We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pure relaxation”
Review of Sand Castle Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Haven
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sand Castle Inn
Ranked #7 of 16 South Haven B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Great service. Loved the relaxed & delicious breakfast (and evening snacks). Staff was super sweet & helpful. We stayed in the Majestic Suite which was lovely. Couldn't have asked for a better experience

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heidi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2011

My husband and I made our way to South Haven for the first time and stayed at The Sand Castle Inn. Upon our arrival there was a bit of confusion as our room was given to another couple sharing our same last name. However, we ended up in the Coronet Room which was superb, and the staff provided us with a bottle of wine for the inconvenience. The room was so cozy and the bed was very comfortable. The location was great as we were able to walk to town and the beach. The staff were great to us and breakfast was yummy. We are so glad that our original room was given away because we thoroughly enjoyed the room we were given. We will definitely return to this location.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank DeucesWild_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We stayed here for the first time and would recommend this b & b to anyone. We stayed in the Majestic Suite that had a large balcony attached. The location is perfect, just one block from the beach and a few blocks to the downtown shopping and restaurants. We were able to walk throughout the town. There is also a small pool that was refreshing. The property has many places to just sit and enjoy for a quiet glass of wine. The staff is what makes this place special. Breakfasts are nicely done and the staff is super friendly. We plan on making this an annual destination.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jlamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

The room we stayed in was 180 a night. The bed was so uncomfortable I only slept 3 hours the first night. Thank goodness I brought my fan. I could hear noise from the other rooms when I accidently turned off my fan.(hot flashes need fan) The staff was very friendly and greeted you everytime you saw them. The breakfast was good too. This is the first B&B ever that I can actually say was not pleased with. Could be just me but if your used to a soft bed be ready this one is not! It was the round room on the right side with the 15 foot ceiling with the fan on the top.

Room Tip: if you are used to soft beds ask if the bed is soft or hard. If you have fibromyalgia this bed is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Teresa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandCastleInn, Owner at Sand Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2011

We would like to thank the reviewer for staying at the Inn and for taking the time to review her experience. Our beds are firm and well-padded, and this is the preference of nearly all of our guests. This guest apparently has a condition, fibromyalgia, along with night-sweats, that interfered with her sleep. This room has been occupied all summer long, and the guests have been very pleased with their rest.
The complaint about noise is difficult to understand. The room she stayed in has no guest room above it or below it. It has a 30’ private deck down one side of the room for the exclusive use of this room, and, because it is a round room, it only shares a small wall with the guest room on the other side. The Inn was completely rebuilt in 1996, and great attention and detail went into sound deadening and the minimizing of sound transference between rooms.
We appreciate the comments that the staff was pleasant every time she encountered them and the breakfast was good. 50% of our guests are repeat guests, and they return because they are seeking a restful, quiet and pleasant experience.
We ask reader’s of this review to also read the next review dated August 31, 2011, which is more typical of our guest’s experiences. This guest stayed in the same room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Just one long block from public beach and swim pool was also great. I think we stayed in room called the Crown Room for $190/night. Very overpriced. AC barely worked - very uncomfortable night. Thank goodness for ceiling fan. Breakfast was average at best. Staff was very nice though. We would not go back again mainly due to AC problem and room just not worth the money.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JandM44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandCastleInn, Owner at Sand Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2011

We have discussed this guest’s comments at length among the staff. No other guest has complained all summer about a lack of air conditioning, and, in any event, the guest chose not to bring it to the attention of any staff at the Inn so that we might have been able to help the guest with his problem. This room has been occupied seven days a week all summer, and no other air conditioning complaints about this room have been received - neither before nor after the guest left the Inn.

We would like to ask the reader’s of this review to read the very next review dated August 3, 2011. In it the guest states, “We have stayed at other Bed and Breakfast in the South Haven area and The Sand Castle will always be our FIRST choice in the future.”

And from the review dated July 13, 2011, “The breakfasts each morning were outstanding. Probably the best we've had at any bed and breakfast.“

We thank the guest for the comments and for staying at The Sand Castle Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Our stay at the Sand Castle Bed and Breakfast July 3rd, 2011 was wonderful. The staff was extremely friendly. We enjoyed using the pool and the close proximity to the beach.
We have stayed at other Bed and Breakfast in the South Haven area and The Sand Castle will always be our FIRST choice in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Ah, the glorious days of summer in Michigan - at just two blocks from the sparkling sands of Lake Michigan with a pristine pool and scrumptious breakfasts, the Sand Castle Inn was a wonderful choice! This lovely home is quiet and comfortable, and our hosts were friendly and accommodating. What a lovely place for rest and respite - we will return!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MBuzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Haven
2.1 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#4 of 11 in South Haven
199 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Last Resort B & B Inn
The Last Resort B & B Inn
#6 of 16 in South Haven
242 reviews
21.1 mi away
Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inn at the Park Bed & Breakfast
7.4 mi away
Seymour House
Seymour House
#3 of 16 in South Haven
135 reviews
15.4 mi away
Kingsley House Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Castle Inn

Address: 203 Dyckman Ave, South Haven, MI 49090-1006
Region: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in South Haven
Price Range: £101 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Sand Castle Hotel South Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing