We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Lunch Menu!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Su Casa Restaurante

Su Casa Restaurante
Ranked #16 of 68 Restaurants in South Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Menu!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We ate here twice on our recent stay in South Haven. The food was great, and the service was impeccable. There are options for vegetarians as well as carnivores. I especially liked the salsa selection which came with the chips. The salsas tasted homemade and deliciously spicy.

If you're uncertain about giving it a try, go for lunch. The lunch menu features several of the dinner specials at a greatly reduced price, including my favorite on the vegetarian side of the menu, the cheese quesadillas with avocado.

Take note - the restaurant is crowded during the tourist season. Prepare to wait for a table, especially if there are more than four people in your party.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StephanieGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    102
    47
    19
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quaint Mexican”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Simple Mexican decor but the food tasted like fresh authentic home cooking. I would go back for more.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic Mexican Food in a Contemporary Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Great menu of Mexican favorites in a great setting....my favorite of chili rellanos are always delicious as is their mole dishes. A real treat and special meal with just your favorite someone, group of friends or special occasion.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible service, just okay food.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

The manager took our name and invited us to sit at the bar while we waited for a table to open up. We had to wait at least 30 minutes before the bartender came over to take our order and then he got it wrong. After a couple other parties got seated before us, we asked the manager again and were told they were waiting to clear another table for us. After another 20 minute wait, we were shown to our table and then had to wait yet again for the waitress to come over. We were impressed the waitress didn't have to write down our orders, but one order was wrong. When the food finally did arrive, it was only warm, not hot and of mediocre quality with little taste. After being there for now 3 hours, we were more than ready to pay our bills. But alas, we had to wait yet again for the waitress to take our bills.

Overall, we were very disappointed with our experience at Su Casa. The spicy carrots were the best part of our time there. Based on our experience, we cannot recommend anyone going there.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delton, Michigan
Level Contributor
57 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One of our favorite Mexican restaurants in Michigan!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Su Casa never fails! It always is the perfect meal. We split a beef burrito with a side of beans, free fresh chips on the side with salsa. Unfortunately we were not able to drink margaritas this trip, but they are our favorite margaritas in Michigan. Fresh squeezed lime juice is just to die for.

Helpful?
Thank Mjowens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Su Casa Restaurante also viewed

South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 
South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 
South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 

Been to Su Casa Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing