We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice stay with a few suggestions for improvement”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Haven
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carriage House at the Harbor
Ranked #3 of 16 South Haven B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amherst, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very nice stay with a few suggestions for improvement”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I recently stayed two nights at the Carriage House. The property was quite lovely and well maintained with a nice view of the harbor. Our room was immaculate, and the king sized bed was quite comfortable. I loved that the towels were thick and plush. Breakfasts were plentiful. Overall, it was a nice stay, and I would consider coming back.

We are experienced Bed and Breakfast travelers, so I know that this type of lodging can come with its quirks. Just a few things that we noticed that would be nice additions, especially at rates in the high $200's to low $300's per night. First, their wifi never worked in our room. The innkeeper told us she knew nothing of it and to not ask her for help. Second, the entire inn shares one iron and ironing board. I had to return it quickly because the staff needed it for the day. Third, I have some dietary allergies and cannot eat eggs. This appeared to baffle the inn's staff, as it required 6 emails and clarification as to what I could or could not eat. I always responded that I was happy with toast and fruit, and they did, ultimately, accommodate me. However, I've never encountered these issues at other b and b lodgings and didn't feel that any were extraordinary requests. I hope that the Carriage House will consider these improvements that can make a difference in a guest's stay.

Room Tip: Splurge on the private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bmaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    27
    10
    7
    1
See reviews for
21
202
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

This Bed n Breakfast was very nice and comfortable. Innkeeper was super and made us feel at home. Our room had a balcony which overlooked the harbor marina. Very relaxing watching the boats coming and going from the marina. We would definitely go back to this B&B.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randall S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We love going to the Carriage House. The beds are perfect, the staff is wonderful, and we always make new friends when we want to mingle with the other guests. The views of the harbor and the 60 second walk to the beach are constant reminders that all is well in our world.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 44Magnum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

This was one of the nicest B&B's I've stayed at. We were met by Amy the Innkeeper and our room was ready at check in time. She was very helpful telling us about South Haven's points of interest and made us feel at home. We had a room with a porch that overlooked the harbor, this was AMAZING! I read and watched the boats for hours. The inn was clean and the bed was comfortable. The location to the lake and town are perfect, you can walk to everything. Breakfast was great and the staff was friendly and efficient. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellycunningham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

This was our first B&B experience and we really enjoyed it. The innkeeper was nice and promptly showed us room at check in and was always available if we had questions. The back of the inn overlooks the harbor and the view is stunning. We played cards and sipped wine on the back patios while watching the boats come and go our first evening and loved it. The beach is literally a short walk across the street. There is also a nice park adjacent to the inn and a walk into downtown is 10 minutes or so. Very convenient. We booked The Brewster, which was classically decorated and pretty spacious. Everything was super clean and well put together. It also had a jacuzzi tub which we really enjoyed after a long day at the beach. A drawback of this room is it's location in the house. It's the first room on the first floor and pretty close to the front door and check in. If we were to do it over again we would upgrade to a higher floor with a balcony. Live and learn. Coffee in the morning starts at 730am and you can bring it back to your room. The coffee was excellent. Breakfast was even better. There are two two-seat tables available if you want to enjoy your breakfast without the company of others. If the inn is full and those tables are taken, you may have to join others ( so get there about 10 minutes early and enjoy the view and coffee). The breakfast itself was fantastic, everything you would imagine an upscale B&B to be. Parking at the inn was available and non-eventful. The WiFi was a bit spotty but serviceable. There is a fridge to store your beverages in and bottles of water are provided as well as wine glasses. The house is beautiful, lots of history to take in if you take the time to explore. We enjoyed it and would return.

Room Tip: Pay extra and get a room on the higher floors with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

This was my our first B&B experience ever and wow! What an introduction! We stayed in the Barouche room, which was beautifully decorated. The DVD library, board games, books, magazines, and afternoon cookies & popcorn were a huge bonus. The staff were friendly and generous and ready to help with any questions we had. The best part was the view-a breathtaking view of the harbor from our private balcony. Plus, we were directly across the street from Lake Michigan-it was a perfect location! I can't say enough about the breakfasts-very yummy! You won't be disappointed if you decide to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

The location and accomodations are excellent. BUT a 3:00 checkin means doors are locked until then with a note with directions to public restrooms. Likewise, breakfast is served AT 9:00 and not a minutecearlier. Breakfast was good but was totally plated- all at once. No choice for more, or, for that matter, less. This place is run for the convenience of management and not for that of the guests. Actually I believe in rules and efficient choices but for me this was over the top and not a comfy reasonably laid back vacation feeling. I will not stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FranB24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Haven hotels
2.0 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#5 of 11 in South Haven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn South Haven
Hampton Inn South Haven
#2 of 11 in South Haven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven
0.0 mi away
The Last Resort B & B Inn
The Last Resort B & B Inn
#7 of 16 in South Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn at the Park Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage House at the Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House at the Harbor

Property: Carriage House at the Harbor
Address: 118 Woodman St, South Haven, MI 49090-1142
Region: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in South Haven
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful harbor-side mansion was the first, and only, Bed and Breakfast in Michigan to receive the coveted AAA Four Diamond Award. It boasts 12 uniquely inviting guest rooms, each elegantly appointed with a private bath, comfy robes, and first class amenities. Many have cozy fireplaces, whirlpools, and private porches overlooking the harbor. Breakfast is a not to be forgotten experience at the Carriage House Harbor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carriage House At The Harbor Hotel South Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing