We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Everything we could have hoped for and more!”
other travellers have booked this property
The Sugar Maple Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Sugar Maple Lodge
Living Room Living room Tv
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
The Sugar Maple Lodge
Living Room
Living room Tv
Living room extra seating/entry way
Dining area
Kitchen
Kitchen
Bedroom 1 with one queen log bed and one log bunk bed
Bedroom 1
Half bath off Bedroom 1
Half bath off Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2  with full log bed and one log bunk bed
Bedroom 2 with full log bed and log bunk bed
Bedroom 3 with two sets of log bunk beds
Lower Level Sleeping Quarters/Family Room. Two sets of log bunks, one log queen and one fold out.
Lower Level Sleeping Quarters/Family Room
Lower Level Sleeping Quarters/Family Room
Lower Level Sleeping Quarters/Family Room
Lower Level Sleeping Quarters/Family Room
Lower level bathroom
Backyard
Backyard view from the deck
Grill and table on deck
Basement laundry room
Snow is stacking up fast 11/17/14
11/17/14 This little guy is enjoying the early snow!
The Sugar Maple lodge in the winter
Large group getting ready to go for a ride
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Shingleton, Upper Peninsula, Michigan

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Passport6...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everything we could have hoped for and more!”
Reviewed 26 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We wanted someplace close to Picture Rocks that would allow our whole family to stay together for a reasonable price. The Sugar Maple Lodge was perfect! We had lots of sleeping space with privacy for each family. The house is very nicely decorated and laid out perfectly for sharing meals and conversation. Tim was very accommodating and came to our rescue when the GPS sent us to the wrong location. Would highly recommend to others and will try The Sugar Maple Lodge first when we head that way again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Getaway37...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great vacation”
Reviewed 2 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our stay at Sugar Maple Lodge. We had a little trouble finding it since it is out in the country but we loved that about it. The owner was friendly and nice and we had a great time in Munising. We hope to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the remote secluded atmosphere.
Liked least: Air conditioning would be nice.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UPSnowmob...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tim doesn't keep his word!”
Reviewed 29 November 2015 for a stay in February 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Looks like a nice place, but never got the chance to stay there. In Feb 2012 I booked for snowmobile trip in Feb 2013. Sent deposit of $150. Dec 2012 I called to confirm our date of stay. I actually had the date one week early, but Tim confirmed that as being correct. Five of us showed up in Feb 2013 to find the place occupied. Tim wasn't there, but I contacted him by phone. He apologized and I asked for the deposit back. He said he would make it right with me. Several phone calls and a letter....I still have not received the deposit. Very disappointed. DCW

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2015
The dates that you booked were confirmed, I do apologize that you booked the wrong dates for your group and even wrote the dates that you were staying on the check. But there was no way for me to fix your mistake. I always make things right with my guests if there is anything I can do. Being that we did block days out for you (the wrong dates that you booked and put a deposit down for) we had to turn guests away. As you can see this is a very busy time of the year for us and if we didn't have guests in our rental already, we would have let you stay. I understand your frustration but the whole point of a deposit is to cover cost of running the rental if people don't show, or book the wrong dates.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atherton9...
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Location to Pictured Rocks, Very Clean, Hot tub was great”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage was as advertised in the pictures. Hot tub was very relaxing at the end of the day. Tim was there to meet us when we arrived even though we did not arrive until 9:30PM.
I would recommend this cottage. We liked that it was very pet friendly, has internet, has a gas grill, dishwasher, washer and dryer. The dryer cost a $1 a load.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, Michigan
Reviewed 23 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing