We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comedy Show”
Review of Black River Tavern

Black River Tavern
Ranked #9 of 70 Restaurants in South Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours
Description: 2 Great Bars...one Great Location! Overlooking Harbor And Lake Michigan! Daily Food & Drink Specials Outdoor Seating Available Featuring Live Music Weekends Professional Stand-up Comedy Featuring Nationally-touring Headlining Comedians Every Saturday Night! Voted "best Of 2014"... *bar Food *live Entertainment *beer Selection *specialty Drinks
Troy, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comedy Show”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We went there for the comedy show on Saturday night. It was filled to capacity. It does need some renovations but the people seemed to like the food they were eating and loved the show. We would go back for another show and some dinner.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    98
    34
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
michigan
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“In Bad Need of Renovations”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stopped in looking for a change from the usual places we eat in South Haven. My first impression was the place is in dire need of new everything from a new front door, new flooring, new bar, new tables, new wall décor, new ceiling fans, etc. etc. I mean it just looks so dingy that I really wanted to leave. That was my gut feeling. However we wanted to try the food. My wife went to the bathroom and immediately said we're getting the hell out of here as the bathroom was filthy. There are no locks on the stalls so she had to push on the door to keep others out. I'm not sure what this place does with its profits, but putting any back into the business is not one of them. I have no idea what the food is like, so I gave service, food and value- average.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rossdraper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maxxyscott, Owner at Black River Tavern, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
That is unfortunate to read as we pride ourselves on the cleanliness and worked hard at bringing the bar back to its roots. From the antique bar to the original ceramic flooring we have been careful in the restoration while numerous updates have from new ceiling fans, new bar ledge, new lighting, new carpet, new front door, new draft system, fresh paint, new foyer flooring etc etc. We appreciate constructive criticism and strive daily to improve the customer experience. Sorry you don't care for the rustic/antique style. We hope you'll reconsider because we do have some of the best food the area has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stopped in for a meal and a few beers. Beers, food and service were awesome! I'll be returning very soon!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jstifid117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaGrange, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A fun experience”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stopped here for live music recommended by our B&B. We had the fish tacos and pulled pork sandwich. The tacos were amazing, where the pork fell a little short. The opening music act was very good, but we were disappointed with the main attraction. We did have a nice time and would go back and try it again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pair_of_Hearts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun, lively atmosphere and great food”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We are never disappointed when we eat here. The Italian beef is some of the best in town. The perch dinner is by far the best in South Haven!! Service is always amazing especially with Holly, Jared, Dan and Jordan...great customer service. It's never a let down. Also they have a great comedy show Saturday night's

Helpful?
1 Thank sarahhoyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black River Tavern also viewed

South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 
South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 

Been to Black River Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing