We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of stay at Last Resort Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Last Resort B & B Inn
Ranked #6 of 16 South Haven B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
“Review of stay at Last Resort Inn”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Last Resort Inn is a wonderful place to stay when you are in South Haven. You feel you are staying with friends and not a stuffy Bed and Breakfast. Friendly atmosphere and always feel welcomed. We appreciate the non smoking rooms and for the smokers there is always the deck outside. We stay here every year and this year we plan to go one more time before winter. Enjoy

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    68
    13
    6
    9
See reviews for
64
100
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Schererville, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed for the first time at this B&B for a family reunion and were very pleased with the setting, location and very friendly staff. Our group occupied 10 rooms over the weekend we stayed there, and it was great having a nice setting and many places to sit and gather. Short walk to the beaches, park, and marina. We loved the decks on both sides of the house, and all the chaise lounge chairs on the front lawn to unwind after dinner or the beach. Owners were very accommodating and assisted us with allowing us to use the refrigerator on site for special foods and allergies from some of our group. Even had a gas grill available and a lovely rear deck to cook out on and eat. Appreciated the decor and original artwork in the Inn. Lots of cozy places to sit down and relax in the place. We will certainly return again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side have a glimpse of the Lake on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This was our first trip to South Haven, and our first B&B experience. We were immediately greeted and shown around the property/house (gorgeous home and yard), as well as briefed on other important information regarding our stay. The owner made us feel right at home the minute we got there. We planned a last minute one night/one day getaway and stayed in the Harbor Penthouse. It was a large room with a balcony and it's own entrance which we really enjoyed. The whole room/home was clean, bed was comfortable and other guests were all friendly and laid back. Loved having the beach across the street and a short, relaxing 5-10 minute walk to the quaint downtown area where there are plenty of restaurants and shops. The breakfast was delicious and there were plenty of items to choose from. Staff was helpful and friendly. We will definitely be coming back for another weekend!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lainey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darien, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The inn is across from a nice quiet private beach or the North Shore Beach with facilities is just a short walk.
Easy walk to town. After staying in several B & B's on this trip this was a disappointment. Penthouse..........I don't think so. Dark and dank no lights that you could even read by. Why would anyone want a pink bath tub next to their bed.........tacky! Is this the Poconos?
The carpet was the hide everything color and neither of us would walk on it with out shoes. Snake charmer music at breakfast and owner singing to promote her CD I think not. Junked up place. If we hadn't paid in advance we would never have checked in. We paid less at a 5 star Inn on Mackinaw that was without reproach. Smokers lined the porch. Everything was dirty and junky. Gives other B & B's in South Haven no competition. Don't waste your money.

Room Tip: Go down the street to another place
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebecca s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MKHammer, Owner at The Last Resort B & B Inn, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
We are sorry that our eclectic Inn was not what you were hoping for. The room you chose is exactly as pictured on the web-site, nothing to hide (in the carpet or anywhere else ) We hope you at least enjoyed the Jacuzzi tub, which by the way is tan.
Everything on our web-site indicates to folks that our place is not your average (certainly not formal) B & B Inn.

I might add....I sing blues and play Latin Jazz flute....no snake charmer music from me!

Hope you at least enjoyed our wonderful town South Haven!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My life is very busy with school, work, and kids. A friend and I decided on a one weeks notice to travel to Michigan and we picked South Haven because it's only 4 hours away from my home and 5 hours away from my friend's home town. However with last minute booking also came the very limited choices on a hotel/b&b's for a friend, myself, and my two kids. Nevertheless, the location was perfect, the kids and I got lots of rest and the breakfast was good. It really felt like a haven away from all of life's chaotic moments.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alejandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishers, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The Last Resort B&B is a lovely place to stay for a long weekend in South Haven. It's the oldest Inn in town, and was renovated and reopened in 1983, on the 100th anniversary of the first opening. The rooms are cute and comfortable, but the bathroom was a bit small. The lounge and dining area are decorated with Mary and Alberto's photographs and artwork, which give it a quirky and unique style. There is a lot of outdoor space on the front porch, yard, and back patio. The B&B is just two minutes walk to the North Beach, and just a half mile's walk to the downtown area. I recommend Last Resort and hope to return on our next trip to #puremichigan.

Room Tip: The Lorraine is one of the larger rooms, with front facing windows for a lovely lake breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carrieah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Pricey in our opinion... for the price we would expect central air, sink that is securely attached to the wall and more of a homemade breakfast than just continental - although everything served was delicious but for $310.00 night - with a 2 night minimum... we could have used a little more of something ... the day bed in the Lakeside PH is missing bed posts, the couch is very worn down, the sink is very unstable. Otherwise, everything was clean although outdated.

Surprised at how many smokers are around the house.. that is unpleasant.

the PH are advertised with balconies... is the fire escape a balcony?

No one showed us around ...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MKHammer, Manager at The Last Resort B & B Inn, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
First, thank you for taking the time to exercise your freedom of speech in this public forum so that we could know how your visit went. However, we wish that the issues that you are bringing up is this forum would have been addressed to us personally so that we could have had the opportunity to resolve what we could while you were staying with us.

I am sorry that you were disappointed with Alberto's homemade banana walnut bread, homemade yogurt parfaits and fresh cut fruit. Yes, we also offer cereals, bagels and English muffins along with hard boiled eggs. That is what we do here at this establishment that houses a maximum of 46 people per night. It is ok that it does not please everyone, but your comment has led us to realize that we need a description of our breakfast and pictures on our website so that travelers, such as yourself, can make informed decisions about where to stay based on what their preferences and priorities are.

We are sorry that we had hang a key due to the late check-in and it was not possible for us to greet you when your arrived.

Yes, people are allowed to smoke outside on our property. If there were people smoking in the house, it is strictly against our policies and will not be tolerated.

Yes, the Penthouse Harbor and Penthouse Harbor II are advertised with balconies and they have them! No, the Penthouse Lakeside (which you stayed in) does not have a balcony, nor do we advertise it as such.

Yes, the house is old and outdated! That is how we like it and many other guests enjoy the loving care that went into the refurbishing and updating that has been done on this 1800's building.

Thank you! As soon as we read about the sink, we fixed it immediately! and will look into your other concerns about the couch and daybed as well.

Again, thank you so much for your thoughtful critique.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Haven
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn South Haven
Hampton Inn South Haven
#2 of 11 in South Haven
356 reviews
1.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites South Haven
Comfort Suites South Haven
#9 of 11 in South Haven
147 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#7 of 11 in South Haven
191 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Last Resort B & B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Last Resort B & B Inn

Property: The Last Resort B & B Inn
Address: 86 N Shore Dr, Van Buren County, South Haven, MI 49090-1153
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in South Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Last Resort B & B Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From small affordable cozy rooms for two, up to spacious Penthouse Jacuzzi suites for couples, or families, this inn offers the relaxed non-formal atmosphere you are looking for when you need to unwind! Whether it's for a family reunion or for a romantic get-away or for that much needed independent escape, this is the right place! Inkeepers/artist Mary & Alberto will help you unwind and enjoy your relaxing get-away at this wonderful B&B by Lake Michigan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Last Resort B & B Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Last Resort Bed And Breakfast Inn
The Last Hotel South Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing