We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite and Quaint Hotel”
Review of Old Harbor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in South Haven
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Harbor Inn
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed overnight while looking for property in South Haven. The Inn has a most amazing location such that you can park your car and walk everywhere. The hotel staff was wonderful - sharing information about the town and telling us about a great cafe for breakfast. It's basic - and completely suited our needs. An upgrade to bedding and decor would earn them additional stars. If you want location - it gets five!!!!

Room Tip: Some rooms are on the water - which makes for beautiful views and some noise.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah S, Guest Relations Manager at Old Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you! We are glad we suited your needs and that you found our service helpful! Old Harbor Inn has many different room types, from more basic and value priced, to deluxe with all the bells and whistles. Our guests have many options. We also continually strive to upgrade and update our rooms. Your room, as well as many of our rooms are being refreshed this spring. We wish you the best in your property search and one day becoming part of our South Haven community!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

My wife and I and numerous members of her family recently spent the weekend at the Old Harbor Inn. I personally was shocked over the lack of effort put in to shoveling the walk(s) in front of and on the walkways between rooms. I don't understand why staff weren't tasked to even clear the sidewalks in front of the Inn? Having customers carry luggage up the hill on sidewalks covered with snow was something that if I was in charge would not occur. We love the Old Harbor Inn but were disappointed with the lack of effort in clearing the walks.

Room Tip: Room 4 is the best room available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bblastos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah S, Guest Relations Manager at Old Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for giving us 5 stars on value, location, sleep quality, rooms, cleanliness and service! This winter has been epic. With over 110 inches of snow and little thaw, we have been snow challenged a bit, it's true. We have been living life inside a giant snow globe here in South Haven! Occasionally it has been difficult for us and for city crews to keep up 100% with snow removal day and night. We apologize for any inconvenience. The bright spot is our hardy winter guests are treated to fresh sparkling snow almost daily, and the awesome beauty of the winter lake and lighthouse! In some ways, our lake effect enhanced winter is more captivating than summer. We look forward to welcoming your family back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We have been staying at Old Harbor Inn for over 20 years with our visits and could not be happier. The staff is always pleasant, the rooms are spotless and the views are breathtaking. I highly recommend this Inn to everyone!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah S, Guest Relations Manager at Old Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you! We so appreciate our guests we have the privilege to welcome again and again for years! We especially love guests that enjoy all four seasons with us! Each season has its own beauty and its own personality. We look forward to welcoming you as our guest the next 20 years and beyond!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Upon finding a vacancy at the Old Harbor Inn I was excited immediately because of the preceeding reputation the Inn has. Lea was very informative when she contacted me about my weekend and offered suggestions that were absolutely 100% spot on. The room was clean, spacious and well appointed with Bath and Body Works products which instantly impressed my better half (score). The hot tub not only worked but worked well and was very comfy for the two of us fully submersed. The shower was awesome and heated up fast and the his and her sink was a nice surprise. Color scheme was earth tones and well done and the furniture that was chosen for the room flowed nicely and created a unusually cozy atmosphere for a winter time getaway at a summertime resort........or so I prematurely profiled as I now feel that this is a year round getaway everyone should give a wintertime shot. The bed was big and comfy with a plethora of pillows and high thread count pillow cases........we slept like champs!!!! Location is perfect and its so perfect you do not realize it until you experience walking around and getting a nice feel for everything that is within 5 minutes.........swear 5 minutes. We parked the SUV scross the street and didn't start it back up until we left because we were so satisfied with everything being so close and we are talking at 12 degrees @ zero wind chill! Leah is great and we cannot wait to return. We, as a couple, decompressed so quickly upon arrival we knew that we had made a great decision.

Room Tip: Room #32 is a corner unit with views out 3 walls and 10 steps from the street and Yorks Landing , wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PwerCuple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah S, Guest Relations Manager at Old Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Stop, we’re blushing! No, really, thank you for your review as a first time Old Harbor Inn guest and South Haven visitor. We are very happy when a 1st time visitor falls in love with our small beach town. We absolutely agree everyone should visit and take in the beauty of the winter lake! We are always happy to give you tips and help you personalize your South Haven experience, as well as help you reserve the perfect room to best suit you. We hope you make South Haven and Old Harbor Inn a place you make memories for many years to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Wow - from the minute we walked in until we left Old Harbor Inn - it was a great stay. Beautiful view - in all seasons! We looked at a couple different rooms and they all had fabulous amenities - every detail. Walking distance to just about anything you could want. We will visit again! Oh yeah! Take the family or a couples retreat - either work at this great place!

Room Tip: Rooms on the water are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
19tango52, Guest Relations Manager at Old Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you! South Haven is a place to enjoy in all seasons. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We chose this Inn for the location, and were NOT disappointed. We were up in Michigan to see the fall colors, and just happen to hit a rainy week. The Inn was our "home" for three nights, and we enjoyed our stay. This is the "off-season" for this area, so not a lot of activity during the week. I can just imagine how great this location is in the summer with all of the boating and night life in full swing. The front desk was most helpful with any of our questions, and it was great to just walk to all of the down town attractions. Clementine's Restaurant is a must to do. We would stay here again when in the area. Safe travels to all,

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a harbor view, as the activity on the water is most interesting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah S, Guest Relations Manager at Old Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your stay! South Haven is a great walking town with easy access to everything from Old Harbor Inn. When we welcome you back, let’s hope for sun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This is the 2nd annual girlfriend's trip to South Haven. We stayed at the Old Harbor Inn last year and wanted to return to the same charming hotel for this trip. We were so disappointed when we discovered there were no harbor view rooms left in the Inn. We were told we could stay in the Pomeroy, an off-property room. With heavy hearts, we decided to try it. We loved it! It is a small stand alone brick building. We were told, in its previous life, it had been a weigh station for the railroad that ran along the harbor. It had a nice little deck with table and chairs that allowed us to sit out in the morning and evening. Would have loved to have had a few hangers in the room and an allocated spot for kitchen utensils but loved the charm of the place. We will return to the Pomeroy next year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcia4508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah S, Guest Relations Manager at Old Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Fall is a popular time in South Haven, and we do fill up. The Pomeroy does have a charm all its own, and as you discovered a great deck on the river, just down the street from Old Harbor Inn. We will make sure to replenish hangers and organize the utensils before we welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Haven
2 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#4 of 11 in South Haven
199 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn South Haven
Hampton Inn South Haven
#2 of 11 in South Haven
385 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Comfort Suites South Haven
Comfort Suites South Haven
#9 of 11 in South Haven
151 reviews
1.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven
22.5 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Harbor Inn

Address: 515 Williams St, South Haven, MI 49090-2513
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Price Range: £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Harbor Inn is the only lodging property on the waterfront in downtown South Haven. Explore all of South Haven’s attractions, dining, wine tasting,shopping beaches, entertainment venues, parks and more all walking distance. Harbor View rooms have private balconies perched high above the water, with stunning panoramic views. Or choose the value minded Downtown View and Harbor Landing rooms. Also Deluxe Suites with fireplaces and Jacuzzi’s, and some with two bedrooms. At Old Harbor Inn, the views, the attractions, the fun, are all outside your door. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Harbor Hotel South Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing