We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rough edges. Odd surroundings. Great value.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in South Haven
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jensen's RV Park and Motel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Jensen's is a VERY basic "mom and pop" motel that appears to be going through a prolonged renovation. First, the setting: The motel sits on the grounds of a RV trailer park that seems part storage facility, part full-time/weekenders RV park. The owners seem to be giving it a good go, and the manager is very kind, but I must be honest, we almost didn't stay because the surroundings are simply odd. My teen daughters would say it was "sketchy." My wife, (who is not above camping and doesn't require a hotel with room service) was very suspect about my choice of this place. Next, our rooms: we rented two rooms for the five in our family. Both rooms were small, featured surprisingly comfortable beds, had a clean refrigerator, and an assortment of furniture that looked to have been purchased at area garage sales. The bathrooms were small, dated, but clean and the water pressure/showers are great. Everything is mid renovation. While the windows in the room are new and fresh, the windows in the bathroom are old, rusty and feature peeling trim. This sort of represents the entire experience at Jensen's. While parts a great (price, location, friendliness, did I say price?) other parts are rough (setting, office is scary-cluttered, old RVs in storage).
In short, if you are used to camping and staying at independent motels, and can overlook the rough edges, Jensen's is a great value. If you can't, there are plenty of other options in the area.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
11  Thank FishhookIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2012



This is our second year staying here, we stayed in room 3 and once again enjoyed the clean room, comfortable bed and hospitable atmosphere. We highly recommend. The rooms are the most affordable in town without sacrificing quality and you get great service while feeling at home.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sanctifiedanew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Jensen's is a little out of the way Mom and Pop trailer campground with 14 cottage rooms as well. We didn;t have reservations but they treated us as if we had planned our stay for months!
The rooms are fairly tiny and from the 1940's. Quiet and well taken care of. A visit down vintage lane. This is not a four star hotel, it's a four star campground and motel. Just what we were looking for. We loved it it and will make reservations next time.
Lovely people, Matt and Anna They welcomed us, showed us the room before we booked it and gave us directions to a a Croation lamb fest in South Chicago for our return home. We had a GREAT visit!
D & S

Room Tip: Don't expect the Hyatt. Old and quaint is the key here. Not a lot of room to move around but out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Anna is just super, and made us feel welcome from day 1. We loved the peace and quiet, and the nice outdoor picnic tables where we had our breakfast every day. Never before have I been personally escorted to a room by the hotel owner to make sure everything was OK...in a golf cart! what a riot. They are a close drive to the beach, and biking distance (easy) to the Kal-Haven trail. The only reason I gave 4 stars is because the sink faucets and shower heads could be replaced, and were a bit rusty with age, but everything was truly spotlessly clean. The fridge was unplugged and had been completely cleaned out ( looked brand new) and fit all our stuff. We bought a bag of ice and even that fit in the freezer. When you first come in, Jensen's does look like a trailer park, but it is not, the regular's park their trailers/motor homes there fot the entire Summer (Or year) and come up when they can make it. It was a very quiet weekend when we went up in June, 2012. We will be back soon. For now, I just dream of the beaches and peace/quiet/hospitality. We did travel with our 4 yo daughter and it's a lovely place for kids, lots of lawn space to run and play! Enjoy Jensen's and tell Anna we sent you.

Room Tip: we liked room #1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chicagodivermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Jensens is an average campground. They lack many modern amenities. Their hotel or I should say motel room are below average. Stale smelling rooms, not well kept.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank betsyIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

I stayed here from 8/19-8/22 with my sister. The owners are extremely friendly and the motel is an excellent value. The decor is outdated, but the rooms are clean. There are multiple beach access sites along North Shore Drive within a mile of where the motel is located. It was very convenient. If you are looking for an upscale hotel, this is not for you. But if you want a nice, clean, economical place to stay with very friendly owners, stay here. I would recommend Jensen's to others.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank learnedal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We just stayed a week here at Jensen's. LOVED IT! Yes, the rooms are cozy and the decor "retro", but my husband and I LOVED staying here.You can't beat the price. Anna is awesome, and her hospitality is warming. We WILL be back! If you're looking for a 5 star hotel with all the amenities, this is not it. If you ARE looking for a place that feels like home and you're treated like family, this is the place to go. You will LOVE staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 59Momba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Haven hotels
3.6 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#4 of 11 in South Haven
199 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites South Haven
Comfort Suites South Haven
#9 of 11 in South Haven
151 reviews
1.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn South Haven
Hampton Inn South Haven
#2 of 11 in South Haven
383 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
6.0 mi away
Seymour House
Seymour House
#3 of 16 in South Haven
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jensen's RV Park and Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jensen's RV Park and Motel

Address: 7366 N Shore Dr, South Haven, MI 49090-9198
Region: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Price Range: £36 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated for 33+ years, we take pride in offering our guests clean, cozy, and affordable accommodations along with convenient, full hook-up RV spots. A short walk to the closest public beach and only 2 miles from downtown, Jensen's combines a great location with unbeatable value. Many of our repeat customers say that Jensen's is their summer vacation destination, call us today to make it yours! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing