We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop for coffee and breakfast”
Review of Cafe Julia

Cafe Julia
Ranked #14 of 68 Restaurants in South Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$12
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Gourmet Breakfast Sandwiches, Bakery, Salads, Sandwiches, and Soups (Gluten Free, Vegetarian, and Vegan options too). We also have a kids menu. Are you a coffee snob? Come check out our fresh roasted beans and have one of our Baristas make you a signature latte or Cappucino. Got a pet? Bring 'em with- large outside seating areas are very accommodating.
Arlington Heights, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great stop for coffee and breakfast”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Great coffee, freshly made bakery goods (excellent croissants!), and wonderful breakfast sandwiches.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    34
    20
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very slow service, but has potential”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Prefer Starbucks, but the closest one is 25+ miles away. Stopped here twice. Once for lunch- got an iced latte. It was just ok. Got a chicken salad sandwich and the seven grain salad. Good was great, but it was like $9 and i thought that was a little overpriced. Service was "ok." They were friendly and atmosphere was good, but they were just very slooooow moving... Slowness is even more detrimental in a coffee shop where people are often in a hurry!
The next day I went around 10am just for an espresso drink. I think their drinks could be crafted a little better... They use syrup for everything-- for instance, their Cafe Vienna uses cinnamon syrup, where I feel like that's much too overpowering and calls for a cinnamon "shake" and vanilla or caramel syrup instead... The main problem on this day was the service. Lines were longer, service was slower than slow. Waited forever to order, then cashier told me it would be 5 min for an iced vanilla latte... That was about 2 min too long in my opinion, but I would've been happy to wait 5 min since i ended up waiting 10!
I didn't expect it to be as quick and efficient as Starbucks, but the workers really need to learn how to hustle...
I would prob go again, but not this trip.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnneUchtman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Normal, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food service was under par”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Went for lunch..sandwiches were good. Service wasn't great..asked for 1/2 pb &j (on the menu) and was charged for and given a full.menu said add fountain pop for 99¢ and was charged 1.50 for each drink. They were out of things we wanted to try.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago's North Shore, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hopeful”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Lunch was okay. Heard how fabulous EVERYTHING was. Others were most impressed by the food. We're not sure about that. Just okay!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dale C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Local Experience”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

My sister and I got our morning coffee here and got to experience the local feel of South Haven. The baristas greeted people by name and were more than happy to help us with our choice. They have a broad variety of syrup choices and I loved their latte menu. They also offer steamed almond milk...that's impressive! Stop in and have a cup!

Helpful?
Thank Jeana218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Julia also viewed

South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 
South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 

Been to Cafe Julia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing