We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food at a good price.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black River Tavern

Black River Tavern
Ranked #8 of 68 Restaurants in South Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: 2 GREAT BARS...ONE GREAT LOCATION! OVERLOOKING HARBOR AND LAKE MICHIGAN! DAILY FOOD & DRINK SPECIALS OUTDOOR SEATING AVAILABLE FEATURING LIVE MUSIC WEEKENDS PROFESSIONAL STAND-UP COMEDY FEATURING NATIONALLY-TOURING HEADLINING COMEDIANS EVERY SATURDAY NIGHT! VOTED "BEST OF 2014"... *BAR FOOD *LIVE ENTERTAINMENT *BEER SELECTION *SPECIALTY DRINKS
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food at a good price.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

My wife and I stopped in here for a "to go" order and trip advisor didn't lead us astray. The food is really good. We ate fish tacos and the asian grilled chicken salad -- very good, convenient, great service (the bartender was SUPER nice), and a good price. GO HERE for good food!

We saw that there is a pool table and an outdoor seating area. The restaurant is located very near the beach and appears to have a good selection of beers but we did not drink during this visit. Hope you enjoy the food!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jay Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    91
    30
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Decent food and good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

My wife and I were there during the busy Blueberry Festival and had several good meals at this tavern. Comedy show downstairs was also a very good time. Not a single problem with service or food quality.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ohiograndpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Average bar food with a nice view of the pier!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We went there to the the food. We sat ourselves bear the nearest windows and we had an excellent view of the sun setting over Lake Michigan and the pier! The food was just your average food, some good and some not so good (PASS on the mozerella sticks!). The hard cider on tap was actually good. Regular bar ambience that offers special shoes every now and then. I probably would go back. Lots of fish items on the menu though. Hope you like perch!

Helpful?
Thank KawaiiHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best perch sandwich I ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Wandered into The tavern last night and ended up staying for 3 hours. I had a wonderful perch sandwich and my son had perch tacos which he raved about.The server was top notch and always checking to see if we needed any thing. They had good beer at reasonable prices and to top it off it was karaoke night along with a 8 ball tournament . Not bad for a Sunday night.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rocky1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westmont, Illinois
Level Contributor
123 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Flat beer and food was nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We visited the Black River Tavern during this years Blueberry Festival and had a very below average experience. The place was about half full but the service was slow. My wife ordered a beer that came out flat - yuk! We ordered the recommended crab cakes and Cajun shrimp and were disappointing. The crab cakes were very crunchy and appeared over cooked (way too brown) and the shrimp did not taste Cajun but more like rosemary shrimp and they were small (think 31-40 count). I can't recommend BRT except for the view of the lake and lighthouse from the front area of tables.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black River Tavern also viewed

South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 
South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 

Been to Black River Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing