We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the worst dining experiences ever”

Sophie's Steakhouse
Ranked #44 of 70 Restaurants in South Haven
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Pullman
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“One of the worst dining experiences ever”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

This restaurant at the exit to South Haven had some of the absolute worst customer service I have ever seen. There were 9 in our reservation, at 6 pm. It would seem they scheduled for 6 at 9 pm. No matter, they weren't busy at all, but nonetheless it took over 20 minutes for the waitress to get a drink order taken and delivered. During that 20 minute wait, the large party across the dining room had a guest that became offended at her waiter, threw her salad at him, cussed him out loudly and repeatedly and then they all got up and walked out. Reportedly, the guest said her waiter cussed while speaking to her. Presumably, one less large party might have had the effect of speeding up our service, but no such luck. As for the menu, anyone remotely health conscious will be challenged. Every side dish is served "family" style and comes loaded with cream sauces or bacon or some such high fat component. The 30 oz steak entree offering is similarly accessorized with saturated fat, and a variety of heavy sauces are options for the 14, 12 and 8 oz steaks.

Obviously, most people don't go to steak houses for health food, but at least one item on the menu that was somewhat acceptable to people with dietary or health concerns would be nice, but with such awful service, it really wouldn't matter.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    17
    12
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We had driven from Grand Rapids to spend a winter weekend at Inn at Hawks Head (which was great and they have a fabulous restaurant!) however mother nature conspired against us and we found ourselves completely snowed in and stranded. None of the inn staff could make it to work and alas their restaurant and pub were closed.... We decided to bundle up and venture out and drove through blinding snow and drifts to get to Sophie' and to try and salvage a disappointing turn of events.

We had two couples in our party. We were seated promptly in a nice booth. Our server was cute, knowledgable and fun. We ordered cocktails and a nice bottle of Cabernet. Drinks were a little slow getting to the table but the bar area was busy. We ordered a dozen of icy cold fresh shucked oysters which arrived beautifully presented with homemade sauce. We also ordered the fire grilled Rockefeller style oysters, the fois gras and the buttermilk onion rings. Everything was delicious and perfect. We preceded to Caesar salads - fresh, nicely presented etc. I had the most expensive item on the menu, the 30 oz bone-in ribeye and it was worth every cent and more. Char grilled, great flavor and perfectly medium rare. Others in our party ordered the lump crab cakes (chock full of lump crab) the Gorgonzola pork chops (succulent, meaty) and the beef tips (great quality meat, excellent flavor) fresh bread with copious butter etc. Our check was $316 dollars and we left our server an $80 tip. We left with enough food for a second meal. We can't wait to get back to the area to try Sophie's again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Haven, MI
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced and no ambiance!”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We felt as though we might as well have gone to the Texas Roadhouse in Holland. We had made a reservation with a note that it was my wife's 60th birthday, the restaurant was not busy, but we were seated at a very small table and had to ask to be moved, the wait person agreed our table was not very good. We were moved to a booth and service seemed to improve a little bit. Food was ok, but WAY overpriced, the Delmonico at $32 each was cooked the way we asked for it to be but the meat was stringy. We would definitely not go back, especially given the price.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Darcy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleepy Hollow, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“5-star succulent steaks & sweet creme brulee' in an upscale-casual setting.”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Sophie's is a hidden gem just north of downtown South Haven. A very warm and inviting setting begins with an introduction to your choice of top meats presented on a chilled platter. We found our generous cuts-of-beef cooked to perfection sans the "charring" technique used by modern, big-city steakhouses like back home in Chicago. Prices were moderate and acceptable for the venue. Bring your own chives (Dave) and avocado (Dawn)... though a top restaurant, they had none. Wine selections were great, especially if you haven't tasted locally-vintted Michigan wines. Sweet dessert options were presented in the similar fashion as the steak & lobster... visible on a platter. Top restaurants in Chicago do this as well and we appreciated the great customer service. Highly-recommend for that special occasion or when you're in the mood for a big steak dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave_And_Dawn_143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn, Michigan, United States
1 review
“great experiment”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My two 9th graders and I like to experiment and try new restaurants. We went to Sophie's Steakhouse last Sunday night and were treated to great service and a great meal. My daughter loves seafood and enjoyed the crab legs and my son and I had magnificent steaks. I felt the server was very attentive and not overly in your face. I enjoyed the ambiance as did my kids. It was nice to get a great meal with out having to dress to the 9's. I also enjoyed a great drink while my kids had dessert, they shared enough for me to know they made great choices!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sophie's Steakhouse also viewed

South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 
South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 
South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 

Been to Sophie's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing