We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give yourself a Treat!!”

Monroe Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Haven
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Monroe Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 16 South Haven B&B and Inns
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
“Give yourself a Treat!!”
Reviewed 28 January 2007

This was our first Bed and Breakfast and we will have a difficult time topping our stay at "Monroe Manor Inn". A hidden gem. We were treated with royalty. Amazing food. Lush towels, linens, bedding. We had matching bathrobes!!! Our wonderful hosts leave no stones unturned. Music was playing in our room, Fireplace on, WOW.
If you and your significant other are looking for a getaway, this is the place.
Thank You Doug and Nancy. You both are truly talented.

  • Liked — LUXURY>
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gato98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
43
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Howell, MI
1 review
Reviewed 23 December 2006

The owners of this well-appointed establishment make the guests feel welcome and special from the moment you enter. Not only is the property easy to find, but being situated on a large, wooded park-like setting makes it a welcome escape from the crowds of the beach. Excellent food and charming rooms.
We will be back!

  • Liked — everything!
  • Disliked — our stay was too short
  • Tips/Secrets — book today!
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Howell_Barb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maddux1
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2006

We stayed just one night at Monroe Manor on the tail end of a business trip but wish it could have been longer.. Our room was comfortable and everything we need was right at hand. The entire house was charming. Most importantly our hostess was welcoming and warm. We had a terrific time and would definitely go back again. We are new to the B&B experience but we loved it -- so much better than any luxury hotel.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
Thank maddux1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2006

I would give this place 4.5 stars of I could. We stayed at the Monroe Manor to celebrate out first wedding annversary. Overall this is a great B&B. You can tell that the owners care about making it a great place to get away. The food is simply amazing, the rooms clean, and the grounds very well maintained. Although not located next to the water, the benefits of being a five minutes drive away are true ability to get away from it all. Overall a wonderful B&B that I would recommend when needing to get away.

The only small complaint is that they did not have ice and wine glasses available at all times. I'm sure this will be corrected the next time we visit.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dresac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaines, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2006

Not sure where to start . . . our stay at the Monroe Manor was wonderful! After a long day in town shopping or sunning ourselves on the beautful beach of Lake Michigan, coming back to our room at the Monroe Manor was like coming home. We found ourselves wanting to go back to the B&B to relax and enjoy the jacuzzi, a game of Baggo or just sit and read. The B&B is a vacation all in itself!

Our day would start out with a sumptuous full course gourmet breakfast! This was a pleasant surprise as not all B&B's put out such a spread at breakfast. The breakfast is well thought out, healthy and mouth watering! You have your choice of dining in the beautiful dining room or out on the veranda at your own private table. If you are staying in the Master suite, you may have your food brought to you and dine in your room.

If you stay at the Monroe Manor, take advantage of the jacuzzi! We liked to go in at night after a late dinner. The view of the stars is wonderful! You can't get that view from a B&B in town with all the lights around you.

The owners operate the B&B themselves and are there waiting for you upon check in as well as every day to meet your needs. They are both very friendly and thoughtful in everything they do for you.

Thank you Doug & Nancy for making our 10 year wedding anniversary so memorable! We'll be back!

Robert & Brenda

  • Liked — Serene atmoshpere
  • Disliked — That we had to leave :(
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't forget your beach chairs! Take advantage of the Jacuzzi!
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rdbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2006

We got back from our short vacation in South Haven a few days ago. We spent 3 nights at Monroe Manor Inn and had a great time. Our room was spectacular (we chose the Master Suite), and so was the whole house. The owners, Doug and Nancy, did a great job renovating this gorgeous house and were very welcoming. Every morning we were served a tasty breakfast, and at 5pm we enjoyed wine and cheese. You can also relax a huge Jacuzzi in the back yard, or schedule a massage right in the B&B (we had a couples massage and it was probably the best massage we have ever had!). Besides South Haven, we also visited other beach towns in the area worth seeing. The location of Manor Inn was great for many reasons, it is close enough to the highway and far enough from the crowds. If you are looking for a relaxing place, this is the place to pick!

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KaterinaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2006

This was my first time staying at the Monroe Manor and it turned out to be a delightful find. It's a beautiful mansion located on a wooded lot just minutes from the main drag in South Haven, but so serene that deer and wild turkey play in the yard. The rooms are quiet and spacious, the bathrooms are totally updated and modern (loved the multiple shower jets!), and there's an outdoor whirlpool tub with a view to the gardens. The Gingerman Race Track is 10 minutes away: came back after a tough day racing and had a great time relaxing on the porch at sunset, with a glass of wine in one hand and a bird guide in the other. Breakfast was another pleasant surprise and worth getting up early for. Nancy is a gracious hostess and a fine cook. The proprietors could not have been more accommodating. This is a romantic getaway for a couple, or a serene place to get some peace and quiet by yourself.

  • Liked — spacious quiet rooms, great bathrooms
  • Disliked — hard to find, bad mapquest directions
  • Tips/Secrets — why stay at a chain hotel when you can get personalized luxury
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fieldsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Haven hotels
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn South Haven
Hampton Inn South Haven
#2 of 11 in South Haven
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#6 of 11 in South Haven
188 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites South Haven
Comfort Suites South Haven
#8 of 11 in South Haven
142 reviews
8.4 mi away
Seymour House
Seymour House
#5 of 16 in South Haven
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monroe Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monroe Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Monroe Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 72861 8th Ave, South Haven, MI 49090-9106
Region: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in South Haven
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing