We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything was Great! Minus the slow service”
Review of Brix Corner Oven

Brix Corner Oven
Ranked #36 of 68 Restaurants in South Haven
Price range: US$7 - US$21
Cuisines: Pizza, American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Wood-fired, Neapolitan Pizzaria. Our pizzas are 12" personal and made with fresh ingredients and can be ordered GLUTEN FREE. All pizzas come with a choice of side. We feature an extensive tap system that hosts nothing but the finest Michigan Craft Beers. We love children and pets too:)
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Everything was Great! Minus the slow service”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

everything about this place is tremendous.

Highlights:
- Outdoor seating, lots of shade (indoor is very limited if that's what you're looking for)
- Right downtown, next to other shops / bars / restaurants.
- Easy walk to the pier! Perfect for a dinner before the sunset.
- GREAT PIZZA. between $10-$20.

Again, the service was slow & we had to ask multiple times for refills. Our dinners came out all at different times, and they'd messed up an order. But, they were kind and quick to fix any issues.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    40
    20
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great outdoor patio.”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Awesome spot for families with young children. The wait staff is young and fun. They have a great patio.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joshua B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Slow and Forgettable”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stopped in here on a Saturday evening and were seated promptly. It then took 15 minutes to get our drinks and at least another hour for our pizza's. At one point we ordered a cheese plate but it never came out. Our waiter was a nice guy and explained that the kitchen was behind due to all of the patrons eating outdoors. The pizza's were just ok. They call them flatbreads but its really just a small pizza. I had the Spanish and my wife the Veggie. I probably could have eaten two. The salad was basically greens with some vinaigrette. We won't be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Michigan
Level Contributor
260 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Not too shabby”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Had a good stop here - were split a margarita flatbread...which was a pizza - it was good. The drinks and service were good as well. We love the outdoor seating. Could be compelled to return.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Worst meal in at least 2 years!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

When a meal gets so bad that it actually becomes laughable... You're probably at Brix.

It was so sad on so many levels, I'm not sure I will fit it all into this review.

1. Everyone was walking around looking like they really hated working there. Even getting seated seemed like an inconvenience to their staff.

2. Ordered the white cheddar popcorn. They were out.

3. Ok. Ordered the pretzels. Those were out too. I would add they have a very small menu to inventory.

4. Drinks took almost 10 minutes to come out. There were plenty of people in green shirts standing around talking that could have helped, and tables that were seated after us were served before us. It was a mess.

5. The pizza came out - and it wasn't just burnt on the bottom, it was petrified black. That went back. Came out a second time - not as burnt but that's all you could taste. (I love a brick oven pizza with some char on there...that's usually great. But this? Picture a piece of toast blackened until smoke is coming out of the toaster burnt).

6. The corn came out cold. I'm not saying it wasn't hot. It was literally as cold as my soft drink! Clearly they cook the corn ahead of time and just toss it on the grill to reheat. I will admit - the part of the corn that touched the grill was hot, and it was burnt too. The other 90% was as cold as my salad.

7. Their BBQ ribs actually have good flavor. They were fall off the bone just like they said on the menu. Unfortunately they are the fattiest ribs I've ever eaten. Someone needs to pick better grade ribs or trim them. Usually ribs are cooked so the fat liquifies and cooks off during slow cooking. Not the case here. Serious grizzle here.

I'm amazed they can get away with service and product like this. Unless you're a college kid looking for a beer and adequate food stuffs - where a few beers might make you forget how bad the food is, avoid this place!

Helpful?
Thank WGN5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brix Corner Oven also viewed

South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 
South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 

Been to Brix Corner Oven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing