We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent rooms, good service, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Suites South Haven
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice this summer. The rooms are clean and sanitary. It was nice to get a call from the front desk a few minutes after I checked into my room to make sure everything was clean and up to my standard in the room. It is a comfort Inn so although everything is not updated & contemporary like for example Fairfield Inn at el., they do take pride in keeping what they have; traditionally furnished rooms.
Front desk staff was friendly. Breakfast was decent and got my day started early. I'd stay here again just not for 220 a night. It just seems a bit overpriced even if it is their peak season.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k0mahome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina B, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites South Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Hello, Thank You for sending us a kind review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

This place is way over priced! For over $200.00 per night we were checked in to a room with bed bugs. The owner denied that's what the blood filled bug on the bed was, but did move our room. No discounts were given. The new room was clean but had holes in the sheets. This place should provide more than bed bugs for the high price charged. We were very disappointed and will not be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank daholla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina B, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites South Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Hello. I are so very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay will us. If you would like to dicuss this further please give me a call. I would like to invite you to come back and see how we are doing. If you would like to make a future reservation please give me a call..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Clean hotel..great wifi. This hotel is very nice and would stay again if I am in this area. But it did have a few annoying issues which didn't allow me to give this a higher rating.
The beds were great..the extra pillows were a plus!

1st issue was a simple why couldn't I completely close the curtains? Not only were the lights from the building next to my room shining in..but it was the first floor and being unable to shut them let us feeling very uncomfortable.

2nd issue. The 4:30 a.m. wake up call. Thanks to the trash being picked up next door. Talk about loud. So if you stay on a Monday...beware.

3rd issue...good thing we were up at 7..because at 7:15 a.m. someone let the dogs out..Two dogs began howling and barking..sometimes in unison...must of the time just to hear each other bark.

I am all for allowing dogs while traveling...but that was a bit ridiculous.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MichiganGizmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina B, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites South Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Hello, We want to thank you for sending us a kind review. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay 100% with us. On your next vist to Comfort Suites we will be glad to help you out with the curtain issue. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Stayed about 2 weeks ago, arrived kinda late. Easy check in. Stayed in room 312. Double queen bed, very comfortable. And a sleeper sofa, added plus if needed. Microwave, fridge and in room safe. Bathroom had a deep tub, sorta like a soaker, I'll take that hands down. The downside, the channels looked like I had rabbit ears. And the elevator button didn't work past the 2nd floor. And fyi, get more than one waffle maker. And breakfast ends at 9:00 am, now that's rise and shine. Overall, it's a good stay, and cheaper than the over priced Hampton Inn!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThePersianEmpire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina B, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites South Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to send us a review. We would like to invite you to come see how we are doing. If you would like to make a future reservation please give us a call.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed here for one night in May, on a short get-away to go to the beaches on the lake. This hotel is in a busy area, with views of parking lots, and roads. It was ok for a stop through the area, but not a place we are likely to revisit. The employees were helpful, and as friendly as we have come to expect in this area. (Maybe it is just me, but after a day on the road, I like to see a smile when you enter to check in. Lots of Choice Hotels "get" this. Most in MI do not.) We have stayed in many Comfort Suites across our country, and this is one of the lower end styles we have seen. For the same price we have had suites twice the size in many places. I guess it is a good value for the area. It is confusing to get into this parking lot, so may want to use your GPS.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Seniorcoupleluvtogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We ended up with the handicap suite, it was clean and roomy. Average complimentary breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff. Good location for the gingerman Raceway venue. Parking lot was on the side and a bit confusing to get to.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zuwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

If you stay in Comfort Suites on a regular basis this is what you would expect. It is nice, clean with the amenities you would expect. It is not a brand new property but they have kept it up pretty good. The price is better than what you would pay at some of the other properties that are not any nicer. I would recommend staying here if you are visiting South Haven and want a clean comfortable room at a good price

Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank DAA67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Haven
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn South Haven
Hampton Inn South Haven
#2 of 11 in South Haven
383 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#4 of 11 in South Haven
199 reviews
23.3 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
220 reviews
24.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Benton Harbor / St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites South Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites South Haven

Address: 1755 Phoenix St, South Haven, MI 49090-7111
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Price Range: £55 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites South Haven 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Comfort Suites South Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites South Haven Hotel South Haven
South Haven Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing