We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Winter Respite”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Haven
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carriage House at the Harbor
Ranked #3 of 16 South Haven B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
1 review
“Winter Respite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2009

The Carriage House was a wonderful spot to spend some quality time with friends. The owners, David and Suzanne ,couldn't be more hospitable and welcoming. Excellent breakfasts kept us going all day. Warm appetizers in the evening kicked off our dinner celebrations. Our host sprovided excellent suggestions for dining. Accomodations are first rate. You can't go wrong at the Carriage House.

  • Liked — Hospitality
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMac418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    27
    10
    7
    1
See reviews for
21
202
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Decatur,Michigan
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2009

It was such a delightful way to spend a very snowy weekend in January. I have been to this B&B before with girlfriends, but this was the first time with my husband for a romantic weekend. Suzanne and David and the staff are outstanding!! They make you feel so welcome! Our room the Victoria was so clean and cozy and inviting! We have already booked for next January!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DaisyJun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, PA`
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2009

My husband and I literally stumbled across The Carriage House while exploring coastal western Michigan. Suzanne and David, the owners/innkeepers, were so pleasant and accommodating and the inn was so gorgeous that we checked out of our other inn and decided to stay two nights here. Our third floor room, The Troika room, was lovely and cozy with a beautiful bed, gas fireplace, and view of the South Haven harbor. Breakfast was delicious and gourmet, and included scones and Devonshire cream. Since we were there for New Year's Eve, Suzanne and David prepared wonderful appetizers and a candlelit dinner for their guests. Overall, our visit was truly magical and we give The Carriage House our highest recommendation!

  • Liked — Lovely inn and wonderful owners
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank igottago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwood,IN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2008

Our October stay at the Carriage House was as great as our May stay, and happy to say that we'll be able to include a winter stay now that retirement has arrived. I think we're on our third set of owners, and am happy to state that the quality of accommodations, food, and atmosphere have remained constatnt; tremendous.

We disco vered years ago that we could get to a beach/Ocean atmosphere from Indianapolis by driving 4 hours to South Haven instead of 14 to the Myrtle Beach area, and have been hooked ever since. We noticed the Carriage House on our first trip and booked a night for our next trip; we've been hooked ever since.

Things to expect from the Carriage House: great rooms (my wife could tell you all the different names and the ones she likes best,, but I like them all without knowing the names), great location as you can walk across the street to the beach or look out the back to see the boats in the harbor, great restaurants in the area (hard to pass up Clementines), a breakfast that you're not going to have at home, and, of course, very friendly service.

Looking forward to being able to having more two night stays now that we're enjoying the retirement life.

  • Liked — Room
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank retiredbob_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2008

I just wanted to express how wonderful the Carriage House in is.
Twenty-five of my friends and I stayed last weekend and what a great experience. The Inn is absolutely beautiful. Each room is decorated in a beautiful victorian style. The cleanliness and beauty remind one of an expensive European vacation. The owners immediately make you feel at home and from the very moment you enter you are greeted with a warm welcome. The rooms are spotless and the view of the harbor is breath taking.
Most rooms have their own private balcony with rocking chairs which we took advantage of while drinking our morning coffee. The breakfast is scrumptous and presentation out of this world. In the evening they served us yummy hors-d'oeuvres which we all enjoyed. We were able to sit out on the patio and enjoy a campfire that was all set up for us. The owners even had researched all the things we could take advantage of during our stay all within a short distance. The walk to town is about 10 minutes and the shops are quiant. We have stayed at a number of B&B's, but this one is by far the best. This is our third visit here and plan on visiting in January and also next year for our annual bed and breakfast girl's weekend.

Sincerely,

Betty Gillam

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank MichiganBettyboop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2008

25 of us girls rented the whole house together, it was so relaxing and fun. the food was great..the owners were fantastic,very hospitable. see you next year!

  • Liked — The rooms were great,the owners were fabulous,great location, being with girlfriends
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kimmyk7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2008

We totally enjoyed mid-week stay at Carriage House. Inn is beautifully maintained, and very comfortable. Public access areas well stocked with books, magazines, and videos; with inviting seating areas indoors and out. Our second floor corner room offered great views of park and harbor from private balcony. Very comfortable bed, with high quality linens, including robes.
Upon arrival, owners David & Suzanne provided very gracious welcome, tour of common areas, and list of amenities including shared refrigerator, complimentary beverages, and snacks. They offered helpful suggestions on nearby restaurants, orchards, wineries; and sunset vantage points. Hot breakfast at 9:00 included sausage, home fries, french toast souffle, scone and fresh fruit; all served by Dave. There was self serve coffee and juice available for early risers.
Owners are friendly people who enjoy what they are doing; easy conversation, but not intrusuve. A wonderful experience, and very highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank travelbeckons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Haven hotels
2.0 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#6 of 11 in South Haven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn South Haven
Hampton Inn South Haven
#2 of 11 in South Haven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven
0.0 mi away
The Last Resort B & B Inn
The Last Resort B & B Inn
#7 of 16 in South Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn at the Park Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage House at the Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House at the Harbor

Property: Carriage House at the Harbor
Address: 118 Woodman St, South Haven, MI 49090-1142
Region: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in South Haven
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful harbor-side mansion was the first, and only, Bed and Breakfast in Michigan to receive the coveted AAA Four Diamond Award. It boasts 12 uniquely inviting guest rooms, each elegantly appointed with a private bath, comfy robes, and first class amenities. Many have cozy fireplaces, whirlpools, and private porches overlooking the harbor. Breakfast is a not to be forgotten experience at the Carriage House Harbor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carriage House At The Harbor Hotel South Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing