We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls Get-a-way @ Lake BLuff Inn & Suites”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Olivet, Michigan, United States
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Girls Get-a-way @ Lake BLuff Inn & Suites”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We will never stay another place in South Haven except Lake Bluff Inn & Suites. The family owned resort is awesome. Clean rooms, great staff, awesome complementary breakfast includes fresh fruit, rolls, bagels, mini sandwiches, juices, coffee, a great lite way to stary your day. The pool area was so clean and kept well, and the seperate kiddy pool is fantastic for the kids. The grounds are beautiful and they can accomadate any kind of room you want or need, fireplaces, kitchenettes, jacuzzi. O so very relaxing and enjoyable. U must go and see for your self, wether its a romantic get a-way, girls weekend or fun fun for the whole family, Lake Bluff Inn & Suites is five star in our book !!

Room Tip: Any room would be great, just depends on what size you need. we were in the 30's. very cozy, lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    56
    25
    29
    26
See reviews for
70
81
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mason, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stumbled across Lake Bluff Inn on the internet and thought the price was right and the pictures on their website were appealing. Took our chances and sooooo glad we did. It is a little piece of heaven nestled on a bluff overlooking Lake Michigan. Lots of beautiful trees to give you that outdoorsy feeling as well. Very family friendly and super nice staff. Sunsets were gorgeous. South Haven is only a hop, skip, and jump away too. If you're expecting the Ritz, this is NOT your place. It is all about the beauty of Michigan here and very peaceful, away from the hustle and bustle of traffic.

We will definitely be returning with our husbands and extended family members.

Room Tip: The suites are absolutely gorgeous and we will be returning next summer for a family vacation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Our 3-day Labor Day stay at Lake Bluff was a very enjoyable and provided a relaxing weekend. The staff was very curteous, room was clean with profecient kitchen utensils, and fabulous lake view. The grounds were well maintained with numerous shady trees to rest and enjoy the view. Downtown South Haven is minutes away where sandy beaches were very accessible. We were concerned with some very negative reviews of this property but soon confirmed them unfounded. When departing there were other guests making plans to return in the future. We plan to as well!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grass Lake, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My wife and I had planned a 3 day "end of summer getaway" to western Michigan Aug 2013. We only live a few hours away, but we really wanted to be near Lake Michigan for this trip. We searched for the closest lodging near the lake itself and came across Lake Bluff Inn. We read several reviews (some very negative) that had us somewhat concerned about the motel. We decided to proceed with our plans to stay there anyway and we are glad that we did. The staff was very friendly throughout our entire stay. We were assigned room 15, which is in the middle row, facing the grounds & lake. Our room was very nice..clean..and had tile/carpeted floors, mini kitchen, sink, bathroom with walk-in-shower, and a flat-screen TV. We were comfortable and slept well during our stay. The complementary breakfast was delicious and had everything you could want, minus scrambled eggs and meat. Plenty of fruits, doughnuts, cereal, juice, coffee..etc to choose from. This hotel is only a couple of miles from downtown South Haven, so its very easy to bike, walk or drive to town. We enjoyed our stay so much that we are making plans to stay in one of their full-featured suites this fall, which overlook Lake Michigan. If you are considering Lake Bluff Inn, do not hesitate to book a stay. Its cozy, cute and affordable (and THE only hotel close to Lake Michigan).

Room Tip: If you do not book a higher-end suite/room facing the lake itself, try to book one of the standard r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martian273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My husband and I have stayed here several times since 2006 and recently stayed for three days in late July. The service has definitely deteriorated but the prices have gone up, unfortunately. We noticed that there weren't nearly as many people as in past years in the summer months and I think one reason is that they charge too much money for the quality delivered. We had to go to the office twice to get coffee for the room that should have been part of the room cleaning routine and the office personnel did not seem to care one way or the other. There are better properties in the area for the same amount of money. Go elsewhere!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chacha7602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these South Haven hotels

Sherwood, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My family and I have been staying in Western Michigan at various places for years. We decided to try this one out. I think the place is relatively clean and offers some nice ammenities. However, I would suggest the owners consider a couple of things.

A) Invest in some towels that are even average.
B) This is the biggest one....it is pretty clear to me the service staff needs some customer service training. It always felt like we were inconveniencing them and when you have a place with this price tag it seems like they might have a top notch approach to customer service.
C) Upgrade/clean or fix the outdoor charcoal grills.
D) Kill that bright light over the fire pit. It is hard to relax by the fire with a high bright street lamp above you.
E) Upgrade the breakfast a bit. I am not saying you have to supply bacon and eggs made to order, but a little more into the breakfast would make such a difference.

Now those are the negatives. The positives are that the place is newer and cleaner than many places. The kids loved the game room and pool. The hot tub was a little dissappointing, but at least there is one. Fire pit would be awesome without that light. Grounds are kept up well, location, location, location is great.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 425ChrisR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2013

It isn't so much that our friend lost a valuable item it was more that the staff didn't go above & beyond to locate it or offer empathy about the situation which lead us to believe the items wasn't as much lost as possibly stolen. Left us wondering and feeling mistrustful that I CAN NOT recommend this location.
WIFI not very strong so I suggest leaving electronics at home and enjoy the spectacular view nestled in a wooded area along the lake. Rooms are clean although outdated but with all the standard conveniences.
Continental breakfast equal to chain hotels and an added convenience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dudleytravelors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Haven
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
2.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven
3.0 mi away
Comfort Suites South Haven
Comfort Suites South Haven
#8 of 11 in South Haven
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn South Haven
Hampton Inn South Haven
#2 of 11 in South Haven
342 reviews
20.5 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
197 reviews
23.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Bluff Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Bluff Inn and Suites

Property: Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Address: 76648 11th Ave, South Haven, MI 49090-1651
Region: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lake Bluff Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lake Bluff Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Bluff Hotel South Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing