We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Casual dining” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sophie's Steakhouse

Sophie's Steakhouse
Ranked #24 of 68 Restaurants in South Haven
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Casual dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Good local steakhouse. The food had a nice fresh made flavor although the portions were moderate. Surprised it wasn't busier for a Saturday night, but it was early in the season. Service was a little slow so relax and enjoy your food.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    15
    9
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I liked it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Johnanna is an absolute pleasure. My visit was paired with a person who doesn't have a clue but believe they know it all and she was a true professional during it all.

The food was plentiful and tasty and the service time was really good.

I can't imagine what could have gone wrong before with others but it's all right now.

Helpful?
Thank PKimThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Overhyped and Overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

My colleague and I celebrated a successful project completion with a dinner at 'the best steakhouse in the area'. Compared to Morton's or Ruth's Chris, this was Burger King. Overpriced choice steak (or below) comparable to Golden Coral. The steak was served on a c-o-l-d plate and was dry (no juice apparent on the plate). Result, cold steak in 15 minutes. I ordered a salad with blue cheese dressing and received ranch dressing. I sent the salad back and it returned with the same dressing but with side cup of blue cheese crumbles. Neither the manager nor chef came to the table during the meal (only three couples were in the restaurant at the time - Friday evening) to ask how the food was. The waitress was extremely apologetic for the lack of food quality. South Haven is a high priced summer vacation spot for Chicagoans. This is my first and last meal at Sophie's Steakhouse. I was fortunate enough that the waitress's exploding pen did not fly into my wine glass or food. Fireplace was broke and the dining room was cold.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jbohacheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
312 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Gosh! That was a surprisingly good steak!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

I wasn't too sure about this place based on the outside. Turns out the food was quite excellent and the martinis great!
The inside was nicer than I expected. The server brought us a raw meet platter before we ordered and make a nice presentation - which wasn't too large but looked enticing.
In the end - our steaks were world class! Sides were delicious.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisFromCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pullman
Level Contributor
89 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“One of the worst dining experiences ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

This restaurant at the exit to South Haven had some of the absolute worst customer service I have ever seen. There were 9 in our reservation, at 6 pm. It would seem they scheduled for 6 at 9 pm. No matter, they weren't busy at all, but nonetheless it took over 20 minutes for the waitress to get a drink order taken and delivered. During that 20 minute wait, the large party across the dining room had a guest that became offended at her waiter, threw her salad at him, cussed him out loudly and repeatedly and then they all got up and walked out. Reportedly, the guest said her waiter cussed while speaking to her. Presumably, one less large party might have had the effect of speeding up our service, but no such luck. As for the menu, anyone remotely health conscious will be challenged. Every side dish is served "family" style and comes loaded with cream sauces or bacon or some such high fat component. The 30 oz steak entree offering is similarly accessorized with saturated fat, and a variety of heavy sauces are options for the 14, 12 and 8 oz steaks.

Obviously, most people don't go to steak houses for health food, but at least one item on the menu that was somewhat acceptable to people with dietary or health concerns would be nice, but with such awful service, it really wouldn't matter.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sophie's Steakhouse also viewed

South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 
South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 
South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 

Been to Sophie's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing