We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back again”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Harbor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in South Haven
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Harbor Inn
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Back again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

Main building with harbor view is great. Room large ,carpet is fine , bed is wonderful. Changed rooms so saw two and a friend in another. All three had the same feelings. Modern TV with refeg and microwave. Staff very nice and helpful. Minor stains but very clean.

. Air and heat unit is in room but many type inns are the same everywhere . Price is so good. I feel like the room was free and paid for the location. Fantastic in everything. Second trip here and will come back again. This time of year is off season and the town is very sparse but most things are open, so great shopping and beach time.

Room Tip: If you can get 31 . Can see the harbor and small shopping area below. But all views in main are goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah S, Guest Relations Manager at Old Harbor Inn, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thank you! May is a great time to travel to South Haven and stay at Old Harbor Inn. Rates are lower than summer, and the weather is usually very nice. Harbor View rooms with private balconies are our most popular room type, with panoramic views. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    51
    32
    13
    12
See reviews for
36
84
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
downers grove illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed at the Old Harbor Inn 5/17-5/19 and had a wonderful time in South Haven. It's a lovely small town with all kinds of things to do. But we really enjoyed the Inn. Our suite (room 18) was great and very large. Even though the couch in the back of the suite was one of those big puffy things from the 80's it was extremely comfortable. I loved the harbor view from the bedroom. The kitchen had everything one would need, but I did bring our toaster which they did not provide. Since we love to have fresh air at night it was great to be able to open the windows and the door to the (not too small) balcony. Our only complaint, and we were ready for it because of the other reviews, was the riverboat music. Just don't forget earplugs! Many stores and restaurants are within walking distance and the beach is about a mile's walk away. We will go back hopefully next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lookingtorelax52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah S, Guest Relations Manager at Old Harbor Inn, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thank you! Old Harbor Inn is in the heart of all the action in South Haven. The Idler Riverboat is a quite popular open air restaurant/bar, open May-Sept. with piped music. Usually turning the air on takes care of most noise in the room, but we do like to fully inform our guests that they may hear some crowd noise or music, especially on summer weekends. South Haven has many beautiful beaches. The closest beach is an easy walk, less than ½ mile away. The room you stayed in is being completely renovated and refurnished spring 2014. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
88 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

We have stayed here a few times. Definitely needs to be upgraded. Old style tv's, noises room heater and tub jet control not working but the rooms are huge in a lovely location. The bed was large and firm and it was a romantic setting. Would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romanlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah S, Guest Relations Manager at Old Harbor Inn, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thank you for staying with us as a repeat guest! Since your stay, the Jacuzzi has been replaced. At the time we were renting the room at a discounted rate, to reflect the absence of a working Jacuzzi. We continually strive to upgrade and update our rooms, this room is on the list for a complete upgrade in spring 2014, as well as many of our rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back to a updated room in the same great downtown South Haven location on the waterfront!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

We loved our mini vacation in South Haven. Yes, Harbor Inn is a little out of date, but the staff wsa fantastic and we weren't in the room much anyways. It is close to the bar, but we couldn't hear any of the music from our room. Walking distance to everything!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah S, Guest Relations Manager at Old Harbor Inn, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thank you! Old Harbor Inn is a great location to stay when visiting South Haven! We continually strive to improve our rooms, with many rooms upgraded and updated in spring 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saugatuck, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

This hotel is in a perfect spot in South Haven. We choose a deluxe room with harbor view and it was truely amazing. The room was decorated very classy with high end furniture and accesories. The bed was a king size memory foam mattress with soft linnens. I had the best nights sleep of my life! The sofa was sink in compfortable while we enjoyed the fire place while watching the big screen tv which swiviled to view from the living area or the bedroom. The veiw from the windows was the harbor with all of the boats... nice breez and sunsets... Everything was in walking distance. We parked in the public lot down the block and walked everywhere we needed to go for the weekend. We will stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Char024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah S, Guest Relations Manager at Old Harbor Inn, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your room, the view and South Haven! We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

We have been going to Old Harbor Inn several times a year for more than 20 years. Our stay in mid- August 2012 was our last. The carpets were filthy, we had to call the desk to get trash removed ,sheets and blankets were left pulled out and wrinkled at the bottm of the bed but the spread was pulled up to cover them. I had a letter sent to me at the Inn.I asked at the desk if it had arrived__it could not be found. The next day the manager told me he put it under my door, since we did not get it the maid must have taken it. She was not working that day the manager couldn't question her. A month has passed and I have heard nothing from Mr. Marple. In light of this terrible service,filthy carpets, and incompetent and dis-interested management all future visits to So. Haven will be spent at the Comfort Suites.

Room Tip: Stay at a different motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these South Haven hotels

Bartlett
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed at the Old Harbor Inn in late August, 2012. Having read several of the reviews, I pretty much knew what to expect. It is an older, more rustic property. The carpeting needs to be replaced throughout. Our room was very big and had been recently renovated (except for the carpet). The beds were very comfortable and we had a nice big window looking out on the street below. Overall, we enjoyed our stay. The hotel is situated on the harbor close to lots of shops, restaurants and a great wine bar. The hotel was a little expensive, but there isn't much in town. The front desk person was nice, but very young and perhaps new at her job. I think we would probably stay there again. Our friends paid about $225 a night for a room with a balcony overlooking the harbor and they were disappointed because the balcony was extremely small - barely room for two chairs. Don't pay extra for the balconies. Also, beware of the noise factor on the weekends. The walls are thin.

Room Tip: There is a bar located on one end of the hotel. If you want a quieter room, stay at the other end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Visitor023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Haven
1.9 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#5 of 11 in South Haven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn South Haven
Hampton Inn South Haven
#2 of 11 in South Haven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven
1.6 mi away
Comfort Suites South Haven
Comfort Suites South Haven
#8 of 11 in South Haven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Harbor Inn

Property: Old Harbor Inn
Address: 515 Williams St, South Haven, MI 49090-2513
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Harbor Inn is the only lodging property on the waterfront in downtown South Haven. Explore all of South Haven’s attractions, dining, wine tasting,shopping beaches, entertainment venues, parks and more all walking distance. Harbor View rooms have private balconies perched high above the water, with stunning panoramic views. Or choose the value minded Downtown View and Harbor Landing rooms. Also Deluxe Suites with fireplaces and Jacuzzi’s, and some with two bedrooms. At Old Harbor Inn, the views, the attractions, the fun, are all outside your door. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Harbor Hotel South Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing