We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best ice cream ever!”

Sherman's Dairy Bar
Ranked #1 of 7 Dessert in South Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$8
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Description: A traditional counter service ice cream shop serving all the ice cream delights from cones to sundaes, shakes, and our famous Pig's Dinner. In the peak season we serve over 50 different flavors. Our shop is open March through October. If you are in the South Haven, MI area please stop by and try our delicious ice cream.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The best ice cream ever!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Everyone in town recommended this ice cream and it did not disappoint! My favorite was the chocolate peanut butter. The kids loved it but the portions are so huge that they couldn't finish it all. Next time we will share.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IndianapolisShel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    89
    28
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
185 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Save room for ice cream.”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

One place that lives up to its reputation. The portions are huge; two can share a single scoop. Though you won't see many who do share as the ice cream is the real deal. Many flavor varieties to go along with the standards. I particularly enjoyed the cotton candy variety.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jazzy6991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great ice cream”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

It doesn't look like much from the outside, but the inside is quaint & the ice cream is awesome. I recommend the HUGE waffle cones

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheyenne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

A South Haven summer must do. Sherman's is an institution around here. The best part of the atmosphere is the ice cream factory. This is not a restaurant. It's just ice cream at its finest.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheral B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipp City, OH
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Huge, yummy portions”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

The portions here are huge. A single cone is plenty for most people. The flavor choices are numerous! They even have some yogurt and sorbet choices. The baby cone is certainly no "baby"!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ohiotravelerabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sherman's Dairy Bar also viewed

South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 
South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 

Been to Sherman's Dairy Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing