We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Executive suite quite good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Reviewed 15 August 2014

At the last minute, I was able to get a really good deal with points. The executive king-size bed suite is quite spacious and comfortable, with a small sitting room, microwave, and fridge. I liked the room, but the breakfast was much more limited than I have seen in other Holiday Inn Express hotels. No healthy choices.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoHjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear ChicagoHjohn,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. I am pleased with your positive comments regarding our executive suites. It is disheartening though that breakfast served fell below your expectations. Your feedback has been taken into serious account and I am confident that necessary steps will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express South Haven
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

I do have to agree the beds were tired looking, needed updating but still comfortable. Over all the hotel stay was was very relaxing and the staff was excellent! The staff made sure everyone were comfortable and even called me in my room to check if I needed anything else! Which I thought was pretty impressive. VIP treatment all the way! Felt pampered somewhat!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisab060614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

3 families joined up for a 3 day weekend to South Haven. The hotel was clean, updated and made our trip a success! We had a suite, which worked well for our 9 y/o daughter. The kids had a movie night in her room, with complimentary microwave popcorn. The A/C was quiet and easy to control temp. Beds and pillows were comfy, nice granite kitchenette and bathroom. Room was cleam and breakfast was good (loved the pancake maker and turkey sausage). Nice pool and workout room, kids had lots of fun. 5 min drive from South Beach and town/marina. 5 min walk to Sherman's Dairy Bar. Will be there again next summer! Good value for the Lake Michigan beach area.

Room Tip: Families should opt for a suite.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TravelMom2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I have stayed here a few times before and this property is starting to show its age. It is getting resort type prices for an average HIE..But overall, it is what you would expect to get when you stay at this type of hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clemsontoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Several large potholes in the parking lot at the only entrance and around the building where everyone has to drive should have clued me in to the experience I would have. Desk clerks and maids were amazing, but this hotel is lacking support for their staff. Our mattresses were too soft and had permanent grooves where people had slept-my back ached from sleeping on them. When I asked about a room change, and the hotel was full, I was reimbursed due to the poor condition of the mattresses. I really appreciated that. Breakfast was decent and restocked. Our room was not cleaned by 4:00 when we wanted to nap before dinner so we just changed out our towels. Why don't they have enough maids to finish earlier than that? Our TV remote changed the volume on the TV when changing the channels-obviously something wrong there. When I couldn't sleep, I noticed that the TV screen was lighting up a few seconds when the refrigerator cycled on, and the outlet into which the refrigerator was plugged did not work all the time. The refrigerator sometimes turned off right away like it was pulling too much electricity. There is an obvious wiring problem, and I found that scary. I won't stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Elevator is very noisy.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank momzanurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear momzanurs,

Thank you so much for the feedback provided from your stay. It is good to know that after some initial issues you had with the room amenities, this was rectified. However, I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you may have experienced due to the mattress condition and housekeeping service. We appreciate you taking the time to provide critical feedback which we use to help us improve our services for you and all our future guests.

Again, thank you for bringing this to our attention. I do hope you will give us another try.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We are currently staying here for a few days while we travel back home from Canada. It is not far from the beaches, it is clean and the staff is friendly. It is a good value for the price, plus it has a complementary hot breakfast that has something for everybody. No complaints, and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Dsteward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

An OK hotel. It seemed clean enough and that's my number one priority so no complaints there.
I don't mean to nitpick but c'mon front desk staff, do something about your clothes!
All of them wore the same polo type shirt that seemed to be uni-sex shirts and therefore 2 sizes too large with the shoulder seams that hung part way down their upper arms. One girl had what appeared to be sweat pants (or something similarly made) that were pushed up to her knees, with gym shoes. Very, very unprofessional looking for front desk staff which sort of turned me off from the get go.
Other than that, the hotel is in a somewhat convenient location to downtown South Haven, has a very nice pool area, treadmills, wi-fi that is pretty much useless and a free continental breakfast that is pretty decent.
Over all, I would probably stay there again if I am ever back in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darkeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear darkeyes,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding our hotel. I appreciate your kind comments regarding our location, pool facility and breakfast served. It is regrettable that the WiFi provided and the appearance of our staff fell below your standards. Your feedback is highly appreciated and will be used for our improvement.

I hope that you give us another chance to provide you with a more satisfying stay in the future.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Haven
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn South Haven
Hampton Inn South Haven
#2 of 11 in South Haven
366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites South Haven
Comfort Suites South Haven
#9 of 11 in South Haven
150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#7 of 11 in South Haven
193 reviews
23.2 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
213 reviews
18.5 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel Saugatuck
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express South Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express South Haven

Address: 1741 Phoenix St, South Haven, MI 49090-7150
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Price Range: £72 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express South Haven 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites South Haven may be defined as a limited service hotel by the industry...no room service, restaurant, bellman, doorman, and so on. But our team defines us differently. It's about delivering service that creates a bond with the individual and the brand. And this is what S.M.A.R.T. Service is all about. The hotel features indoor pool, inside corridors, and fitness center. All our spacious guest rooms have voice mail, data ports, coffeemakers, hair dryers, and iron & boards. Free high-speed Internet throughout building. We Have a new Express Start breakfast with more items to choose from (you have to see it). Area attractions include downtown South Haven and Lake Michigan. Only one mile away. Visit South Haven, MI and stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. Make sure you Stay Smart and stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express South Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express South Haven Hotel South Haven
Holiday Inn South Haven
South Haven Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing