We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shelbyville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My wife and I traveled through Michigan and found this gem on Gun Lake. We stayed on a Saturday night and had a room facing the front yard and parking lot of the inn which was fine since the grounds are kept very nice. There was a wedding that evening by the lake and the inn was booked. We thought it may be a long loud night since many were staying at the inn. We never heard a sound all night.
The rooms are clean and spacious. The Terrace Grill is attached and breakfast is included. You can get an omelette or anything from the continental breakfast bar. All good.
We liked this inn so much we returned for two more nights and rented a pontoon boat that staff had delivered to the inn dock waiting for us. We had a great time and will return someday.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 473 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

We went to Bay Pointe for our niece's wedding. It was the perfect Venue for this affair. Our room was very nice with a balcony overlooking Gun Lake. The only reason I did not give this resort an excellent rating is that there was no coffee maker in the room. This is a requirement for me as I do not like to have to get dressed and go down to the lobby for my first cup of coffee.

Room Tip: If you can afford to splurge for a suite, it is wll worth the extra money, Has a kitchenette, a bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank NassauNat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My husband and I (62 and 59) stayed at Bay Pointe June 29-July 3, 2014. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was on the corner, second floor, facing the lake. We spent a lot of time on our balcony watching the lake. When we arrived on Sunday there was a wedding but unlike other reviews we did not experience any wild behavior by the guests. In fact, when we closed our doorwall we didn't hear anything and there was music playing at the reception. It was very peaceful Monday and Tuesday while we enjoyed the indoor pool, sunning area and lakefront. We had a blast Wednesday night at Gun Lake Live! What a great band and we met some great locals who taught us some new line dances. We ate at the restaurant 3 times. I loved, loved, loved the fish tacos and had them twice. The bartenders were very nice and conversational and we noticed they had some great top shelf liquor available. We brought our own cooler and brought it into the room so we could enjoy some adult beverages on our balcony.
We will definitely return some time soon. Perhaps for a quick winter getaway???

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kappycur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meagan F, General Manager at Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2014

Thank you for the heartfelt compliments! We are so pleased you thoroughly enjoyed your stay! The Fish Tacos are one of the most popular items on the menu!

P.S
The lake is absolutely gorgeous during the Winter season! We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I love Bay Pointe Inn this was my third stay and I leave satisfied every time. I am a business owner so the nature of my staycation was to recharge for a couple of days and what better way to do that then by the lake. I am seriously considering hosting my corporate get away event here in the near future. The owner is always nice and that extends to the staff. If you're thinking of staying please do you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keilani76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meagan F, General Manager at Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2014

Thank your for the wonderful comments! We are looking forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We have been to Baypointe 3 times. Every visit has been consistently amazing. Staff is wonderful And everyone seems to really love there job! The food is great! Love love love this place. Also, we got married there last year. Everything was amazing and even better than we expected! We can't wait to plan our next yearly visit!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dozer82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meagan F, General Manager at Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2014

Thank you for your wonderful comments! We are so very pleased to hear that every visit has been wonderful and that we were able to make your special day incredible! We look forward to your next visit and the years to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed at the Boathouse as a family celebrating my mom's 80th birthday and were very happy with our visit. I arranged for dinner to be brought over on the night of arrival, and it was delicious! I cannot say enough good things about Andrew,(Restaurant Manager) who went out of his way to make sure our stay was as nice as possible. One of the things this property is missing is an outdoor grill. Also, I think it would be nice to offer "waffles" as an alternative choice with the omelets that are offered
at breakfast.....the $9.95 price is excessive for what is currently available for breakfast. The rental price is a little steep, but the views of the lake from inside the house, as well as the views from the two pattios justify the expense in the end. We are thinking of making this an annual family trip!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meagan F, General Manager at Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2014

Isn't the Boathouse lovely? We are very happy that we were able to accommodate both you and your family for your mothers special getaway! We look forward to seeing you again next year!

P.S.
We will definitely pass your lovely compliments to Andrew! Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Only negative, we joined Bay Pointe from their website & were not allowed to use a discount we were offfered on our existing reservation.

In addition, we couldn't cancel our current reservation in order to rebook using their discount offer.

Other than that....wonderful place to refresh & relax

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank btorok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meagan F, General Manager at Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2014

We are so happy that you found your stay to be enjoyable and relaxing! We apologize about the confusion at the front desk. We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelbyville
11.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 1 in Plainwell
92 reviews
11.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#1 of 2 in Hastings
62 reviews
17.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Rapids SW/Byron Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
18.5 mi away
Comfort Suites South
Comfort Suites South
#15 of 48 in Grand Rapids
148 reviews
18.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#36 of 48 in Grand Rapids
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant

Address: 11456 Marsh Rd, Shelbyville, MI 49344-9627
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Shelbyville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shelbyville
Price Range: £74 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hospitality. Abundant Relaxation.Discover family owned Bay Pointe Inn on beautiful Gun Lake. An overnight stay in one of our tranquil rooms includes a deluxe breakfast and gorgeous lake views. Find sanctuary at our BoatHouse Villa, our historic dream escape. Our acclaimed Terrace Grille restaurant provides casual dining with fare that is handmade, from scratch - pure and truly delicious. Centrally located, Bay Pointe Inn is 30 minutes from Grand Rapids and Kalamazoo and halfway between Chicago and Detroit. It is the perfect location for hosting your Weekend Escape, Corporate Retreat or Social Event. We invite you to experience “One of Michigan’s Top Resorts”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant Hotel Shelbyville
Bay Pointe Inn And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing