We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, kind of dirty...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Joe's Bar & Grill

Joe's Bar & Grill
Ranked #49 of 68 Restaurants in South Haven
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, kind of dirty...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

We love Joe's food and they have a cool rooftop, but it is pretty dirty. Our salt shaker was sticky, waitress had food all over her apron, and it smelled like garbage. If they would clean things up, it was be an awesome place!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sportk12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    32
    31
    23
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
214 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Not enough servers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

I have ate here before and had an average to good experience. My son and I ate there recently on a Saturday night at 6pm. 2 servers were working the outside patio that had 13 tables. Busy as you'd expect for a Saturday evening in August. The servers couldn't keep up. We waited to order, then waited 40 minutes for food (Kraft mac n' cheese and a sandwich). I had to get napkins for us. Ketchup bottle on table had a crack in bottom, so it wouldn't squirt out. Other patrons were getting frustrated. I saw a couple who waited 20 minutes, they found their own menu's, after waiting some more they decided to leave. The waitresses were working hard. They simply couldn't keep up. Hopefully this isn't a normal staffing level. It is not fair to the servers or patrons. I wouldn't hesitate to go back, but if busy I will assess the situation before sitting down.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LoveToVacateMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
606 reviews
438 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 390 helpful votes
“Nice Outdoor Ambiance Upstairs and Downstairs, Food Eh!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

This place has a nice feel on a sidestreet off of Phoenix. Service tries very hard but is quickly owerwhelmed despite a good attitude. We had what was supposed to be the Lake Perch dinner but it seemed and tasted and was the huge size of ocean perch. Portion size was gigantic but quality just not there.
Good beer selection.
ZB

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank zabriskibound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ok for a beach town bar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Outside seating which was great in August. Although that's nothing more then a cement slab. Inside is pretty grubby. Highlight is 2 seats from old Tiger Stadium. Bell's Oberon and Two-Hearted Ale on draft are welcome after a long bike ride on the Kal-Haven trail. Waitress Whitney was terrific with our restless 3 year old. Thanks Whitney. Now on to the food - perch basket was average at best. Never expect anything more when served in a basket.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Handballjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
177 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

It was a beautiful day when we visited, so we sat outside. It was nice being able to eat in the fresh air, but the patio is right on the main street. So you get a great view of traffic. The food was good. Better than the typical bar food. Drinks were good too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank natys_mommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Joe's Bar & Grill also viewed

South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 
South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 

Been to Joe's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing