We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Miguel's Cantina

Miguel's Cantina
Ranked #35 of 147 Restaurants in Shelby Township
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Miguels off Schoenherr Rd was a great surprise. The food was amazing and the service was great. Everything was extremely fresh. A must visit:)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LisaChicago_Illinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    14
    9
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not the best mex food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We went to Miguel's Cantina to celebrate our friend's first job.
It's a big restaurant , with indoor and outdoor spaces , good staff , but there wasn't our best Mexican meal.
Big portions , we'll presented and could be shared with 2 people. But it were not too warm and little bit peppered... We asked for more pepper and they bring it apart.
I would recommend , for sure .

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Renata O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macomb, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“New and worth a meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

This is a really quaint restaurant on the Corner of 23 Mile and Schoenherr. THis was our 2nd time there and once again our dinner. They come to your table and make salsa to your liking, we got ours extra spicy, and it was. We also ordered the table side guacamole which was excellent. They used 3 large avocado's for the guac so we used some of it for our dinner. I had the chicken fajita's, which were very good, and my husband had the 3 sampler plate, a burrito, tamale and an enchilada. The service was great and the restaurant atmosphere really quaint. The prices are reasonable and we plan on visiting again soon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peggy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Indiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We watched this building being remodeled for several months wondering what business would open there. Much to our surprise it was Miguel's Cantina Mexican restaurant. We love Mexican food so, for us, it was a really nice surprise. Good food, good atmosphere, thanks Miguel's!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TR6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romeo, Michigan
Level Contributor
79 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Just okay, not sure I'd return”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

I mostly agree with RickinShelby's July 31 review and would rate this place behind Mexican Village and El Charro's. My chicken fajitas and my wife's quesadilla tasted just this side of bland. A bright spot was our server Angie, very professional. Hopefully in time the kitchen will find some signature flavors to capture diners' imaginations. It would be great to have a decent Mexican joint so close to my house.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Indiebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Miguel's Cantina also viewed

Shelby Township, MI
Shelby Township, MI
 

Been to Miguel's Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing