We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit in Winter”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Haven
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carriage House at the Harbor
Ranked #4 of 16 South Haven B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Friends gave us a gift certificate to the Carriage House a few years ago, and because of busy schedules we didn't end up using it until January. Ever since, I've wanted to do it again and we went in December for our anniversary. The inn overlooks the harbor and our room had a little balcony which was not too useable in December, but still nice to have. We stayed in the White Chapel this time and the Barouche the time before. Both charming, but we liked the Barouche a little better--off away from everyone else and so cozy! Breakfast was good, but nothing outstanding and the menu had not changed in three years. Consider a winter stay. It has a charm of its own and about half the price of high season. I would recommend the Carriage House over Yelton Manor down the road based on personal experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank picnictree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013

An Anniversary Gift from out children brought my husband and I to the Carriage House on December 28.The place is beautiful. Each room is named after a carriage. We stayed in The Brett Room. Our room overlooked the harbor from the 3rd floor.
The inn room Jacuzzi was awesome. The gas fireplace made it seem so cozy. Towels were plush and the room immaculate. It even had a small lit Christmas tree next to the bed. The 4 poster bed was comfortable too.
Amy was our host and made us feel very welcome. Breakfast is served at 9 am in a room that also overlooks the harbor. We saw ducks swimming between the ice flows. Coffee was available at 7:30 am and was piping hot and delicious. Our breakfast of cream brulee' French toast with hot syrup, fresh fruit, lemon scone, fried potatoes,sausage and juice was perfect.
We would recommend a visit here.

Room Tip: Off season rates a plus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ponyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My wife and I visited South Haven for a short weekend getaway from Chicago. We found the Carriage House to be very nicely appointed and our room was spacious with a nice balcony that had a view of the harbor. The breakfast was good, but inflexible in terms of when it is served, be there on time or miss it. The inn is conveniently located and is a short walk to many of the shops and restaurants in town as well as the lake. When we return to South Haven we will very likely stay at the Carriage House again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KPuglisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Our daughter gave us a gift card for a 1 night stay at the Carriage House. It is a wonderful B & B with a wonderful staff. Amy took great care of us (even though we were the only ones there for the night). Since we were the only ones there we really had our pick of rooms. The view from our room was beautiful. You are close to the beach and town. We went to the show in town and Amy even let us use the "popcorn" bucket for the .50 popcorn special. The room was spacious and very comfortable. We were a little warm at night but we are used to having it cold in our house. The bed was comfortable. Our breakfast was outstanding with eggs Florentine and "mashed potatoes". Great place for a couples getaway.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The Carriage House was a wonderful bed and breakfast with cozy amenities and a wonderful breakfast. Convenient walk or bike ride to various beaches and restaurants. Relaxing to sit on front patio and gaze at the harbor. Some b and b's "require" social interaction that may or may not be welcome. This one was just a friendly place that did not require you to engage with other guests or owners if you did not wish to do so. This would be a great place for a girls getaway or as a couple. No kids allowed!! ;)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carmelgyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 4-night stay here for our wedding anniversary. It was our first time in South Haven and our first time at a B&B and we had a wonderful experience here.

We stayed in the Victoria room, and I'd highly recommend it. The private entrance was SO convenient--just steps from the parking lot--easy to lug your bags and beach equipment in and out without having a bunch of stairs. It also has its own refrigerator, which was nice, though the inn does have one for all guests also to share. The one complaint about the room is that the couch is not very comfortable, but otherwise the bed was awesome and we LOVED the view of the harbor.

You are about a 15 min. walk into downtown. We ended up driving over a lot just because it can get old making the trek everyday and we had some rain on our trip, but it is a doable walk. More importantly, you are a block from the beach, which was the point of our trip here.

The breakfasts here are just amazing. The staff is so nice and accommodating and Khaki is a sweetheart as well :) I never thought I was much of a B&B person, but staying here has made me re-think that. If we return to S.Haven (and we want to), we will definitely be back at the Carriage House.

Room Tip: The Victoria is a great choice for convenient private entrance and kitchenette. Make sure you do not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeeJessTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Such a lovely bed and breakfast in a wonderful location. This was my first visit to Michigan... and it lived up to what I expected in this cute lakeside town in what seems like the Heart of America. The décor and interior of this Harborside B&B was so cute, historical, romantic and charming. I found myself appreciating and capturing the detail with photographs. The owners (their names have escaped me) and staff were so kind and hospitable. During breakfast one of the owners gladly gave us the history of the B&B and South Haven..... which added to the charm of our stay. The location was perfect. Short walk to the beach. Short walk over the bridge to the restaurants and the Saturday Farmers Market. The grounds were beautiful.....with cute herb gardens and flowers. The breakfast was divine, delicious and picture worthy. The owners have information on hand to local vineyards and things to do. All you have to do is simply show up and relax.
I would highly recommend a romantic weekend or a trip with Mom to Carriage House, South Haven. It's a wonderful place to stay in a very cute little town.
Side note: The Mexican Restaurant in town is very good :)

Room Tip: Troika was lovely. Comfortable bed, nice size and beautiful view from the porch overlooking the har...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelluvbug18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Haven
22.5 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
226 reviews
2 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#4 of 11 in South Haven
199 reviews
0 mi away
The Last Resort B & B Inn
The Last Resort B & B Inn
#6 of 16 in South Haven
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn
0.2 mi away
Inn at the Park Bed & Breakfast
15.6 mi away
Kingsley House Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage House at the Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House at the Harbor

Address: 118 Woodman St, South Haven, MI 49090-1142
Region: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in South Haven
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful harbor-side mansion was the first, and only, Bed and Breakfast in Michigan to receive the coveted AAA Four Diamond Award. It boasts 12 uniquely inviting guest rooms, each elegantly appointed with a private bath, comfy robes, and first class amenities. Many have cozy fireplaces, whirlpools, and private porches overlooking the harbor. Breakfast is a not to be forgotten experience at the Carriage House Harbor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carriage House At The Harbor Hotel South Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing