2.9 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Utica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township

Property: Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township
Address: 51620 Shelby Pkwy, Shelby Township, MI 48315-1786
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Shelby Township
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shelby Township
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn-Detroit-Utica/Shelby Township with Complimentary Shuttle Service, free hot breakfast, business center, fitness center and pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township Hotel Shelby Township

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing