We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Monroe Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
ComfortSuites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn South Haven(South Haven)(Great Value!)
US$165
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express South Haven(South Haven)(Great Value!)
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Nichols(South Haven)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
49
7
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
49
7
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmaster suiteporch swinghot tubbed and breakfastmy husband and ihouse is beautifulnancylinens
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2012

My husband and I came to Monroe Manor for a relaxing weekend it this place delivered! We loved reading on the porch, relaxing on the hot tub, taking strolls on Phoenix Street and hanging out at the beach. Our room (Master Suite) was very clean, comfortable and spacious. Breakfast was also excellent. We were served peach waffles with sausage links and fruit parfaits on Day 1 and an egg/potato scramble with bacon and raspberry muffins on Day 2 :) So delicious and filling!!! Doug and Nancy were terrific hosts and we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiffany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

The weather was beautiful in June which made for fresh air & open windows. If you are used to a quiet location, "get ready to rumble", because we heard the traffic of Hwy 196 all day and pretty much all night. The second night we brought in some music to play throughout the night to help overcome the noise of the traffic.

Doug was an absolutely delightful host, and was even willing to share recipes he had used for breakfast. Since the weather was beautiful, we sat on the wrap around porch outside and it seems he has learned the trick of overcoming the highway noise with music as well, so we listened to the music of a radio station as we ate breakfast.

The bedroom had plenty of space to unpack our luggage, etc. and the bed was very comfortable. All in all, this is a great "Bed" and "Breakfast". Just be sure to bring along some music to counteract the nearby highway noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway. Our room was probably the closest to the highway, which is likely why it was so prominent for us.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dab313, Owner at Monroe Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2013

We are sorry this guest was distracted by some sort of noise but, we do not choose to play music to drown out highway noise, We play music to add to the ambiance of our guests experience at Monroe Manor Inn. The noise at our Inn is by no means a issue. We sit on a lovely 5 acre parcel very peaceful and private and if this were a issue our other reviews would reflect this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We are frequent B&B travelers so have lots to compare Monroe Manor to. I can say that we were pretty disappointed and so was everyone else staying there at the same time. First the good: The house is beautiful and the rooms are spacious and beautiful. The bathroom was exquisite - much better than you typically find. On the first night, Doug was friendly and helpful. After that, however, it went downhill.

We were there for the weekend, and Saturday morning's breakfast was some fruit, french toast and a sausage link. I'm not a big sweet breakfast person and was looking forward to an egg dish the next day. You know how they show pictures on the website of eggs benedict and advertise a 3-course breakfast? Well, you're not going to get it. On Sunday morning, we got more yogurt and fruit, followed by a waffle and one sausage link - again. I couldn't believe that there were no fresh breads, no eggs. But the worst of the worst was when our full house of 10 let the proprietor know that the coffee was empty, and her solution was to unplug the pot and call it a morning. She never returned to refill it or clear our plates, just left us all sitting there with empty cups.

I read all the positive reviews before choosing this B&B. Maybe we got them on a bad weekend, but the female proprietor never introduced herself and didn't speak two words to any of us. We were highly disappointed in breakfast and the lack of cordiality that we've come to expect at B&B's. After all, that's why we stay there instead of a hotel. The hot tub was broken, so I hoped that they would make up for it in some way, but they didn't. $189 a night and we got a waffle for breakfast. Yeah, I have a problem with that.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrDeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dab313, Owner at Monroe Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2011

\We are very dissapointed that this couple was dissapointed with breakfast, over the years we have modified our servings to accomodate the majority. If someone wants more all they need to do is ask or speak up, for after everyone is served we always ask if all is ok and is there anything else we can get for anyone. it is absoutley false that anyone was ignored or denied more coffee. In fact more coffee was made and served. Our other reviews speak for themselves as far as adequate and good food served at our Inn. Yes the hot tub was down, we have no control over mechanical failure. The hot tub is a free ammenity and is not a reason to discount ones stay, and no one paid $189.00 for a room, for that is our summer rate. Rooms went for $169.00 and $179.00 for the Master suite. We as Innkeepers have family, friends, and a personal life as well as anyone else, and as far as it being a off weekend
sadly it was, and we regret to have to expose our personal lives and apologize for a profound loss in our family, but we had just returned from Chicago because Nancy's (owner) mother was laid to rest on Thursday of that week following a 6 week illness. We strive to satisfy all of our guests and the vast majority are very pleased with their stay at Monroe Manor. As the old saying goes, "You can't please everybody all of the time" and that is the case here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Monroe Manor the week after Labor Day. We were the only one's there for a couple of days. On the last night, a young couple did check in, but they went straight to their room and didn't come up for air until it was time to leave. We really were looking forward to meeting others and maybe strike up a friendship. If we go after Labor Day again, we'll be sure to go for the weekend and not during the week. Besides, a lot of shops and activities are closed during the week after Labor Day.

The Inn Keepers, Doug and Nancy were very friendly and cordial. Doug took very good care of us and was very attentive to our needs. Nancy had family obligations elsewhere, so she wasn't around much, but Doug was there to fill in the void. He talked to us when we welcomed conversation, and left us to ourselves when he sensed we wanted to be left alone.

The Manor is lovely and very clean. Our room was small, but adequate and the bathroom was spotless. The only thing that I have to mention, is the size of their breakfast. Breakfast was hot, well prepared and fancy, but very small. We were hoping to eat a hartier breakfast and then just have an early dinner at about 3:00 or 4:00 p.m. But with a small breakfast, we were hungry by noon. The breakfast that is showcased on their website is not what you get; in reality, their portions are much smaller. If this is fine with you then great, but know what you're getting. We really thought that for the price of the room, the breakfast could have been a little hardier.

All in all, we enjoyed staying at the Manor. If you are going there to relax, then that's the place for you. It is very tranquil to sit out in the porch. If you want a little action, then Down-town South Haven is only a few minutes away.

Room Tip: Pick the Arbor room. It's a little larger than the room that we picked.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatriciaChicago11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

I've been coming to this B&B before the remodeling was done and now the place is even better.

The host Nancy Jean and Doug are quite knowledgeable of all the area attractions, a pleasent couple along with their staff. And OH, let's not forget the breakfast, it's good, it's hot and the table settings, they do go way out to make ones stay enjoyable.

A good get away place.

Room Tip: I've not had a problem with any of the rooms, All real nice.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gavinssidekick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews