We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Harbor Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn South Haven(South Haven)(Great Value!)
US$144
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express South Haven(South Haven)(Great Value!)
US$94
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Nichols(South Haven)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sun n Sand Resort(South Haven)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
50
55
34
16
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
50
55
34
16
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsharbor view roomsound machinesmall balconymy husband and isummer ratesoff seasonwithin walking distancesouth beachenjoyed our staybed was comfortablebeautiful roommemorial day weekendperfect locationmaritime museumidlernoisedowntown
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

We just returned from our trip and really enjoyed our stay. Our room wasn't in the main hotel; it had a nice view overlooking the harbor. We were here when it was off season so the bar-boat place or the attached hotel bar were not opened yet so noise was not an issue. We liked having a little table and chair set outside our door and stayed out enjoying the scenery our first night there. I saw some of the comments about rooms being outdated and such so I looked at all the different rooms on the interactive website and picked one that looked updated. It was a little time consuming but well worth it, we found our room to be clean, updated and cozy. I did call the inn directly to request the particular rooms I was interested in and the man on the phone (I think his name was John) was great to talk to and made the arrangements followed up with an email. We are curious to see South Haven in full swing and will return for sure and will stay here again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah S, Guest Relations Manager at Old Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you! We want all of guests to be thrilled with their room. We

encourage first time guests to call so we can help them choose the room

that best fits their taste, needs and budget. The few value rooms that

remain are priced accordingly at our lowest rate. Most of our rooms have

been nicely updated in the last couple years. Our interactive tour is a

great tool, although now we have refurbished so many rooms, we need to

take some new photos soon! South Haven really hops in summer, but is

beautiful in every season. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My best friend and I decided last minute to head to South Haven..We booked a room online and were very happy with this place. From the moment we walked into the lobby the service was so friendly and helpful. We were upgraded to a balcony room with a great view. The location is perfect being walking distance to downtown South Haven and the beach and there is plenty of street parking as well as a lot across the street. I will definitely be returning to this place! Thank you for a great stay!

Room Tip: The balcony room was great
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jstifid117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah S, Guest Relations Manager at Old Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Our Harborview rooms with a private balcony are guest favorites for a reason. Step out on your private balcony, take a deep breath of the fresh air, and just exhale. You are on vacation! Watch the boats and enjoy the sights and sounds of the glistening harbor from your private perch above it all. Even though we are walking distance to everything, you may not want to leave. Pack a book and pick up some Michigan wine, craft beer or beverage of choice and you are set. In the morning, enjoy your coffee as you watch the harbor wake up. We look forward to welcoming you back now that you “discovered” us. Thank you for making South Haven your Lakeshore getaway!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed here for our final night of a visit to the Chicago region from the UK as a treat. Location was fantastic overlooking the river and, out of season, was very quiet. This meant that we were able to park easily but this might not be so easy in high season. We had a two bed suite (36) with jacuzzi bathroom and everything was well presented and laid out. It felt like high quality overall.

However, at the price we paid for the night out of season, a few things were disappointing: the TV in the lounge did not function and there was no obvious guide to such as the TV and other equipment; the plug in huge jacuzzi bath did not function (the staff solved this by giving us a key to the vacant next door apartment which was helpful but what if it wasn't available); the crockery was melamine .... nice melamine but not quite in keeping with a quality room.

All that said, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and were pointed in the direction of a good place to eat and the location to watch a wonderful sunset.

To answer other reviewer's query - It was clear that a lot of upgrading was taking place with plenty of work activity in the reception and other bedrooms on the morning we were leaving.

Room Tip: Some rooms are set back - pay the extra if you can and overlook the river ...... a wonderful view when you wake up !
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Planehome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah S, Guest Relations Manager at Old Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

One of the best reasons to visit South Haven is to take in a sunset over Lake Michigan! We are pleased you enjoyed South Haven and Old Harbor Inn. We agree, our TV’s can be a bit tricky to operate with the cable remote, but unfortunately it is the best TV option available for now. We immediately fixed the Jacuzzi plug after your departure and apologize for the inconvenience. We trust you returned home with warm memories of your time here in South Haven!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

I would consider coming back if the owner has decided to do improvements to the rooms. I would like to read on their website, details about this. Which rooms? New beds? Sleeper sofa replaced? New flooring? Wall repairs?

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank arbor48108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah S, Guest Relations Manager at Old Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thanks for asking! We are as busy as bees this spring rejuvenating and refurbishing! I believe the room you usually stay in has a brand new sleeper sofa, plus recent mattress and carpet. About 22 of our rooms have been upgraded this spring, and most within the last two years. Since all of our rooms are different, we are always happy to describe any room in detail to you. We are happy when our guests are happy! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed overnight while looking for property in South Haven. The Inn has a most amazing location such that you can park your car and walk everywhere. The hotel staff was wonderful - sharing information about the town and telling us about a great cafe for breakfast. It's basic - and completely suited our needs. An upgrade to bedding and decor would earn them additional stars. If you want location - it gets five!!!!

Room Tip: Some rooms are on the water - which makes for beautiful views and some noise.....
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah S, Guest Relations Manager at Old Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you! We are glad we suited your needs and that you found our service helpful! Old Harbor Inn has many different room types, from more basic and value priced, to deluxe with all the bells and whistles. Our guests have many options. We also continually strive to upgrade and update our rooms. Your room, as well as many of our rooms are being refreshed this spring. We wish you the best in your property search and one day becoming part of our South Haven community!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews