We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a wedding!”
Review of Sun n Sand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sun n Sand Resort
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great place for a wedding!”
Reviewed 16 September 2011

My wife and I had a fantastic experience getting married at Sun 'n Sand. We held the rehearsal dinner at the pool, the ceremony by the lake, and had the reception in a tent in the field area -- it couldn't have worked out better! Our guests rented all the rooms (which are very clean, comfortable and reasonably priced), and it was very convenient for everyone having everything in the same place. The kids especially had a great time over the weekend!

The management and staff at Sun 'n Sand was very cooperative and easy to work with, and really helped make the weekend a success. We actually decided on Sun 'n Sand before they had reopened and before they had completed much of their renovations, but they delivered on everything they said they were going to do, and the place looked great by the time of our wedding! They did not try to "nickel and dime" us or anything, and were very accommodating to our requests. We do not live in the South Haven area, and Scott and Patty at Sun 'n Sand were extremely helpful in hooking us up with some great local vendors for catering, music, flowers, etc.

In short, we would highly recommend Sun 'n Sand for your wedding or other special event, as well as just for a nice getaway -- we will certainly be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    38
    17
    15
    8
See reviews for
55
40
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We had a nice time staying at Sun n Sand and loved the pool and environs. The room was a bit small but it had a fridge and microwave. We enjoyed morning breakfast at the table on the porch in front of our room.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MegB_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Stayed in room 309 for 2 nights. The room was small but clean. However, we kept finding bugs. We found a total of 6 over the 2 days. Some Mosquitos, some not (wasn't sure what they were). Anyway, the property has a new pool, a nice pond with waterfall, fire pit and area to roam around. There are also 2 ducks (see pics). One morning we awoke to them pecking at our door. It was sort of charming but also sort of annoying as I wanted to sleep. For $89, I feel I got what I paid for. I did like that they had cheap water (.50 cents) available at the front desk. Also, the people at the front desk were very kind and gave us great suggestions for the weekend.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wieds138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

I almost made the mistake of walking away after viewing the size of the rooms. Then I remembered it's Michigan. You don't spend time in your room. So we turned around and called a corner room our home for two nights. The room grew as I unpacked. The frig was nicely tucked away, good sized closet and shelf space,. The decent size washroom was very clean, good soaps and shampoos, and nice fluffy soft towels. Beds and pillows were super comfortable. The room was decorated in a way which really gave it a relaxing touch. Good job on the room! Ice and soda machine were nearby.
Now for the goodies! Sun n Sand has bent over backwards to please. It is located on a good sized piece of land and they have utilized it keeping in touch with nature. There is a new heated pool with a bath house, plenty of tables and chairs around it and provide big beach towels. Water volleyball and basketball were fun for us adults! Nearby there is a very large beachy "sandbox" area for the kids, right near the pond. Oh, the pond! It has a cool waterfall (lit at night), recycling and filtering the pond water resulting in water with just beautiful reflections. Reeds, wild flowers and two of the cutest friendly white ducks top it off. There are chairs and tables around the pond, but not enough to crowd it. Great place to read, reflect, talk or just chill.
In the back area of the property there is a volleyball net with ball, horseshoes, and a big box filled with bocce balls, croquet and other kid toys. They worked fine for us big kids! There is also a hiking trail. At the beginning you'll find a tupperware container with instructions and bug spray in it-just in case you forgot. The wide trail winds through a big field of colourful wild flowers, then through some woods. We ended up at the lake, but once you get there it's private property and on a bluff, so you turn around. It is a cool little hike, took maybe an hour and a half total, strolling.
There are chairs, tables, grills, and picnic tables here and there, located in perfect spots on the property. A fire pit is in the back with wood provided. Sun n Sand even put a tupperware container with a lighter in it. They thought of all of the little things and provided them. I do suggest setting the fire up before sundown as there was no kindling, and starting a fire with fluid is cheating! We really enjoyed the fire and the stars at night-alot. It'd be great for a marshmellow or weenie roast.
The restaurant is not yet open, probably next spring. A breakfast/lunch place is down the road, walkable. They do have comp. coffee in the rooms or in the reception area, along with tea. Ice for coolers is for sale.
We really loved this place. Such a fantastic family place. For a quiet romantic time I would not suggest going during the weekends in the summer. This is a kid country paradise place where mom and dad can still chill. During the week, it worked very well for us "romantics". I wanted to stay another night. The downtown and beaches of South Haven are a close drive, but Sun n Sand thought of that too. They rent sturdy bikes.
OK. I sound like I'm a paid contributor, right? Ha! I'm not done. The employees were out of this world nice and helpful. They all do all of it, very well and with a genuine sincerity that comes with enjoying their jobs (maybe not so much in the 90 degree heat) and being nice people. I never met the owner, but that's OK, Erica covered all of the bases as professionally as I have experienced in 5 star hotels. Even the other guests were super nice.
Job well done to all! We're your new groupies!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niles, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

My fiance and I just got back from a romantic getaway to South Haven. We stayed at the Sun 'n Sand and it was perfect! Once you get used to the laid back way the staff checks you in (You have to call to get someone to come to the desk), you will enjoy a wonderful, relaxing time. The staff is very friendly, the rooms are a bit small, but very clean, cozy and charming. The bed is nice and comfortable and the grounds are BEAUTIFUL! We loved the pond with the water fountain (and the two cute little ducks who hung out with each other), the pool was clean and had lots of activities, the fire pit was perfect for a night out in the country and everyone (even guests) were super polite and quiet. I highly recommend this place if you are looking for a quaint getaway that is everything that it promises!!

Room Tip: We had room 207 on the upper level of the beach house
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lainey7323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Forget earlier reviews. This place is incredible. It has a quaint inn with large overhanging roof that allows you to read whether rain or shine. It has spacious beautiful grounds with a large pond that has huge fountain that adds a bit of character. The rooms are immaculate (they even iron the ends of the pillows) and the buildings have been recently painted. They have also add a new nice sized pool. It is located about 5 minutes from downtown South Haven but is out in the country. This is a great place and very reasonable. Steve T

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Charles, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Wow! What a great place this is. Our family (2 adults, 2 kids) recently spent 3 days here, and wish we could have stayed longer. We stayed in the Beach building on the ground floor. The rooms are very clean, simple, and painted in a light and airy color scheme. Beds are very comfy. The hardwood floors add a lot of ambience. The pool is new and a great place to kick back and relax. The grounds are beautiful also, with a nature trail, volleball net, and a 1 mile walking trail and firepit. You can really relax here! I get up earlier than most, and I would spend time each morning relaxing in the Adirondack chair on the porch in front of our room, sipping some of the complimentary coffee the staff provides. And, what a great staff! Everybody is very nice and makes you feel right at home. You're about 5 minutes from the harbor via North Shore Rd. on the Blue Star Highway. To top it all off, the rates are an incredibly good value. Their sign says "Clean, Comfortable, Affordable Lodging", and it's all true. We'll be back for sure. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Beach 106 and 107 are connected via an adjoining doorway. Each has a Queen sized bed (I think). Good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LocoSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Haven
4.1 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#6 of 11 in South Haven
187 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
1.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites South Haven
Comfort Suites South Haven
#8 of 11 in South Haven
142 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn South Haven
Hampton Inn South Haven
#2 of 11 in South Haven
331 reviews
24.6 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun n Sand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun n Sand Resort

Property: Sun n Sand Resort
Address: 176 Blue Star Hwy, South Haven, MI 49090-8610 (Formerly South Haven Inn & Suites)
Region: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to announce the return of the Sun 'n Sand Resort to South Haven Michigan! Truly a "blast from the past" - our historic property features clean and comfortable accommodations at a great value! Our resort has a variety of 31 guest rooms and plenty of activities for the entire family. Sun 'n Sand features a brand new saltwater pool, a pond with waterfall, firepits, other outdoor games, and a walking trail. We offer the perfect setting for weddings, family reunions, or group getaways! All so close to all that South Haven has to offer - fabulous beaches, quaint shopping, Kal-Haven trail, wonderful museums, boat rides on the Friends Good Will and the new riverlaunch Lindy Lou - and so many fun events and festivals! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sun n Sand Hotel South Haven
South Haven Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing