We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Off the Beaten Path but excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bear Trap Inn

Bear Trap Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Shingleton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Off the Beaten Path but excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

This was a very nice place to eat on the way in or out of Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore Park. The waitress was very friendly and attentive. The Salad Bar was average, but it was not bad at all. The Fish Fry was good....the fish tasted fresh. I would recommend this restaurant.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve1115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    72
    11
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Clare, Michigan
Level Contributor
131 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Pasties!!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

I believe these are the best pasties that I have ever had. The restaurant is covered with taxidermy so if that bothers you just get them to go. They are a complete meal. If you have ever had a pastie you will agree these are great ones. If you haven't....these are the best ones to try. Worth stopping if you are in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson MI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AWESOME”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

We really enjoyed our visit to the Bear Trap Inn. The food was great! The service was excellent and the waitress was very friendly and helpful. She was able to recommend some fun things to do in the town and even other customers in the bar were very friendly. Definitely recommend this restaurant!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quaint and Cozy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Despite the dollar bills plastered all over the walls, the light staff, and the abundance of mounted critters, this place has great food. The pasties are delicious!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fandamilytourista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
203 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Too cool!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We had heard about this place but the signs were misleading and we spent nearly an hour trying to find it. As it turned out, it really wasn't very far from Munising and we were glad we had persisted. The decor is kitschy and fun. We had the pasties, of course, ad they were delicious. We considered returning for dinner but decided to try something else

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anniebonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bear Trap Inn also viewed

Shingleton, Upper Peninsula
Munising, Upper Peninsula
 
Munising, Upper Peninsula
Christmas, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Bear Trap Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing