We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plan to return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
“Plan to return”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Our 3-day Labor Day stay at Lake Bluff was a very enjoyable and provided a relaxing weekend. The staff was very curteous, room was clean with profecient kitchen utensils, and fabulous lake view. The grounds were well maintained with numerous shady trees to rest and enjoy the view. Downtown South Haven is minutes away where sandy beaches were very accessible. We were concerned with some very negative reviews of this property but soon confirmed them unfounded. When departing there were other guests making plans to return in the future. We plan to as well!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    55
    25
    27
    25
See reviews for
67
79
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grass Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

My wife and I had planned a 3 day "end of summer getaway" to western Michigan Aug 2013. We only live a few hours away, but we really wanted to be near Lake Michigan for this trip. We searched for the closest lodging near the lake itself and came across Lake Bluff Inn. We read several reviews (some very negative) that had us somewhat concerned about the motel. We decided to proceed with our plans to stay there anyway and we are glad that we did. The staff was very friendly throughout our entire stay. We were assigned room 15, which is in the middle row, facing the grounds & lake. Our room was very nice..clean..and had tile/carpeted floors, mini kitchen, sink, bathroom with walk-in-shower, and a flat-screen TV. We were comfortable and slept well during our stay. The complementary breakfast was delicious and had everything you could want, minus scrambled eggs and meat. Plenty of fruits, doughnuts, cereal, juice, coffee..etc to choose from. This hotel is only a couple of miles from downtown South Haven, so its very easy to bike, walk or drive to town. We enjoyed our stay so much that we are making plans to stay in one of their full-featured suites this fall, which overlook Lake Michigan. If you are considering Lake Bluff Inn, do not hesitate to book a stay. Its cozy, cute and affordable (and THE only hotel close to Lake Michigan).

Room Tip: If you do not book a higher-end suite/room facing the lake itself, try to book one of the standard r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martian273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy
Level Contributor
174 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

My husband and I have stayed here several times since 2006 and recently stayed for three days in late July. The service has definitely deteriorated but the prices have gone up, unfortunately. We noticed that there weren't nearly as many people as in past years in the summer months and I think one reason is that they charge too much money for the quality delivered. We had to go to the office twice to get coffee for the room that should have been part of the room cleaning routine and the office personnel did not seem to care one way or the other. There are better properties in the area for the same amount of money. Go elsewhere!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chacha7602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these South Haven hotels

Sherwood, Wisconsin
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

My family and I have been staying in Western Michigan at various places for years. We decided to try this one out. I think the place is relatively clean and offers some nice ammenities. However, I would suggest the owners consider a couple of things.

A) Invest in some towels that are even average.
B) This is the biggest one....it is pretty clear to me the service staff needs some customer service training. It always felt like we were inconveniencing them and when you have a place with this price tag it seems like they might have a top notch approach to customer service.
C) Upgrade/clean or fix the outdoor charcoal grills.
D) Kill that bright light over the fire pit. It is hard to relax by the fire with a high bright street lamp above you.
E) Upgrade the breakfast a bit. I am not saying you have to supply bacon and eggs made to order, but a little more into the breakfast would make such a difference.

Now those are the negatives. The positives are that the place is newer and cleaner than many places. The kids loved the game room and pool. The hot tub was a little dissappointing, but at least there is one. Fire pit would be awesome without that light. Grounds are kept up well, location, location, location is great.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 425ChrisR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

It isn't so much that our friend lost a valuable item it was more that the staff didn't go above & beyond to locate it or offer empathy about the situation which lead us to believe the items wasn't as much lost as possibly stolen. Left us wondering and feeling mistrustful that I CAN NOT recommend this location.
WIFI not very strong so I suggest leaving electronics at home and enjoy the spectacular view nestled in a wooded area along the lake. Rooms are clean although outdated but with all the standard conveniences.
Continental breakfast equal to chain hotels and an added convenience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dudleytravelors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Our family recently held a family reunion at Lake Bluff. The facilities including the pool, breakfast, conference room, view were very good. The staff and service were excellent. The rooms are just average but fine for the price. We rented a regular suite (two bedrooms, kitchen, dining/living room which was perfect for use as a hospitality suite for family to gather. My only complaint is that the refrigerator was unplugged when we checked in and it took approximately 12 hours to get really cold. Knowing the room was booked, they should have had it turned on for us. Small problem. Otherwise, we were all very pleased with our stay. Thanks Lake Bluff.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Valerie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

This is a beautiful property and there is so much area to relax and walk around (outside) while getting the lake view. This was our second time there and we enjoyed it and even spent more time in the hotel to enjoy the scenery/view.

The room is not so great though: (looks like its a constant complaint with visitors). The bed was not comfortable cause the mattress sagged in the middle. The room was not as clean as I would like it. But you spend minimum time in the room, so its not a deal-breaker. Stay here for the property and the lake view.

Room Tip: even if you take the non-lake view and a single queens bed, its worth it cause you dont spend any ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yk2115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Haven
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
2.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn South Haven
Hampton Inn South Haven
#2 of 11 in South Haven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
3.0 mi away
Comfort Suites South Haven
Comfort Suites South Haven
#8 of 11 in South Haven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
23.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Bluff Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Bluff Inn and Suites

Property: Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Address: 76648 11th Ave, South Haven, MI 49090-1651
Region: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lake Bluff Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Lake Bluff Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Bluff Hotel South Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing