We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This store has something unique for everyone...a little gem tucked away in the center of South Haven”
Review of Chocolate Cafe - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chocolate Cafe
Description: Coffee Shop, chocolates, ice cream etc.
Restaurant details
Description: Coffee Shop, chocolates, ice cream etc.
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
“This store has something unique for everyone...a little gem tucked away in the center of South Haven”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Visit during the busy Columbus Day weekend...we were not aware that a festival was occuring in town...the festival was a disappointment...especially the pumpkin launch...but happened upon this delightful store which offers up the best hot chocolate I have ever tasted along with a variety of goodies. Had the soft Amish sugar cookie which paired very well with the chocolate.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MILakeLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    8
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, MI
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Owner needs to look at his employees customer service!”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

My husband and I went to this shop for many years, we walked in to ordered some cake an ice cream cone. It was a warm day and I am pregnant so I had a drink in my hand. The employee waited until we paid and said " Just to let you know, its the law not to bring any outside drinks in and if they see you, you can get in trouble, I would hide it or something" He was very rude and snotty about this and was wrong, its not against the law. Another man walked into the business with a water and he didn't say anything about him having it. Then after we sat down, he got on the phone with someone and complained about how he had to wait on like 10 people in a row and its just so much. Which was very unprofessional. When we left he was still was on the phone and said "have a good day" Needless to say he got the finger, don't mess with a pregnant women and her drink.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank runfargirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This is one of the places we duck into when we want good coffee, a chocolate something, and sometimes just to take a break when we're shopping in town. Located on the main drag in the charming beach town of South Haven, Michigan, the Chocolate Cafe has consistently great offerings with comfortable places to enjoy them, both inside and out. We love it!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank PattyandAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“State of confusion”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stopped in here over Memorial Day weekend and while we liked this place in the past, we found it to be in a state of confusion. Word was the place is up for sale and they even had a sign up proclaiming it along with the asking price. OK. We can deal with that. We can deal with the inside being a bit confusing too as they don't seem to know what they want to do inside now, and you can't get from one part to another very easily. The coffee was OK, as was the hot chocolate. But, (here it comes), I can't deal with stale biscotti direct from the sweets counter that was so hard I nearly busted some teeth. Yikes! Just not what it once was, that is for sure. And the service was incredibly lame as the employees don't seem to know how to use the register or how to serve up the goods anymore. Customers need to choose carefully.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pricey but good!”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Great cup of coffee coming from a coffee lover! and a lot of sweets to choose from. Good place to stop in South Haven!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chocolate Cafe also viewed

South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 
South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 
South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing