We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good recipes”

Tello Italian Bistro
Ranked #18 of 68 Restaurants in South Haven
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cedar Crest, New Mexico
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good recipes”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

White fish dish and choppino dish were good. Fresh bread. Interesting baked lettuce salad. Quiet, at least the night we were there, but it could be noisy if it was full.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trancheNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    77
    39
    15
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Ridgeville, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tasty”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

An excellent Italian Restaurant. Well appointed. The food was delicious. The staff was on top of their game. Very friendly and courteous.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lars192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Woods, MI
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We celebrated my folks' 60th wedding anniversary at this wonderful restaurant. Food was fantastic, service excellent and the atmosphere very festive.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 934Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago's North Shore, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

While I don't think it was the 'best' meal I've ever had in a restaurant, it was extremely good. Glad I had the opportunity to try their mussels. Really well done. Was meeting a group and everyone there had a good time and enjoyed their meals. It will definitely be on my list next time I'm in South Haven.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dale C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
540 reviews
345 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Worst Service!”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The service here is so incredibly poor it practically spoiled the entire evening. It started out so well. Although we walked in and not a single person was in sight to greet us. After waiting a bit we were greeted warmly and seated promptly. Then we sat and sat and sat. Other's around us were being waited upon. No one said anything to us. Finally after twenty to thirty minutes, we asked the hostess if anyone was waiting on our table. Her response was yes, no apology or anything. Also, you have to know the place wasn't very crowded. I think there might have been five other tables, that's it! Finally a waitress comes over. She doesn't apologize for our wait either! Takes our order. We order one appetizer, one salad and two entrees. The appetizer came (more about that later) and then the entrees - she forgot the salad entirely. When we pointed it out, still no apology! When it came time for our check again we waited about a half hour for our waitress, finally we snagged another waitress to fetch it for us. (By the way, at least one party had come in ordered a multiple course meal and left long before us - waited on by another server.) She brought the check and it was wrong. In our favor actually, so we were going to point it out and have it corrected but again we wait, I think twenty minutes this time. By this time we were really ticked. By the time our waitress finally came to collect the bill we weren't in the mood to wait any longer, we didn't bother pointing out her mistake. Just got the heck out of Dodge.

On to the food. It actually has potential but certainly isn't up to gourmet standards. The appetizer was, by far, the best item that we ordered. Seared Scallops, Truffle & Cauliflower Seared golden brown finished with basil pesto. This was really remarkable and if any wants to chance the poor service I would highly recommend ordering this item! All the flavors blended well and the dish was perfectly balanced, every flavor note on point. Unfortunately that was the highlight of the evening. I ordered the Whitefish Napoleon Pan Roast Roasted on a bed of zucchini, red onions, cherry tomatoes, capers and olives & potatoes. Finished with a light lemon, garlic broth. The funny thing here is that the dish has potential. It was severely under seasoned and somehow just didn't quite work. The same was true for the Seafood Linguine, Shrimp, calamari and jumbo sea scallops sautéed with leeks, crispy pancetta and oven-roasted tomatoes tossed with squid
ink linguine in a light, spicy broth. The broth certainly wasn't spicy and the dish on whole was not flavorful and altogether lackluster. Also, if you aren't a big blue cheese fan, which we aren't, the menu is fairly limited. They put blue cheese in almost everything. YUCK!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hpmicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tello Italian Bistro also viewed

South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 
South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 

Been to Tello Italian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing