We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay”
Review of Hotel Nichols

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in South Haven
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Nichols
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My stay at Hotel Nichols was excellent. The hotel is ran by a mother/daughter team formerly of Britain who are delightful to talk with and very hospitable. The hotel is very charming, located just across the street from the movie theater and next to the toy store, while across the street is a row of shops and restaurants. The bedroom itself was a one bed room with its own bathroom. The room had an AC unit and was kept up very well. I could tell they definitely clean a lot here as I couldn't find anything that was dirty. I would highly recommend this place and hopefully I have a chance to stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a community bathroom, so when booking make sure you read about whether the hotel roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AndyBeckyAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOEY21, Owner at Hotel Nichols, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We cannot wait to have you visit us again. Just to let you know all of our rooms have full bathrooms. We completed the last one about 4-5 years ago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    50
    17
    5
    12
See reviews for
52
72
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Elmhurst, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We had a nice, relaxing stay at Hotel Nichols this weekend. Would definitely recommend this quaint, historic hotel for a piece of nostalgia in the heart of South Haven. It was close to all shopping, right across from the movie theater, and a short walk to the beach.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 2nd floor. Loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We've come to South Haven many years to enjoy the sun, water, and fireworks in July. We've rented homes and stayed at different hotels, but once we discovered Hotel Nichols it's become our first choice in accommodations! So many rooms to choose from. Some with baths in the hall and some with private baths. We've booked both and while we prefer a private bath, sharing one wasn't bad at all. Anna tries very hard to grant every request and her staff is friendly and helpful. The location is great so you can walk just about everywhere you need to go. It's the perfect place to relax and have a good time.

Room Tip: Click on the pictures. You'll have a hard time choosing as they are all unique and charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ibgaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan City, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My husband and I had a lovely stay at Hotel Nichols! Anna and the entire staff were friendly and accommodating! The hotel was what one should expect from a historic hotel... Charming and full of character. Our room was spotless clean and the bathroom was recently renovated and immaculate. Thank you, Anna! We look forward to visiting again soon!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brooke U U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2014

South Haven is wonderful but what really "makes" it is the Hotel Nichols. Anna caters to you every need and the rooms are beautiful. Also the best location in town. We have been coming to South for over 5 years and when we look at other hotels, none compare. All the guests are warm and friendly and, although, occasionally are children, they are well-behaved and courteous

Room Tip: Read the brochure. They are all lovely but have special quirks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marcie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tinley Park, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My sisters and I come to SoHaven every year in June for the Shout Cottage Walk. We love to stay at old historic hotels so the charm and history of Hotel Nichols was great, but with that we sometimes forfeit some amenities which we expect in an old hotel. But some things were difficult to deal with. The bathroom in the Lakeshore Room had no good light over the bathroom mirror and not enough light in the bedroom and also anyone can hear every sound and every word spoken in your room from the hallway. Possibly other rooms had better amenities. Mostly we enjoyed our stay, fridge in room was nice, loved being close to the water and that we could walk to most things,.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Very nice hotel! Comfortable sleeping, roomy atmosphere, large bathroom. The only thing I would recommend for the owner to add is more lighting in the bathroom as it was very dim by the sink when using the mirror. The location of this hotel is perfect and walking distance to everything in South Haven. Once you park, that's it... you can walk everywhere. The owner is very pleasant and helpful and the breakfast is good! A very quaint adorable hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms with two beds are spacious and large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sunshineseeker61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Haven
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn South Haven
Hampton Inn South Haven
#3 of 11 in South Haven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#6 of 11 in South Haven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven
1.6 mi away
Comfort Suites South Haven
Comfort Suites South Haven
#8 of 11 in South Haven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nichols? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nichols

Property: Hotel Nichols
Address: 201 Center St, South Haven, MI 49090-1311
Region: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nichols is located right int he center of historic South Haven. Browse through pictures of all of our rooms. We may be over 100 years old but we offer all modern amenities(full baths, ac, WIFI, cable, etc) All of the shops, restaurants, coffee shops and attractions begin right outside it's doors. Beaches, marinas, parks and pier are all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nichols Hotel South Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing