We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Accessible and enjoyable”
Review of Kal Haven Trail

Kal Haven Trail
Ranked #2 of 29 things to do in South Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Accessible and enjoyable”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

The trail is flat, well-maintained and winds through residential areas, farms, new-growth forest, and rivers. We appreciated the occasional port-o-let, picnic table, and water pump. We rode four miles in either direction but we could have done more if we'd had more time. We visited on a weekday; I can imagine that it's a lot busier on weekends. Worth visiting.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank anniea1b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    61
    12
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hinckley Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“not many good views”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

a flat, straight trail that goes thru wooded areas, enjoyable for a casual ride but doesn't have many interesting views... at least for the first 10 miles or so.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank nrfd54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
115 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Easy biking or walking trail”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This trail is very easy (flat and smooth gravel) to ride miles on. We rode 7 miles in and because it was flat and straight you do not need a map at all.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hippie704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
183 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Kal Haven Trail”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The Kal Haven trail provides over 33 miles of railroad bed to bike, walk and run. It's very well maintained, and has all different kinds of views. There are parking lots in South Haven and Kalamazoo, with other smaller stops in-between. It's one of South Haven's big draws and wonderful to use.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JBMyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Haven
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“No hills bike path!”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The Kal Haven Trail is well maintained, and shady in many spots. The covered bridge as you get close to South Haven is beautiful. Friendly bikers abound!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank kralovec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kal Haven Trail also viewed

South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 
South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 

Been to Kal Haven Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing