We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Stayed at this Inn last weekend for our annual girls weekend. The grounds on the resort are beautiful. You are right on the lake. The rooms we stayed in however were terrible. They had a very musty, mildew odor uopon arrival. The floor going from the room to the bathrooms had over a 1 inch gap. Could be a safety hazard. The towels were once maybe white, were old and stained. The bathrooms had absolutely no counter space and very little clothes hanging room. The pillows were hard and lumpy. The shower curtain was also mildewed.
We would have tried for a different hotel, but with it being Labor Day weekend, there was nothing else available.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaryB773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2011

We were married in South Haven & stayed at Lake Bluff Inn. After reading reviews for this Inn I was a little nervous. WOW - a lot of wasted energy!

Lake Bluff was GREAT! It not only fit our budget but it was clean! Great help from staff when needed but respected our privacy too- nice on a honeymoon! The Studio was the perfect size, great water pressure in the shower, all appliances were perfectly clean!

Pools were clean, relaxing and overlook Lake Michigan. There are stairs that go down one side of the bluff with a gorgeous sunset view. Lots of outdoor space! Close to anywhere you'd want to go.

Daily breakfast was perfect - game room had a great pinball machine too!
DO NOT let any of the negative reviews keep you from staying here... this is a great place and we will be staying here again soon.

Room Tip: The Studio is the perfect size for two... or two adults + a child.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I thought all of the negative reviews for this place were pretty extreme! The property is beautiful and the room that we had was fine...no awful smells or anything. I do agree that it could use some updating, but this place is a great place for families to hang out outside, grill, and watch some beautiful sunsets. The pool was nice and the breakfast too. If you're looking for something upscale, I wouldn't recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nigel0223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Don't know how this place stays in business. People are so rude, rooms smell and dirty.
Its a shame cause the view and property are beautiful. Needs total renovation and new owners that know customer service.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rebmanhattan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Buyer beware! They don't give refunds after 2 weeks before check-in, so, if you go there and find your room smells strongly (I thought possibly mold), as I did, they'll still try to keep your money. Other problems, in addition to the overpowering odor: abrasive staff (when they even bothered to look up to acknowledge you were in the room), low-security rooms in exposed cottages, no nearby convenience stores, restaurants etc. Website is deceptive. Avoid!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank skeep028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

I'm not a fan. When we first stepped in my wife immediately noticed the smell of mildew in the room. We were hoping it was just a smell (it was not strong and we got used to it quickly) but then the wife had to take an antihistamine in the middle of the night because she was having some sort of allergic reaction to something in the room (we suspect mildew because we didn't have any problem any other time on the trip while outdoors.

The decor was very odd as well. Granite counter top in the mini kitchen but super low end carpeting and sheets. The towels in our room had the name of the hotel stamped on them in permanent ink in a prominent not real classy "Don't steal me" kind of way.

And the most unforgivable thing in my opinion was the complete lack of sound insulation. The wife and I were watching some TV around midnight at a very reasonable volume when we received some very loud bangs on our shared wall with the next room apparently indicated we were being too loud. This was later confirmed by the conversations that we could hear through the wall (that they were having in a normal speaking voice) the following morning.

For what I paid for a room I would expect a hotel room of higher caliber. Indeed, our room seemed to have more in common with very nicely renovated shed. If anyone else I know gets married there we'll stay someplace else.

(Great view though)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bitsrboolean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Wow. This has to be the WORST place I have ever stayed. Bar none.

We checked in after the drive from Chicago, only to spend at least 10 minutes trying to find our room. We were in room 34. It would be logical that room 34 would not be past room 45, right? Ehhhhhh....let's not jump to conclusions. We had to walk past room 42, 43, 44, 45, then 33, THEN found room 34. What?

At this point we were already creeped out by our surroundings. As we slid the key into the lock (yes...they have actual keys, not keycards, we didn't know what to expect. Well....let's say we weren't greeted by a finely appointed, or even clean, room.

The room looks like something out of the mid 70's. The bathroom is an absolute joke. The bath towel is about the size of our hand towels at home and they appear to be at least 20 years old. There are no bars of soap or bottle of shampoo. Instead, there are dispensers. In the shower, there is a dispenser for "Euro Bath" which is, according to the label, a "European body wash." Of course, it was empty when I attempted to shower. My wife called the front desk and was told that "there are no bars of soap, but a "thing" in the shower to use." She told her she knew and that the "thing" was empty. They said they'd send someone to fill it...never happened.

The worst part of it all is that they charged us $109 a night for this hellhole and took payment up front. I don't know how in the hell they can get away with charging as much as they do, but somehow they do it.

Stay away from this place!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank mfratella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Haven
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn South Haven
Hampton Inn South Haven
#2 of 11 in South Haven
385 reviews
3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
3 mi away
Comfort Suites South Haven
Comfort Suites South Haven
#9 of 11 in South Haven
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven
20.6 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
222 reviews
21.2 mi away
Boulevard Inn
Boulevard Inn
#3 of 6 in Saint Joseph
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Bluff Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Bluff Inn and Suites

Address: 76648 11th Ave, South Haven, MI 49090-1651
Region: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Price Range: £73 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lake Bluff Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Lake Bluff Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Bluff Hotel South Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing