We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not my favorite Mexican restaurant” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Miguel's Cantina

Miguel's Cantina
Ranked #35 of 147 Restaurants in Shelby Township
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Macomb, MI
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not my favorite Mexican restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

It's a really cute place and they do have an outdoor patio (although it's just in parking lot) but their food is just okay. They have a strange guacamole sauce that's nothing like guacamole. It's green but really runny. In addition, the service was slow and not particularly friendly. In my opinion there's much better Mexican restaurants in the area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank pburko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    14
    9
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shelby Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bad night at Migel's”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Have been to Migel's a few times and for the most part, it has been good. This time, it was a disaster. Waited too long for drinks, did not get salsa until we asked 3 times and then 1.5 hours after arriving, got wrong and cold food.. They appeared to be very short handed and once we spoke with the mgr., he gave us half off the food. Will give them another try, but it will be the last if it is not good.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Don N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Miguels off Schoenherr Rd was a great surprise. The food was amazing and the service was great. Everything was extremely fresh. A must visit:)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LisaChicago_Illinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not the best mex food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We went to Miguel's Cantina to celebrate our friend's first job.
It's a big restaurant , with indoor and outdoor spaces , good staff , but there wasn't our best Mexican meal.
Big portions , we'll presented and could be shared with 2 people. But it were not too warm and little bit peppered... We asked for more pepper and they bring it apart.
I would recommend , for sure .

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Renata O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macomb, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“New and worth a meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

This is a really quaint restaurant on the Corner of 23 Mile and Schoenherr. THis was our 2nd time there and once again our dinner. They come to your table and make salsa to your liking, we got ours extra spicy, and it was. We also ordered the table side guacamole which was excellent. They used 3 large avocado's for the guac so we used some of it for our dinner. I had the chicken fajita's, which were very good, and my husband had the 3 sampler plate, a burrito, tamale and an enchilada. The service was great and the restaurant atmosphere really quaint. The prices are reasonable and we plan on visiting again soon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peggy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Miguel's Cantina also viewed

Shelby Township, MI
Shelby Township, MI
 

Been to Miguel's Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing