We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great romantic and relaxing getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Haven
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carriage House at the Harbor
Ranked #5 of 16 South Haven B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2009

This Inn is like being a guest in a beautiful victorian home as the owners make you feel so welcome. Each room is different with its own unique style - we have stayed in 4 of the rooms and liked each of them. The location is great because you are just steps from the beach of Lake Michigan on one side and the beautiful harbor on the other. You can walk to town and there is a beautiful park next door. A hot gourmet breakfast and hot appetizers in the evening are included. Also, popcorn and homemade cookies are left out for your enjoyment. If you want to nestle in, they have a large library of movies to choose from to watch in your room. We love the ambience and the view of the harbor. It is a great place to stay summer or winter.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mimi065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
There are newer reviews for Carriage House at the Harbor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2009

We needed a night to relax and we got it at the Carriage House. The hosts put us at ease, offered excellent snacks and served up a delicious breakfast. The view from the balcony of the harbor was fantastic. The room was clean and big. The walk on the beach nearby was relaxing and the town of South Haven is a gem. If you need a break from the hectic life or a spot to rekindle the fire this is the place. The hosts will even tell you where to get a good bottle of wine.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PortHuronMIExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2009

We would love to keep this wonderful gem to ourselves so we could always get a reservation, but I guess it's only fair to share!!! Our travel expreiences from now on will always be compared to our stay here, and I am afraid will never live up to.....
We stayed here while making a trip up the Michigan coast. It was our favorite night of the trip and regret that we only had one night here! The setting is perfect- overlooking the harbour and only a short 2 block walk to the lake beach area. The setting of this home is exquisite! The rooms are comfy and well thought out with all we needed during our stay. We could sit on the balcony from our room and enjoy the harbour view. We took a walk upon our arrival and then sat enjoying the extensive gardens. David called us in for yummy light pre-dinner snacks, then helped us decide where to go for dinner. The downtown area with shops and restaurants is an easy walk. Breakfast was simply amazing-unique and so delicious! There is a large and current DVD collection for in-room watching and many cozy sitting areas for quiet reading. David was very knowledgeable about the area and things to do- he is what every bed and breakfast owner should strive to be! Can't wait for our next reason for a romantic getaway- it will be here!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeraldaSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2009

We stayed only for one day in the Carriage House. We really loved it and Suzanne and David are real nice people. Breakfast is very good and the rooms are very romantic and comfortable. We regred only staying there for one day.
Thomas en Henk-Jan from the Netherlands

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Musis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2009

My husband and I are newly weds and wanted a romantic weekend away from the hustle and bustle. It was our first trip to South Haven and I picked this place based on the reviews on this site. What a magnificent place! There were other couples, all friendly, all age ranges. The Innkeepers were wonderful people and helped to keep the massage I planned for my husband a secret. The masseuse came directy to our room (Barouche up on the third floor) and we had a jacuzzi we used every night. The room was clean and tasteful. The breakfasts and hors d'oevres were delicious - not just carrot sticks and some ranch, you could make a meal out of it. Though my husband preferred the fresh baked cookies every afternoon. The Inn was very close to the harbor, the beach, and the downtown areas. You could be as social as you wanted, or as reclusive as you wanted.

I could not say enough good things about this place. I liked it so much I Want to say bad things so no one else will go and we'll have availability whenever we want!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqs924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2009

We rented the entire Bed and Breakfast for the weekend and enjoyed a most incredible stay. We wanted Mom's 80th birthday to be special and it was! From the beautifully decorated rooms to the delicious hors d'oeuvres and breakfast, we couldn't have asked for more. David and Suzanne, along with the entire staff, were so accommodating. It was obvious that making this a wonderful weekend for all of us was their priority. We felt like we were at home, cozy and relaxed, without any of the work it takes to entertain a house full of guests. It was a
weekend we'll always remember!
I've been recommending the Carriage House to friends and family ever since my first stay there over 5 years ago. It continues to be a favorite get-away . . . a wonderful spot to relax and enjoy a lovely stay .

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank takeabreak70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2009

Just finished a great 3-night stay at the Carriage House. We chose CHH because it provides an outstanding property with great service, proximity to Lake Michigan WITH a harbor view, AND proximity to downtown South Haven. We did a lot of shopping around and believe this is the only B&B in South Haven that has all of these features.

Breakfasts were tasty and unique, with 4-5 items each day and served in a large room overlooking the harbor. (Their website has sample menus and is very representative of what you will get.) The evening Hors d’oeuvres, while not lavish, were a nice touch, and provided an opportunity to talk to other guests and get ideas for things to do and dinner spots. It's a short walk to Lake Michigan's endless beaches (if you like to walk the shore) and a short walk to SH's restaurant's and shops. Apparently, Saugatuck may have some better restaurants and more quaint shops, but SH was fine for us.

Clementine's and Tello's (more upscale) for dinner were great; Harborside Bistro for dinner was OK, reminded us of a restaurant at a Holiday Inn. Julia's has Intelligentia Coffee (the best coffee in Chicago) so that was a daily stop. We drove to the St. Julian Winery in Paw Paw and that was nice, but some other guests visited the winery in Fennville (much closer) and had a good time as well. We also visited the Saugatuck Brewing Co. in Douglas on Hwy. A2 (Blue Star); good beer, food and atmosphere; highly recommended for beer lovers. If you need some exercise, climb the stairs to the top of Mt. Baldhead in Saugatuck; your quads will burn!

Service at CHH was just right; very attentive and helpful, but never intrusive.

We also visited New Buffalo, St. Joe and Saugatuck (as mentioned above) and feel that South Haven is the place to go for small town, waterside atmosphere, direct access to Lake Michigan, and proximity to other towns and points of interest. South Haven is the place to go, and the Carriage House is the best spot in South Haven!!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joe_Drutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Haven
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn South Haven
Hampton Inn South Haven
#2 of 11 in South Haven
366 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites South Haven
Comfort Suites South Haven
#9 of 11 in South Haven
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven
2.0 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#7 of 11 in South Haven
193 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage House at the Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House at the Harbor

Address: 118 Woodman St, South Haven, MI 49090-1142
Region: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in South Haven
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful harbor-side mansion was the first, and only, Bed and Breakfast in Michigan to receive the coveted AAA Four Diamond Award. It boasts 12 uniquely inviting guest rooms, each elegantly appointed with a private bath, comfy robes, and first class amenities. Many have cozy fireplaces, whirlpools, and private porches overlooking the harbor. Breakfast is a not to be forgotten experience at the Carriage House Harbor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carriage House At The Harbor Hotel South Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing