We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met our needs and then some!”
Review of Sun n Sand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sun n Sand Resort
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Met our needs and then some!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed there with a group of colleagues for an annual meeting event. Loved the pool (but didn't use it this time), loved the quaint little room (305), fridge and microwave in room, and the fire pits in the back (used that!) ... easy shot to South Haven and the highway. Will probably come back for fun someday.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    38
    17
    15
    9
See reviews for
55
40
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Lyon, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed there for a night with our pup and really enjoyed ourselves. The staff is very friendly, the grounds are well kept and room was clean. They have bon-fires at night time that you can sit and relax by too. Only a 5 min drive to downtown South Haven. We stayed in the beach house, room 201 (corner, faces away from the highway) and it was quiet and comfortable. The rooms are small, but not to the point of issue. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Drew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Auburn
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed at the Sun and Sand Resort on a 'mom vacation', traveling by myself. My room was in the Lake House. I absolutely loved it! My room had a wall mounted TV, sink, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and sink. The bathroom included tub/shower, sink and closet. Everything was very clean. The staff were welcoming, and brought each room a flashlight and directions to the basement on an evening it was supposed to storm. The grounds are very nice, including lots of chairs around a fire pit, and hammocks in the trees. The pool was super clean. Just a few minutes north of South Haven, it is perfect for a relaxing stay, but close enough to give access to stores, restaurants, antique malls, etc. If you're looking for something besides a chain hotel, with some personality and scenery, this is the perfect place! Can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: Loved the lake house - one story, little more privacy than the lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheatfield
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I have stayed at sun and sand many times in the past. I could not believe how awful it has become. So dirty. Stains on the comforters, dirt on the floor, paint chipping and left for us to see in the room, cleaning crew was teenagers bringing their babies and boyfriends along... Pretty bad when even the little kids notice how gross it is and are referring to the place as "a dump". I won't be able to bring myself back to that place. So sad. Was once so nice.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Punky6913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We had never been to South Haven, but were there for a wedding. It is a beautiful beach town, perfect for family gatherings, something for everyone. I highly recommend staying at Sun and Sand, whether a family reunion or single person business traveler. The building and grounds are immaculate. We had two rooms in the Beach House, both clean with very comfortable beds. There was a breeze each night so we slept with the windows open. The rooms are smaller, but adequate. It is a relaxed place, not upscale and we liked it that way.

Room Tip: Beach House rooms farthest away from the pool or on the second floor allow more privacy. Rooms facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WaterfordMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

The grounds are beautiful. Lots of activities to do. The staff are wonderful. This place is located within minutes of downtown. My sister and I had a wonderful vacation here and plan on coming back soon.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Siri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Forest
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My hubby and I celebrating our 2 year anniversary this past weekend at this resort and we can't wait to book our next trip there. The resort is on this massive 5 acre land where you feel like you are the only ones there. We were able to bring our dog with and sit in the back every night, watching the sunset, and having some drinks by the campfire. The staff was super friendly and were always available if you needed them.

The best part was that you are only 5 minutes away from downtown! I would definitely recommend this place for a couples retreat, a family reunion, or a friends getaway. You are centrally located from beaches, shopping, and restaurants. We stayed in the Beach House which is right next to the pool - highly recommend it! Thank you again Sun N' Sand!! <3

Room Tip: If you do not like small rooms, make sure you get a suite! The rooms are very quaint, but if you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank viwinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Haven
1.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites South Haven
Comfort Suites South Haven
#8 of 11 in South Haven
144 reviews
4.1 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#7 of 11 in South Haven
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn South Haven
Hampton Inn South Haven
#2 of 11 in South Haven
341 reviews
24.6 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#1 of 6 in Saint Joseph
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun n Sand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun n Sand Resort

Property: Sun n Sand Resort
Address: 176 Blue Star Hwy, South Haven, MI 49090-8610 (Formerly South Haven Inn & Suites)
Region: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to announce the return of the Sun 'n Sand Resort to South Haven Michigan! Truly a "blast from the past" - our historic property features clean and comfortable accommodations at a great value! Our resort has a variety of 31 guest rooms and plenty of activities for the entire family. Sun 'n Sand features a brand new saltwater pool, a pond with waterfall, firepits, other outdoor games, and a walking trail. We offer the perfect setting for weddings, family reunions, or group getaways! All so close to all that South Haven has to offer - fabulous beaches, quaint shopping, Kal-Haven trail, wonderful museums, boat rides on the Friends Good Will and the new riverlaunch Lindy Lou - and so many fun events and festivals! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sun n Sand Hotel South Haven
South Haven Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing