We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Praline Pecan!”

Sherman's Dairy Bar
Ranked #1 of 7 Dessert in South Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$8
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Description: A traditional counter service ice cream shop serving all the ice cream delights from cones to sundaes, shakes, and our famous Pig's Dinner. In the peak season we serve over 50 different flavors. Our shop is open March through October. If you are in the South Haven, MI area please stop by and try our delicious ice cream.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Praline Pecan!”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We stop here every time we pass through South Haven. This is the best ice cream you will eat. The place is always packed but the service is very efficient and wow is the ice cream good. My favorite is praline pecan but I have tasted many other flavor and they are delish. A must stop if you are in South Haven or traveling 196.

Helpful?
Thank Meanmom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    89
    28
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ate there twice within 5 days”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Ice cream selection, quality and portions are terrific.... a real winner for the whole family. If the kids had their way we would have eaten there everyday.

Helpful?
Thank Mcompton26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best ice cream in South Haven”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This is our favorite ice cream place in South Haven. Wonderful flavors and very generous servings. A must stop if you are in the area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank familytraveler87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The place to go for ice cream”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I've never seen a line at an ice cream place like the line I saw at Sherman's...The line moved fast enough, lots of choices, and the serving size was ridiculously big! Value for your money, for sure!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Janinne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenison
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“They got it right!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Amazing fun but not weird flavors and generous portions!
Sherman's has been a favorite stop since my Grandma introduced me to them about 30 years ago!
The ice cream is the star here! They have awesome seasonal flavors like Peaches and Cream and Blueberry but some people can't get themselves to venture away from their lifetime faves like Chocolate Malt Supreme!
We also appreciate the fact that they have several NSA (no sugar added) options for my husband who has Diabetes! Everybody's happy when we stop at Sherman's! They also have vintage looking t shirts, hats etc. and nothing makes a better stocking stuffer than one of their gift certificates!
Spoiler alert though they are only open May-October. :(

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sherman's Dairy Bar also viewed

South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 
South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 
South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 

Been to Sherman's Dairy Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing