We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shelbyville
Certificate of Excellence
Fenton, Michigan
1 review
“Quaint and Comfortable”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Our first experience with the inn was dinner at the Terrace Grill. We sat on the deck and enjoyed the view of the grounds and the lake. Dinner was well prepared and delicious. We knew then that we wanted to come back to stay when a room was available. We were able to stay a couple weeks later and were not disappointed. The room was very spacious and definitely had a country inn feel. We felt quite at home and comfortable staying there. The only negative was that the bathroom seemed a little dark and could have used better lighting.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Charlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meagan F, General Manager at Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 November 2014
Thank you for commenting on the landscaping! We appreciate the feed back and your wonderful comments on the room. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    103
    42
    18
    14
See reviews for
99
233
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We met some friends at the terrace grille last Saturday for an evening of food and drinks. From the moment we walked in everything was perfect. We got a nice table on the patio and the food was out of this world. I had the walleye and and my girlfriend had the fish tacos. Both were just as amazing as we remembered. Our server Michelle was very attentive and willing to answer any questions we had about what was going on in the area. We absolutely love this place and are trying to come back and go to one of the gun lake lives on Wednesday night for a free concert! All and all the terrace grille is an A+ in my book!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Foodie4501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meagan F, General Manager at Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
What wonderful compliments! Thank you so much. We will pass on your comments to our chefs and your server, Michele.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This was our first time to Gun Lake and we very much enjoyed the hotel. Great pool, lake views, food and very clean.
A big storm came through and knocked out power to the whole lake! But we were able to eat dinner and stayed even though power wasn't restored the next morning. Staff was courteous and tried to accommodate when possible. Afterall, they can't control mother nature!
We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meagan F, General Manager at Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you very much for the kind words. We truly appreciate understanding guests in light of a natural disaster! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights for a wedding. The breakfast was very limited, and there were no food options if you were hungry at night because the restaurant closed early. Additionally, we had to travel 20 minutes to the casino for a decent lunch. The rooms and amenities were nice, but we had a few creepy crawlers on the first floor. I would stay again if I had to for an event, but not at my own leisure.

Room Tip: Get a room on the first floor that have a deck out to the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Naomi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meagan F, General Manager at Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Bay Pointe Inn offers free continental breakfast to our overnight guests. Our continental breakfast also includes omelets to order but we do not have a full breakfast menu. Our Terrace Grille restaurant is open in high-season Sunday through Thursday from 4:00pm-9:00pm and Fridays and Saturdays 4:00pm-10:00pm. We are not open for lunch, although there are several places that serve lunch in the area. Check with the front desk for the local favorites!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The price of the resort is too high for the quality of service, amenities, and atmosphere. Read other reviews carefully. (do not book online) Price differs from what you are actually being charged. Breakfast included at the grill is very disappointing. However, the landscaping is beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Samuel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meagan F, General Manager at Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for commenting on the lovely landscaping! Our gardens are a treat to see. We apologize that you felt that the quality of our services did not match the price. Our continental breakfast features a hot dish and made to order omelets - an added bonus from other hotels in the area. We do not offer a full breakfast menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We had a surprise visit to this hotel along with Michigan friends who treated us to the stay. I thought the hotel was lovely, our rooms were bright, clean and very spacious. Plenty of toiletries and a decent hair dryer - essential! The weather was gorgeous so we had afternoon cocktails sitting viewing the lake. We dined at the same table for our evening meal. Food was average to be honest, both in quality and quantity. There were 6 of us dining, 2 of whom had steak and potatoes. Both steaks were very fatty and nothing special. The potatoes had seen better days. Breakfast was buffet style with a fairly limited choice. Omelettes were available and made to order. The staff we had dealings with were all friendly and helpful. I would stay again if I happened to be in the area, but I think it is a one night stay hotel as there didn't appear to be much else around it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meagan F, General Manager at Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for the kind comments! So pleased you enjoyed your room and the overall feel of the hotel. The Gun Lake area is growing, as is Bay Pointe Inn itself. We hope to add more excursions and fun new adventures each and every year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount clemens
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I don't know how this place is still in business with the customer service they show their guests. We stayed here for the weekend looking for a nice, quiet get away and it was nothing but a head ache from the moment we walked in to the moment we left. The communication between the staff and everyone else was absolutely ridiculous. Just continuously being told one thing and receiving another. When we finally had enough and tried to actually speak to someone in charge there was conveniently "no manager on staff" any of the times we asked. When we finally got a call from the manager after checking out the excuse was .. "Well I wasn't there soooo......" Which seemed to be the theme of the whole weekend with everyone on staff. Never coming back here again nor would I recommend it to anyone!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kateohh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meagan F, General Manager at Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for the comments. It is only through Guest feedback that we learn and grow as an organization. We apoligize that you did not enjoy your stay and felt as your needs were not addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelbyville
20.4 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
11.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 1 in Plainwell
88 reviews
17.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Rapids SW/Byron Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#1 of 2 in Hastings
61 reviews
18.5 mi away
Comfort Suites South
Comfort Suites South
#12 of 49 in Grand Rapids
140 reviews
21.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant

Property: Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant
Address: 11456 Marsh Rd, Shelbyville, MI 49344-9627
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Shelbyville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shelbyville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hospitality. Abundant Relaxation.Discover family owned Bay Pointe Inn on beautiful Gun Lake. An overnight stay in one of our tranquil rooms includes a deluxe breakfast and gorgeous lake views. Find sanctuary at our BoatHouse Villa, our historic dream escape. Our acclaimed Terrace Grille restaurant provides casual dining with fare that is handmade, from scratch - pure and truly delicious. Centrally located, Bay Pointe Inn is 30 minutes from Grand Rapids and Kalamazoo and halfway between Chicago and Detroit. It is the perfect location for hosting your Weekend Escape, Corporate Retreat or Social Event. We invite you to experience “One of Michigan’s Top Resorts”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant Hotel Shelbyville
Bay Pointe Inn And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing