We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax”
Review of Old Harbor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in South Haven
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Harbor Inn
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Wow - from the minute we walked in until we left Old Harbor Inn - it was a great stay. Beautiful view - in all seasons! We looked at a couple different rooms and they all had fabulous amenities - every detail. Walking distance to just about anything you could want. We will visit again! Oh yeah! Take the family or a couples retreat - either work at this great place!

Room Tip: Rooms on the water are beautiful!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
19tango52, Guest Relations Manager at Old Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you! South Haven is a place to enjoy in all seasons. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
There are newer reviews for Old Harbor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

We chose this Inn for the location, and were NOT disappointed. We were up in Michigan to see the fall colors, and just happen to hit a rainy week. The Inn was our "home" for three nights, and we enjoyed our stay. This is the "off-season" for this area, so not a lot of activity during the week. I can just imagine how great this location is in the summer with all of the boating and night life in full swing. The front desk was most helpful with any of our questions, and it was great to just walk to all of the down town attractions. Clementine's Restaurant is a must to do. We would stay here again when in the area. Safe travels to all,

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a harbor view, as the activity on the water is most interesting.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah S, Guest Relations Manager at Old Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your stay! South Haven is a great walking town with easy access to everything from Old Harbor Inn. When we welcome you back, let’s hope for sun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This is the 2nd annual girlfriend's trip to South Haven. We stayed at the Old Harbor Inn last year and wanted to return to the same charming hotel for this trip. We were so disappointed when we discovered there were no harbor view rooms left in the Inn. We were told we could stay in the Pomeroy, an off-property room. With heavy hearts, we decided to try it. We loved it! It is a small stand alone brick building. We were told, in its previous life, it had been a weigh station for the railroad that ran along the harbor. It had a nice little deck with table and chairs that allowed us to sit out in the morning and evening. Would have loved to have had a few hangers in the room and an allocated spot for kitchen utensils but loved the charm of the place. We will return to the Pomeroy next year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcia4508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah S, Guest Relations Manager at Old Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Fall is a popular time in South Haven, and we do fill up. The Pomeroy does have a charm all its own, and as you discovered a great deck on the river, just down the street from Old Harbor Inn. We will make sure to replenish hangers and organize the utensils before we welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Last month 7 of my forever friends spent 2 days in South Haven at the Old Harbor Inn. What a great time! We got two suites so that we had plenty of sleeping areas. The rooms were wonderful, we stepped out of our rooms to a small deck area where we could sit and watch the boats come in. The rooms were very clean and the linens were great...even robes !! I had a very nice private bedroom with very comfortable bed. The master bedroom needed a new mattress. Modern flat screen TV's, refridgerator & microwave, coffee pot and basic kitchenware. There was really only internet in the lobby. Did I mention the jaccuzi's in each room ? The pool was a disappointment, we would not use it. One thing that surprised us (and we were not told this), there is no one in the lobby after 10 pm...closes until morning. Don't know what you do if you have a problem. South Haven is beautiful and the shopping is an adventure. The fun we had out weighed the few little details that we noticed !!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaritaville22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah S, Guest Relations Manager at Old Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Old Harbor Inn is great for a girlfriend’s getaway and we are happy you had a great time!. Since your stay we upgraded our WIFI so it is a strong signal in all of our rooms. We also strive to continually update our rooms. We do have an emergency number on the receipt and in the lobby, which we explain at check-in. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. When we have larger groups are checking in, we will improve our methods of communication so each individual guest in the group has complete information. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We have been staying here since our children were very little......they are now 17 and 21. We have expanded by bringing our daughter's boyfriend. We get the same two-bedroom unit every summer. We love it! The room is clean, big, well maintained. This year they upgraded the living room furniture.....very very nice leather couch and love seat.

The view of the South Haven Harbor can't be beat!

Nothing better than to wake-up early in the morning, make a cup of coffee and sit on the porch watching the fishing boats go out (amongst other boats). Also fun to see the city come alive (albeit nice and slow).

Service at the Old Harbor is GREAT!! Don't look for anybody at the front desk after 11:00 pm. But seriously, if you need somebody at a place like this you are likely staying at the wrong place.

We look forward to coming back year after year after year.

Room Tip: Harbor-side room is key!! They will tell you about the layout and size of rooms....make sure you ge...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah S, Guest Relations Manager at Old Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Thank you for being such enthusiastic South Haven visitors and Old Harbor Inn guests. We value becoming part your family’s happy memories! We see many familiar faces year after year, and it is always a pleasure welcoming back our long time guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend in June and were rather disappointed. The hotel location is excellent but that does not make up for the incredibly dated and worn out rooms. Our room had dirty carpets, scuffed up walls, and many other "blemishes" you would not expect in a hotel in this price range. To top it off the hotel provided Internet did not work the entire time.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hoooosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah S, Guest Relations Manager at Old Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Thank you for your review. We strive to continually update and upgrade our rooms. Since your stay our WIFI has definitely been improved and this room, as well as many others, has new carpet and other upgrades. We would like you to consider staying with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Main building with harbor view is great. Room large ,carpet is fine , bed is wonderful. Changed rooms so saw two and a friend in another. All three had the same feelings. Modern TV with refeg and microwave. Staff very nice and helpful. Minor stains but very clean.

. Air and heat unit is in room but many type inns are the same everywhere . Price is so good. I feel like the room was free and paid for the location. Fantastic in everything. Second trip here and will come back again. This time of year is off season and the town is very sparse but most things are open, so great shopping and beach time.

Room Tip: If you can get 31 . Can see the harbor and small shopping area below. But all views in main are goo...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah S, Guest Relations Manager at Old Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Thank you! May is a great time to travel to South Haven and stay at Old Harbor Inn. Rates are lower than summer, and the weather is usually very nice. Harbor View rooms with private balconies are our most popular room type, with panoramic views. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Haven
1.9 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#7 of 11 in South Haven
193 reviews
1.6 mi away
Comfort Suites South Haven
Comfort Suites South Haven
#9 of 11 in South Haven
150 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn South Haven
Hampton Inn South Haven
#2 of 11 in South Haven
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
1.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven
22.5 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Harbor Inn

Address: 515 Williams St, South Haven, MI 49090-2513
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Price Range: £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Harbor Inn is the only lodging property on the waterfront in downtown South Haven. Explore all of South Haven’s attractions, dining, wine tasting,shopping beaches, entertainment venues, parks and more all walking distance. Harbor View rooms have private balconies perched high above the water, with stunning panoramic views. Or choose the value minded Downtown View and Harbor Landing rooms. Also Deluxe Suites with fireplaces and Jacuzzi’s, and some with two bedrooms. At Old Harbor Inn, the views, the attractions, the fun, are all outside your door. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Harbor Hotel South Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing