We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite seasonal getaway for over 15 years”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Haven
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carriage House at the Harbor
Ranked #4 of 16 South Haven B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2008

My wife and I stay at this beautiful B&B approximately 3 times a year. It rests on a hill next to, and overlooking the South Haven Harbor. It is a short walk (1 block) to a really nice beach.
You can literally walk from the Inn to town with all their interesting shops and great restaurants. Or walk along the beach, out on the piers. There is plenty to do, or . . . more so (for me) a wonderful place to relax and just "be". The breakfasts at the Inn are fantastic. It puts other B&B's to shame. Likewise the evening appetizers would temp one to skip any plans for going out to dinner (although we always look forward to walking to one of the nice restaurants in town). There has only been improvement to the quality and service over the years we have been staying there. The husband and wife owners are entirely involved with every aspect of the operation and are genuine and nice people. The Inn is clean, quaint, beautiful and very interesting.
A little pricey maybe, but worth it.
I would advise anyone to book a stay way in advance because even though it feels like 'the best kept secrect" while your there . . . the secret has gotten out somewhat and the reservations can be a year out.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mishpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2008

We had never stayed in South Haven before, and decided to try it as a venue for a family reunion. We couldn't have been more pleased with the house, the rooms, the staff, the food, and the overall ambiance. David and Suzanne did an excellent job of making us feel at home; so much so that we have already booked for next year!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kawe55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2008

My 4 sisters and I took my mother to the Carriage House Inn for a family reunion. I can't say enough about the hosts/owners, Dave and Suzanne. They were very personable, friendly, and accomodating. The house itself is perfect for get togethers and reunions. They have lots of gathering rooms, decks and a very nice fire pit with enough chairs to accomodate a large group. The food is truly gourmet with a breakfast daily and appetizers at 5. They serve scones each morning with breakfast that are spectacular! The rooms are all very comfortable and clean, and there are a variety of types of rooms so you can appease a group of strong willed picky women like us! The house is historic, and just beautiful with great views of the harbor. It is Victorian, and decorated in line with this period, so lots of lace and flowers. It is tastefully done, and rooms are very comfortable. I shared a room with my sister on the first floor that had it's own entrance, private deck, full kitchen and sitting room. I would definately go again, and would recommend it to anyone. It was a perfect week!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tacshep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2008

We were very pleased with our stay at this beautiful 1890's home. It is immaculate and we had a private deck with a view of the harbor, whirlpool/shower, and the most gracious of hosts. The highest compliment - we already booked another stay for Labor Day.

Stayed: July 2008
Thank Mariann-Bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2008

We had never stayed at a bed and breakfast before, and now we don't know how any other will ever compare! The hospitality of the owners and staff was first class. The daily breakfast and late afternoon appetizers were delicious! We stayed in the room called "The White Chapel" which had it's own balcony overlooking the harbor, a king-sized four post bed, and a large whirlpool tub. The entire experience was delightful and relaxing and we would recommend it to all of our family, friends, and anyone out there looking for a wonderful B&B getaway.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UofILgrads522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2008

The Carriage House was booked for a weekend for a family anniversary party. David and Suzanne, the owners, pampered us the whole weekend with fresh coffee, cookies, cold drinks and popcorn to snack on. The meals were excellent and beautifully presented. Each room is decorated in Victorian style and very cozy. Even on the third floor, the temperature remained comfortable. It really felt like staying in someone's home, only more relaxing! We enjoyed breakfasts in the sunroom and coffee on the decks outside both the breakfast room and our own room on the third floor. The view of the harbor is breathtaking! There were plenty of seats for visiting in the common rooms and lots of games and movies to choose from, if anyone wanted to choose. David and Suzanne are wonderful hosts and I would recommend the Carriage House at the Harbor to anyone!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank southhavenfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2008

I just got back from a 4 day stay at Carriage House at the Harbor in South Haven, Michigan. It is a beautiful Victorian Bed & Breakfast overlooking the harbor.
Our room was called The Brett. A quaint room with a deck to sit and enjoy a drink and watch the boating activity. Complete with morning coffee by 7:30am and breakfast served at 9am. Every day a different variety of breakfast food. One in particular that I loved was Creme Brule French Toast. It was excellent.
Then Hors'derves served every evening at 5pm.
Very pleasant atmosphere.
We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SouthBendBeachgirl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Haven hotels
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
2.0 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#4 of 11 in South Haven
199 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn South Haven
Hampton Inn South Haven
#2 of 11 in South Haven
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites South Haven
Comfort Suites South Haven
#9 of 11 in South Haven
151 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Last Resort B & B Inn
The Last Resort B & B Inn
#6 of 16 in South Haven
242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn at the Park Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage House at the Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House at the Harbor

Address: 118 Woodman St, South Haven, MI 49090-1142
Region: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in South Haven
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful harbor-side mansion was the first, and only, Bed and Breakfast in Michigan to receive the coveted AAA Four Diamond Award. It boasts 12 uniquely inviting guest rooms, each elegantly appointed with a private bath, comfy robes, and first class amenities. Many have cozy fireplaces, whirlpools, and private porches overlooking the harbor. Breakfast is a not to be forgotten experience at the Carriage House Harbor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carriage House At The Harbor Hotel South Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing