We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So comfortable!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lydd-on-Sea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castaways B&B and Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Lydd-on-Sea B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed here for one night - what a lovely place to stay! Simon and Delphine made us feel very welcome, and our room was great with an amazing sea view. And what a great nights sleep we had! Followed by a delicious freshly cooked breakfast. Would definitely stay here again when we're back in the area.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Soobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonN66, Owner at Castaways B&B and Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

A lovely review and very much appreciated. Many thanks, best wishes from Simon and Delphine (and Fleur).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

Simon & Delphine are very welcoming, happy to help with anything to make our stay better.

Very good generous breakfast, great packed lunch too.

Good value, clean, comfortable.

Perfect location right on the beach.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed here for work purposes, didnt arrived until 10.30pm, the owner Simon was very welcoming.
My double room had everything i needed for a sound nights sleep, Great breakfast. Can not speak highly enough of Castaways. Very close to RSPB dungeness Reserve.

You will not regret staying here!!!

thank you for the warm welcome

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jontread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonN66, Owner at Castaways B&B and Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

A lovely review, many thanks. We hope to see you again when perhaps you will have a bit more time to relax!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Thank you for a wonderful stay, a clean room and magnificent breakfast.

Superb location overlooking the sea and very close to Dungeness, a mecca for photographers and bird watchers.

Very good value, i would certainly recommend this B&B to other travellers looking to stay around Dungeness.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macgeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonN66, Owner at Castaways B&B and Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

A pleasure to be your host and many thanks for a lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Couples like Simon and Delphine make Bed and Breakfast work as a concept. Extremely welcoming, informative and great hosts. Excellent breakfast and more than enough space for the children to be outside to play. Fleur, their dog, was delightful with our children, 10, 7 and 2. Clean and well kept. Highly recommended for a base to explore.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KP76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonN66, Owner at Castaways B&B and Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

A lovely review, Fleur is delighted, many thanks and we hope to see you again. Your children were a pleasure too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I chose Castaways based on its location and great reviews. I was not disappointed. Everything said previously is exactly as I found it.

Simon, who was "flying solo" as the rest of the family were away, is the perfect host.

This was my first visit to the area, primarily for birding, and is the perfect location being within the Dungeness National Nature Reserve.

The breakfast is everything a "Full English" should be and I needed nothing further until an evening meal (a 15 minute walk away) at The Pilot, which was superb value.

I would thoroughly recommend Castaways.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brit70000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Our host was friendly and welcoming and so kind to our young children. The rooms are immaculate and the beds really comfortable. Our breakfast was amazing with the dining room having a view across the beach and the English Channel. We were made to feel the place was home and nothing was too much trouble. This B&B deserves the highest praise.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lydd-on-Sea
2.9 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lydd
39 reviews
3.5 mi away
Romney Bay House Hotel
Romney Bay House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Littlestone
173 reviews
3.1 mi away
Littlestone Hotel
Littlestone Hotel
#2 of 5 in New Romney
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaways B&B and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaways B&B and Guest House

Address: 101 Coast Drive, Lydd-on-Sea, Lydd TN29 9NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Lydd > Lydd-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lydd-on-Sea
Price Range: £35 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully refurbished in 2012, we offer 6 en-suite guest bedrooms sleeping up to 11 guests. Relax in our comfortable guest lounge and enjoy magnificent sea views over the English Channel with the white cliffs of Dover to the east and the lighthouses of Dungeness to the west. Uniquely situated, the beach to front and shingle to rear are within the Dungeness National Nature Reserve and for the train enthusiast, the delightful Hythe and Dymchurch steam train passes directly behind us. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing