We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly relaxing!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Haven
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carriage House at the Harbor
Ranked #4 of 16 South Haven B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2011

My husband and I have never stayed in a Bed & Breakfast before, but after this stay, I am not sure our experience could be topped! The room was beautiful, clean, comfortable, and the view was amazing! David and Suzanne are so knowledgeable about the area it is like having your own built in tour guide! This is a MUST stay for anyone wanting that perfect, romantic get-away. The gormet breakfast and smooth coffee starts your day in their breath-taking dining room overlooking the harbor. Then get ready to wind your day up with home-made cookies that hit the spot. The extra touches, amenities and hospitality makes this the best stay in town. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: be sure to ask for a room with a balcony! It is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HartzJodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2011

After years of trying my wife got me to a B & B; it was a grand experience. David and Suzanne are gracious host and hostess. The breakfast are out of this world. South Haven is one of our favorite places and now we have another reason to vacation here.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elder73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

This is still a favorite of ours to getaway for a few days. The inn is very cozy, comfortable and clean. The location couldn't be any better being right across from the beach and a five minute walk into town. The owners are very accomodating and treat us just like family coming for a visit. The morning breakfast is delicious. My only complaint is they don't share the recipes! :)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJR2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stayed at the Carriage House this week for 2 nights. It was our first B&B experience and we can't wait to go back. Our hosts, Dave and Suzanne, were marvelous. They gave us wonderful tips on restaurants, activities, etc. The rooms are immaculate and very charming.
There is exceptional attention to every detail, from the beautiful decor to the delicious breakfasts. The location is ideal and the view from our balcony was phenomenal. Oh, we would be remiss if we didn't mention Khaki...what a beautiful, gentle dog! Our experience was a 5-star plus!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 2 evenings this last weekend. Truly a first rate experience.
Lovely third floor room with a balcony and view of the harbor. Terrific breakfasts both mornings. Great suggestions as to where to go and what to see from David and his wife.
I truly believe this should be the number one (and not number 2) rated b and b in South Haven.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AaronFWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

What a great home away from home,and a perfect destination for those in the midwest An easy drive gets you to the clear waters and beautiful sandy beaches of South haven. The Inn sets right on the harbour [think nantuket] with all the sights and sounds of a peacefull but vibrant port of call! 150 yards puts you on the beach for fantastic sunsets! A park is next door as well, I really dont know how the location could get any better! You wont even need your car as you can walk to just about anything you need /want! The rooms are super clean and each one very interesting in the furnishings. I cant imaginewhat it takes to make and keep up a place like Carriage House to such a high standard, my hat is off to Dave and Suzanne and staff for there labor of love...it shows!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JEFFBOB54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Since there aren't many(if any) nice hotels in the South Haven area and my wife is super picky I took a leap of faith and booked a night at the Carriage House as an alternative and both came away very impressed. The place was as nice as advertised on their website - rooms were clean & comfortable, no mildew smells, great view of waterway from balcony, short walk to town/beach. Dave the owner was very friendly and helpful.

BTW - the breakfast was fantastic!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RossAgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Haven hotels
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
2 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#4 of 11 in South Haven
199 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn South Haven
Hampton Inn South Haven
#2 of 11 in South Haven
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Last Resort B & B Inn
The Last Resort B & B Inn
#6 of 16 in South Haven
242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn at the Park Bed & Breakfast
7.6 mi away
Seymour House
Seymour House
#3 of 16 in South Haven
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage House at the Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House at the Harbor

Address: 118 Woodman St, South Haven, MI 49090-1142
Region: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in South Haven
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful harbor-side mansion was the first, and only, Bed and Breakfast in Michigan to receive the coveted AAA Four Diamond Award. It boasts 12 uniquely inviting guest rooms, each elegantly appointed with a private bath, comfy robes, and first class amenities. Many have cozy fireplaces, whirlpools, and private porches overlooking the harbor. Breakfast is a not to be forgotten experience at the Carriage House Harbor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carriage House At The Harbor Hotel South Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing