We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't get more location than this!”
Review of Hotel Nichols

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in South Haven
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Nichols
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Can't get more location than this!”
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Week trip up the coast with the family staying and eating at only small, locally owned places. Spent a little more here, but got two rooms adjoining (so mom and dad have their own room). The place was very old and cool - but perfectly maintained. Wanna know what if felt like to stay at in Inn in the 1900's - guessing this is it. Things are tiny, but not quite "eurpean small". One of our rooms had a toilet and shower, and the other a sink and toilet. So with the two rooms we had everything. But there seemed to be shared showers i nthe hall so probably should verify what parts your room comes with. Breakfast was nice, but limited - but was great to be able to take your tea and bagel out to the tables in front of the hotel on a nice sunny morning. If it's in your budget, definately was a fun place to have stayed. And it is smack in the middle of everything so as long as you can find a place to park - it can't be beat for location.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheckyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    61
    26
    7
    15
See reviews for
74
89
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Hotel Nichols is a quaint bed and breakfast hotel that our family has stayed at on special occasions. The staff is very hospitable, it is very clean and the area is family friendly and not to mention the beach is just around the corner. This B&B is one of my favorite places to stay at when my family visits South Haven. If you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city visit Hotel Nichols, you are sure to come back again ang again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Veronica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012 via mobile

I took my 18 month old son for his first trip to the beach last month and we stayed at hotel nichols. Everything was fantastic. The owner kept my son happy with a constant serving of doughnuts and strawberries and treated us like family! Good customer service is soooo hard to come by these days, let alone great customer service! They definitely exceeded my expectations! Will definitely be going back soon!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank betsyIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
detroit
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We were able to get one night on a Saturday which is great because all of the B&B's in town required a two night stay on weekends. We stayed in the Green Room with a King bed and hardwood floors. The bathroom is small and in need of updating but I believe the property is for sale so they probably don't want to invest any more money into it. The room and bathroom were very clean and our room was at the end of the hall so there wasn't a lot of foot traffic. You need to bring your own blow dryer and hair conditioner and I couldn't find an outlet in the bathroom to plug in my blow dryer so I used one in the bedroom. It is very pricey in the summer since it is a resort town. The location in downtown South Haven is great and is within walking distance to restaurants, shops and beaches. On a negative note, we stayed on a Saturday night and our room was street level. It was very noisy between 1:00am and 2:30 am when the bar patrons started going home. I would stay here again but keep the window closed and the air conditioning on to drown out the street noise.

Room Tip: Keep windows closed to reduce street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sully06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, MI
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Hotel Nichols is in downtown South Haven, and to my knowledge there aren't any/many other hotels in the small downtown. This latest stay was our second and we found it quite relaxing. We tend to avoid peak season, although we were close to peak season for Southwest Michigan. The room and the area around the hotel were surprisingly quiet. Yes, the hotel does not have dedicated parking, but with all-day parking less than a block away (and street parking in front of the hotel), we found the parking acceptable (although remember this was off-season; your mileage may vary on busy weeks and weekends).

Ultimately, Hotel Nichols is a good destination if one wants a quiet hang out in the middle of downtown South Haven, a Lake Michigan beach town, without having to travel to/from the edge of town or to/from the resort areas of South Haven. The hotel is across the street from a Mexican restaurant and movie theatre; there are numerous restaurants and shops within a couple of blocks. The lakefront and lighthouse is perhaps 1/4 - 1/2 mile away, which is an easy walk for us.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michigan_Techie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We just returned from South Haven and Hotel Nichols. Had a great time and enjoyed the hotel very much. Anna met us with Rhubarb and raspberry cupcakes that were great. The rooms were clean and exactly what we expected from a classic hotel more than 100 years old. Everything was neat, the beds were comfortable. We like to stay in places like this for the charm, so if you want brand new and zero personality, then go to a chain hotel. If you want a historical stay, this is the place. Breakfast was continental and the coffee was good. There is a place around the corner called Marias that has a good breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bsmaltz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We (Dad, Mom, 14yr old daughter, 10 year old daughter) arrived at Hotel Nichols on July 5th -- right after the majority of the Independence Day crowd had vacated the town. (Excellent timing -- no big crowds!) We were greeted warmly, and shown to the Family Unit -- 2 bedrooms, a (small) bathroom with shower, and a powder room, 2 closets, and sweetly furnished with antiques. This was a new experience for us with kids, as we've only stayed in chain hotels with the girls before this.

The pace of the town is so relaxed midweek and, even though you know Anna and her staff must work excessively long hours to provide the wonderful service they do, you'd never guess it by their demeanor. The easy pace of a beach town is reflected in the friendly hospitality and welcoming smiles of Anna and staff. Morning "continental" breakfasts are to die for -- fresh in-season berries (best. blueberries. ever.), pastries, coffee, juice, tea, you can eat in your room, in the large open "lobby" (feels more like I picture a Victorian "ladies salon") at tables out on the charming brick sidewalk/patio (window boxes and containers of flowers surround you), and everyday's offering is fresh, delicious, surprising, and carbtacular. (our final morning had some coffee cake, pastries, and some strawberry/cake/real whipped cream plate of beautiful deliciousness in addition to the cereals, bagels, muffins, FRESH fruits and berries which were standard fare all week) Coming and going throughout the three days we stayed, the "treat" table always had some berries and cookies, muffins, or something waiting. It was hard not to grab a berry or two each time we passed the table.

If I could change anything about the hotel, it would be the size of our bathroom. (tiny shower, light water pressure -- hard to get sand off) but... small complaint compared to the nostalgic ambiance, great service, wonderful, helpful, sweet people who run this inn. The beds are very soft (antique frames w/soft mattresses, I think) so if you like a firm support bed, this unit might not work too well for a LONG stay, but we did fine for 3 nights -- and were so tired from our beach play that we could have slept standing up, so it wasn't too bothersome at all for us. :-)

If you (like us) like to enjoy something homey and more personal than a basic chain hotel or resort, give Hotel Nichols a try! It's clean, comfortable, homey, and a FANTASTIC location for beach access, shopping, Marina access, and the Maritime Museum (check out cruising the Friends Good Will sailing sloop--fun and educational) We really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this inn to lovers of nostalgia and, especially, families. If we go back to South Haven we will most definitely call Anna to reserve a room!

Room Tip: Midweek summer specials rock! Call for details.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VanNessFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Haven
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn South Haven
Hampton Inn South Haven
#2 of 11 in South Haven
357 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
1.6 mi away
Comfort Suites South Haven
Comfort Suites South Haven
#9 of 11 in South Haven
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven
2.0 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#7 of 11 in South Haven
191 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nichols? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nichols

Property: Hotel Nichols
Address: 201 Center St, South Haven, MI 49090-1311
Region: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nichols is located right int he center of historic South Haven. Browse through pictures of all of our rooms. We may be over 100 years old but we offer all modern amenities(full baths, ac, WIFI, cable, etc) All of the shops, restaurants, coffee shops and attractions begin right outside it's doors. Beaches, marinas, parks and pier are all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nichols Hotel South Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing