We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Reunion OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Sherwood, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“Family Reunion OK”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My family and I have been staying in Western Michigan at various places for years. We decided to try this one out. I think the place is relatively clean and offers some nice ammenities. However, I would suggest the owners consider a couple of things.

A) Invest in some towels that are even average.
B) This is the biggest one....it is pretty clear to me the service staff needs some customer service training. It always felt like we were inconveniencing them and when you have a place with this price tag it seems like they might have a top notch approach to customer service.
C) Upgrade/clean or fix the outdoor charcoal grills.
D) Kill that bright light over the fire pit. It is hard to relax by the fire with a high bright street lamp above you.
E) Upgrade the breakfast a bit. I am not saying you have to supply bacon and eggs made to order, but a little more into the breakfast would make such a difference.

Now those are the negatives. The positives are that the place is newer and cleaner than many places. The kids loved the game room and pool. The hot tub was a little dissappointing, but at least there is one. Fire pit would be awesome without that light. Grounds are kept up well, location, location, location is great.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 425ChrisR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    56
    25
    29
    27
See reviews for
70
83
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

It isn't so much that our friend lost a valuable item it was more that the staff didn't go above & beyond to locate it or offer empathy about the situation which lead us to believe the items wasn't as much lost as possibly stolen. Left us wondering and feeling mistrustful that I CAN NOT recommend this location.
WIFI not very strong so I suggest leaving electronics at home and enjoy the spectacular view nestled in a wooded area along the lake. Rooms are clean although outdated but with all the standard conveniences.
Continental breakfast equal to chain hotels and an added convenience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dudleytravelors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these South Haven hotels

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Our family recently held a family reunion at Lake Bluff. The facilities including the pool, breakfast, conference room, view were very good. The staff and service were excellent. The rooms are just average but fine for the price. We rented a regular suite (two bedrooms, kitchen, dining/living room which was perfect for use as a hospitality suite for family to gather. My only complaint is that the refrigerator was unplugged when we checked in and it took approximately 12 hours to get really cold. Knowing the room was booked, they should have had it turned on for us. Small problem. Otherwise, we were all very pleased with our stay. Thanks Lake Bluff.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Valerie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This is a beautiful property and there is so much area to relax and walk around (outside) while getting the lake view. This was our second time there and we enjoyed it and even spent more time in the hotel to enjoy the scenery/view.

The room is not so great though: (looks like its a constant complaint with visitors). The bed was not comfortable cause the mattress sagged in the middle. The room was not as clean as I would like it. But you spend minimum time in the room, so its not a deal-breaker. Stay here for the property and the lake view.

Room Tip: even if you take the non-lake view and a single queens bed, its worth it cause you dont spend any ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yk2115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

If you are coming to the Lake Bluff Inn expecting 5 Star amenities and service, then you will be disappointed. However, if you take it for what it is-- a secluded retreat with amazing lake views and a comfortable place to sleep, you will enjoy your stay. Yes, our room was small and perhaps a little outdated, but the only time we spent in the room was when we were sleeping-- and our eyes were closed then, so the decor didn't matter. What did matter was the beautiful property and the lake view. Our room had a lake view and a picnic table on the back porch. From the back door we could walk all over the property and be surrounded by the sounds of the waves on the lake crashing against the bluffs. The tiered deck leading down to the lake was beautiful, and we sat there watching the stars at night, and trying to watch the sunrise the next morning (but it's not quite situated right to see a sunrise and the weather was not playing nicely either). The staff was courteous and breakfast offered a variety of options. Yes, if I had paid $179 for a night at the Mariott or a HIlton, I would have been disappointed in the caliber of the room itself, but I took this for what it was-- a rustic getaway where we could enjoy the beauty of the lake and time with each other. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Definitely pay extra for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beccaminister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livonia, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We also stayed in a "suite" that was reserved well in advance. Room was small and dirty. One packet of coffee. No power from 6:00 - 11:00 pm. We were told several times that they "were working on it", but at 9:00 watched as a city repair truck pulled up. Other rooms had power, but they never offered to move us as this was "not their problem -- it was beyond their responsibility". Snippy desk staff. EXCESSIVE NOISE from an ongoing wedding from 4:00 pm til midnight. Unfortunately, our room was also located above the swing set, sand box, and the all night bond fire. Nothing but screaming kids running around without supervision and drunks laughing at every dumb joke. Fortunately the Inn is close to South Haven where we spent most of our time. Would not stay here again -- even with family. Too bad. Lovely view.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shawn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandville, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

My husband and I wanted to celebrate our anniversary some place with an unobstructed view of Lake Michigan. This inn has exactly that! Large grassy on the property which provided nice views of the lake, plus a variety of seating types available on the decks or patio areas to sit and enjoy the beauty of the lake. We toured 4 different types of rooms for future stays alone or with families, and many show very recent updates. Everything was very clean! Good selection of room types depending on what your budget allows and what you're "going for" on your time away. Good continental style breakfast. Found the staff to be pleasant and helpful....initially reserved to likely not intrude on guests privacy, but once we started the conversation and wanted to know more, very cordial. We really liked that downtown South Haven was just a few minutes drive away to have a nice dinner and do a little shopping, but then we could go back to the property at Lake Bluff Inn and just enjoy the beauty and sounds of Lake Michigan and the spectacular sunset.

Room Tip: Room rates are a good guide for good, better, best. We were happy Room #10 for the lake view, sofa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Haven
3.0 mi away
Comfort Suites South Haven
Comfort Suites South Haven
#9 of 11 in South Haven
147 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn South Haven
Hampton Inn South Haven
#2 of 11 in South Haven
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven
20.5 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
206 reviews
23.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Bluff Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Bluff Inn and Suites

Property: Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Address: 76648 11th Ave, South Haven, MI 49090-1651
Region: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lake Bluff Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Lake Bluff Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Bluff Hotel South Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing