We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Getaway!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Haven
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carriage House at the Harbor
Ranked #4 of 16 South Haven B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Niles, MI
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Weekend Getaway!”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Just a quick getaway weekend for our anniversary. The Carriage House was a really nice treat. We so enjoyed our stay at this Bed and Breakfast. The staff were very welcoming. We hope to visit again soon.

Room Tip: We chose the Dorsey. It was a rather small room. But, I must say, the room was very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitgentry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    27
    11
    8
    1
See reviews for
21
216
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
623 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 410 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

This place sits on the river and is a short three minute walk to the beach and twelve to fifteen minute walk and five minute drive into town. Our room had a nice balcony with a harbor view. The be d was comforts ble and bathroom small but serviceable with a jacuzzi tub big enough for one. The room had free wifi and a good tv that we turned on once!
One negative is you could hear the creaking from the room above every time they moved. This comes with an old house but you should know it can wake you or keep you up. Breakfast is served only at nine so if you want it show up or else. Breakfast was good but not great. Folks were friendly and quickly fixed things that needed fixed.
Good place to stay in South Haven and we would go back again.
ZB

Room Tip: No swimming pool or fitness center but software problem prohibits changing rating! Pick room up hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zabriskibound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2012

I took my girlfriend to South Haven to propose, we stayed at the Carriage House and they couldn't have been more accommodating. We stayed in the White Chapel room which was absolutely beautiful and she couldn't have been happier. The breakfast was very good (which is saying a lot from me because I don't really like breakfast). The staff was amazing and very friendly, they really made us feel at home. I was hoping for a good experience so we could return to the same place for anniveraries and they exceeded expectations. We will definately be back! Worth every penny.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony overlooking the harbor. Great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We've stayed in a number of B&Bs and this one is right at the top. Stayed here personally a couple years ago and recently returned for a business meeting held on-site along with the rooms overnight. Everything was top notch - friendliness of the staff, food, beautiful and clean accommodations, and bending over backwards to assure everything was just right for the business meeting arrangements. The property is awesome, with great views of the harbor and just a half block from the beach.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacationer0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, IN
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We were there to relax, and we did. Very comfortable room. Several comfy places to sit in the common areas. Top-rate breakfast fare. The hostess offered tourism info, and we exchanged titles of good books we'd read. Definitely worth another visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BookLadyPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluffton, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We love our stay at the Carriage House! That is why we return every year and hope to for many more to come. The house is unbelieveable and there are so many things to do.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annistyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandville, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2012

An amazing surprise get-a-way weekend! Perfect southern michigna hospitality and the breakfast was wonderful! Looking forward to our next stay! Our room hosted beautiful views of the harbor, a wonderful jucuzzi bath, a king size poster bed! This early spring surprise was PERFECT!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikandKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Haven
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn South Haven
Hampton Inn South Haven
#2 of 11 in South Haven
352 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
1.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites South Haven
Comfort Suites South Haven
#9 of 11 in South Haven
147 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#7 of 11 in South Haven
191 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage House at the Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House at the Harbor

Property: Carriage House at the Harbor
Address: 118 Woodman St, South Haven, MI 49090-1142
Region: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in South Haven
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful harbor-side mansion was the first, and only, Bed and Breakfast in Michigan to receive the coveted AAA Four Diamond Award. It boasts 12 uniquely inviting guest rooms, each elegantly appointed with a private bath, comfy robes, and first class amenities. Many have cozy fireplaces, whirlpools, and private porches overlooking the harbor. Breakfast is a not to be forgotten experience at the Carriage House Harbor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carriage House At The Harbor Hotel South Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing